The Writing on the Wall by Holly

Sita
05/25/2013 10:22 am
Chapter Thirty-six         
Couldn't. Stop. Reading. Read this whole story in three days. Whenever I need comfort I randomly go back to reading Buffy fanfiction (and watching Buffy) after months or years, and this story definitely did the trick. This is one of the best stories I've read in a long while. I can't wait to read the epilogue tomorrow.

bec
03/10/2012 08:21 pm
Chapter Thirty-six         
That was sooooooo DARK! but really good, one of the best spuffy fanfics out there! <3

08/06/2011 03:55 pm
Chapter Thirty-six         
I finally finished this.  It was like a drug I couldn't have enough of.  I wanted it to continue, but it was finished and that was actually all right because you really completed it.  You are an amazing writer, and I'm not surprised that you're now a published author.  Congratulations!  I wish you many more successes. 

I really do appreciate how you pulled the nuances out in Spike without turning him into either the uber insecure sap or the perfect fantasy boyfriend.  I really felt him very powerfully.  Your Buffy characterization wasn't quite as strong, but I felt as if the story was about Spike's transformation more than anything, especially earlier on, so that's not a big criticism.  This is one of the best stories I've read in quite a long time. 

Thank you for sharing your talent with us,

Blue
http://www.tthfanfic.org/authors.php?no=12717&list=profile

Meri
03/20/2011 10:22 pm
Chapter Thirty-six         
This is an amazing story! You captured the characters perfectly! Thanks for posting...

08/21/2010 05:16 am
Chapter Thirty-six         
I'm not sure if I left a review for this final chap somewhere else previously, but given that I've been doing a lot of reading lately while giving my grandaughter her bottle, I probably meant to but never got back to it. So having just reread the fic, I want to take this opportunity to thank you for a wonderful ride.

This story is amazing: the plot is unique, the writing is wonderful, the characterisations are spot on, the ending is perfect--tastefully fullfilling every Spuffy lover's wish for Buffy to grow a spine, her friends to grow up and stop being so controlling, and for Spike to be loved and appreciated for his amazing journey. In short, it is riveting from word one right up until 'The End'. Thank you!  

marcy
08/08/2010 04:26 pm
Chapter Thirty-six         
AWESOME STORY!! It took me 2 solid days to read it all and WOW!! Thank You so much for staying on it.  Great characters and so much like they were on  the show! I still wish season 8 would follow the spike- buffy love affair. They are both light and dark and just perfect for each other.Thanks for taking the time to share.

Deb
07/08/2010 07:28 pm
Chapter Thirty-six         
Just catching up on this fic and see that you finished.  Very inventive story and thought you did a great job of taking from the Buffy verse and creating a unique fic.  Thanks for the story.  I really enjoyed.

to-the-angel-mobile
06/09/2010 06:32 pm
Chapter Thirty-six         
A great ending to one of the most creative and well written fanfics I have ever read

Liza
06/08/2010 10:14 pm
Chapter Thirty-six         
Triumphant !  Thanks for the ride. xx

Sam
06/08/2010 02:27 pm
Chapter Thirty-six         
Thank you so much for finishing this story, I had been waiting, not so patiently!
This is one of the best fanfics I have ever read. Your story was so different, the characters so believable, and the ending was worth the wait!
Please keep on writing, you have a real gift.

06/07/2010 04:51 pm
Chapter Thirty-six         
i had given up on this!  so glad to drop in and find it completed.  thanks for battling through your writer's block and not leaving buffy in hell.  the ending was so nice and rewarding.  spike earned redemption, and buffy earned a backbone.  : )

kim
06/07/2010 10:46 am
Chapter Thirty-six         
Great ending!

06/07/2010 07:50 am
Chapter Thirty-six         
This is just such a grand Buffy and Spike and The Underworld journey - Splendid work.  This is a fine work to add to all your other outstanding works based on the Buffyverse.  It has been a great pleasure to read your exploration of all these characters, but particularly the journeys you took these two great characters through.

Thank you so very much for this great new addition to the Spuffy and Buffyverse fiction - I appreciate your not taking the easier road of leaving off the work - best of everything with your continued writing.

Pin
06/07/2010 07:42 am
Chapter Thirty-six         
A really lovely ending.  Thank you so much for returning to this story to give us this ending.  Now I can read it all the way through!

06/07/2010 04:14 am
Chapter Thirty-six         
Wonderful wonderful story.  Thanks so much.

06/07/2010 01:20 am
Chapter Thirty-six         
Every word, every plot point, every character voice note perfect!  This was your best yet.  This is rich and rewarding on all levels.

I'm glad Buffy did tell all that they had been through, it needed to be told to put the changes into perspective.  They handled it as they should have given they DO really love her.

I love Angel's part here (and the bit about not recognizing Cordy funny and also appropriate given  how her own character had grown when she left Sunnydale).  He behaved just as he should and not a knew-jerk reaction.

Excellent, just excellent.  This is one to be read and savored then re-read again and again.

Love,
Mum Kathleen

eyghon
06/07/2010 12:26 am
Chapter Thirty-six         
I just can't stop grinning. It was beautiful.

06/07/2010 12:23 am
Chapter Thirty-six         
 After 36 chapters of pure amazingness, all I can say is WOW....that was the perfect ending to one of the best stories I have ever read. Infinite thumbs up

laura
06/06/2010 10:31 pm
Chapter Thirty-six         
Good ending

nojiri23
06/06/2010 08:54 pm
Chapter Thirty-six         
what a lovely ending!  I'm so sad it's over, but love the way you finished things!  Thanks! 

Nikki
05/29/2010 06:43 am
Chapter Thirty-five         
Loved it!
I cannot wait to read the final chapter...
This is such a wonderful story! 

05/28/2010 04:47 am
Chapter Thirty-five         
Nice wind down. 

05/28/2010 12:47 am
Chapter Thirty-five         
This was such a wonderful chapter - it made me feel both so happy and sad for them simultaneously.  Also, keeping things set in good realistic treatment  - there is simply no way that both of them have not been changed by all that time and hardship and utterly different life. 

I want to thank you so very much for not giving up on this story - with all the work that you have had to do, I know  the time allowed for writing Buffyverse fiction has had to have been curtailed.  So Thank You for keeping all your hard work going on this work.  

I don't know if you plan to write Buffyverse anymore - it looks like you have much work and happiness and very heavy schedule in your life right now.  Congratulations on all that you have accomplished and I am so pleased to hear that you are in a great relationship.  I know  none of that success came easy and that you have had to work very hard and never give up on your dreams.  

All my best wishes to you - and thank you so much for all the great Spuffy Fiction you have given the fans - I have been one of them all the way.  

I particularly like this line - it seems to fit spike perfectly.

"Every time he’d been with her, he swore he’d nearly burned alive, but it had never been a purer sentiment than right now."

nojiri23
05/27/2010 07:56 pm
Chapter Thirty-five         
wow!  i'm so sad it'll be finished soon, but how wonderful this story is!  thank you! 

kim
05/27/2010 12:23 pm
Chapter Thirty-five         
Totally hot and totally sweet.

05/27/2010 03:08 am
Chapter Thirty-five         
 Soo happy for the update. I'm sad this story is almost over, but it has been completely fantastic Can't wait!

05/27/2010 02:51 am
Chapter Thirty-five         
Loved it. Looking forward to the last chapter.

haza
05/25/2010 02:13 am
Chapter Thirty-four         
Man, I love the writing of this story.  So beautiful!  Particularly this chapter.  Dang.  Can't wait for the final chapters!

05/22/2010 07:34 pm
Chapter Thirty-four         
It's so great to have them out of their Underworld Hell - what a miraculous journey back into their Life World.  What a great way that you use the most vital elements of life back here to bring in their Hell world and this one, like eating pizza but Buffy not remembering what it is and Spike's non-reflective status.  Spike's metaphor of no longer being able to see himself but also having his food there and having Buffy call him to her bed and life here; his spiritual and emotional bloodline back in this life and timeline in place. 

Three days, nice resurrection out of the tomb -

Congratulations on creating an outstanding Spuffy story -

Deb
05/22/2010 10:17 am
Chapter Thirty-four         

Lovely chapter. A little hard earned rest for the weary.

nojiri23
05/22/2010 03:53 am
Chapter Thirty-four         
 this story just continues to be brilliant.  it is easily my favorite story!

05/21/2010 09:18 pm
Chapter Thirty-four         
They're home! Yay! Great job, looking forward to more, as always.

to-the-angel-mobile
05/21/2010 03:21 pm
Chapter Thirty-four         
 I really love this chapter moments in it remind me of that beautiful scene in touched, i cant wait to see what happens next and im quite sad this story is so close to ending

05/21/2010 01:39 pm
Chapter Thirty-four         
How wonderful to see another update! That was so satisfying, the way they calmly went home, showered and went to bed. Now then... who's going to find them? I can't wait!

kim
05/21/2010 12:02 pm
Chapter Thirty-four         
Clean, in a comfy bed, in each other's arms....perfect. That's the best sleep there is.

I'm glad Buffy had a chance not to be overwhelmed, like she was in when she was resurrected. I think it'll help the Scoobies to know things aren't exactly the same that both she and Spike don't *look* the same. Buffy's a thin and wiry brunette, and he has curls and roots showing.

That little note of Dawn's is sad - "it's too quiet here". Poor kid. She probably had a lot of those moments in the summer after season 5.

laura
05/21/2010 09:10 am
Chapter Thirty-four         
I wonder who is going to wake them up?

05/21/2010 04:39 am
Chapter Thirty-four         
Nice return to the world.

05/21/2010 04:35 am
Chapter Thirty-four         
Yay they made it back. 
I'm glad they get to spend one night alone together adjusting

ya_lublyu_tebya
05/18/2010 08:44 pm
Chapter Thirty-three         
Can't wait to see what happens when they get topside!

to-the-angel-mobile
05/17/2010 03:57 pm
Chapter Thirty-three         
Just want to say how much I have enjoyed reading your great story, my only worry is that it might be ending soon.  Looking forward to the next chapter.

05/13/2010 03:26 am
Chapter Thirty-three         
I’ll even help you dump the body.  LOL - that's great Spike.

I like the idea of Spike's sacrifice being somewhat of a scary burden for Buffy. 

05/12/2010 05:07 am
Chapter Thirty-three         
Wonderful.
This story is so well written it has me completely captivated.
I am excited to see how things turn out once they get topside.

silver81
05/12/2010 04:56 am
Chapter Thirty-three         
So good!  Funny, the bit about Harris, and heartwarming.  Your writing is like a renissance painting, rich and filled with color, detail, emotion.  I am enjoing every chapter on its own,each one is a gem.

kim
05/12/2010 04:18 am
Chapter Thirty-three         
Yay!

Typical Buffy, worrying about the what ifs, but Spike's right.....especially with her not having to do it alone, she - they - will figure it out. She already has full sentences and the names right. Once she has the visuals and scents and sounds in front of her, the rust will fall away soon enough.

Typical Buffy to also compare what Spike did to her own capabilities. She's competitive, especially with action. Ah, but always ready to look for the flaw or short-coming in herself, in this case that she doesn't act in love like he does, or doesn't think she would/could. It probably made it easier to jump for Dawn that she expected death at the other end. And now she wonders if she could still do it if she'd known she'd go to her personal Hell.......she hasn't said it out loud, yet, but it's Buffy......it's part of it.

I hope the Scoobies show some gratitude to Spike for getting her out. Though I'll love seeing them shut down if they try to shove him out the door now.

05/12/2010 03:38 am
Chapter Thirty-three         
I'm so glad that you took up your wonderful Underworld work again - I had always wanted one of the fine Buffyverse writers to create a rescue journey for Spike and Buffy.  I love the one you have created for us.

You have created such brave and heroic and characters of such great determination and will to live and love.  Thank You - I have always enjoyed reading your work and I hope that you can find your love and passion for your characters and writing - it's such a gift to be able to create your own worlds and make them live on the page.

Hope you will bring us another chapter soon.

05/12/2010 01:40 am
Chapter Thirty-three         
 Fantastic! And now for the climb I can't wait for the next chapter!

nojiri23
05/11/2010 09:20 pm
Chapter Thirty-three         
another fantastic chapter!  looking forward to more!  Feel better! 

Eyghon
05/11/2010 07:15 pm
Chapter Thirty-three         
OMG, this is it! This is the return, at last, I hope. I'm looking forward to seeing how the Scooby will react to the time difference and the closeness between B and S. Great job!

Nae
05/01/2010 06:09 am
Chapter Thirty-two         
Yay! I usually check every month for an update on this specific story because truly it is a work of art. I simply love it. I'm here to the end so keep up the very good work.
Can't wait to see what happens when they get back.

liza
04/29/2010 12:06 am
Chapter Thirty-two         
triumphant !  It's so good to see you back with your handle on characterisation and plot ternsion as great as ever.

04/27/2010 11:22 pm
Chapter Thirty-two         
Yes, Hope is far more powerful than all the demons of hell! 

So glad you got the muse back a bit and hope it stays.  You have asked too much of yourself, methinks!  Just take deep breaths and get back the JOY of it and all will be well.

I am glad that Buffy knows now.  It will be interesting to see what takes place once they are home.  This is a very different Buffy (and Spike for that matter).  They have matured and learned much patience and that will be a shock to those they left behind.

This is still a stunning piece of work, hon.  I am thrilled you are updating (heck, I'm just glad you are around!).

Love,
Mum Kathleen

04/25/2010 07:39 pm
Chapter Thirty-two         
Great chapter!

04/25/2010 05:55 pm
Chapter Thirty-two         
Just found this story a few days ago, and have read all 32 chapters straight through.  I have to admit I am loving every bit, and I think you have captured the essence of Spike's character.
I will eagerly watch for further additions.

Silver81
04/25/2010 03:33 am
Chapter Thirty-two         
Holly, very happy to see some of your writing again. I haven't forgotten the story, just waiting patiently for your to return to it. I appreciate so much your words, and I have utmost confidence in your ability to story craft, because I have seen it time and again. This is a wonderful fiction and I am thrilled to see it again. I wont be a nudge and keep asking you for more... I know it will come eventually and it will be great. Thank you so much for sticking with it and not giving up!

kim
04/25/2010 02:17 am
Chapter Thirty-two         
Buh-bye, Larry!
Really missed this story.

PS
04/25/2010 12:52 am
Chapter Thirty-two         
 Beautifully written as usual.  We all, including Buffy, have our demons to fight and IMHO you have bid yours adue..Enjoy your week off and feel confident that you have done an excellent job in writing this chapter.. block or not.  

 Waiting to see what happens with Spike and Buffy when they return home.   He doesn't want her gratitude or pity to be the reason for thinking that she loves him.. He wants her to love him for the man he is.. 

 Wish you well with your publications. 

   Enjoyed. 

04/24/2010 06:30 pm
Chapter Thirty-two         

So glad this fic was updated!  I hope you can make it to the finish!

nojiri23
04/24/2010 03:09 pm
Chapter Thirty-two         
 whoa.  

welcome back!  love this story!!

laura
04/24/2010 09:05 am
Chapter Thirty-two         
Glad your writing again.

Eyghon
04/24/2010 08:54 am
Chapter Thirty-two         
I'm still around, and they're getting closer, yay! glad B found out about what Spike went through for her. Looking forward to more.

04/24/2010 06:02 am
Chapter Thirty-two         
Ah. Larry, you really should have taken Spike's advice and shut up! lol Go Buffy!

Fabulous chap, as always...I just love this fic!

04/24/2010 03:57 am
Chapter Thirty-two         
 Words can't describe how happy I was this was updated! Fantastic job once again, your writing is amazing

Varin
04/24/2010 03:00 am
Chapter Thirty-two         
I am glad you have not given up on this story. I knew we were near the end and I really wanted to see them get out. (If you let them out, and I hope you do.)

Yay!

04/24/2010 12:56 am
Chapter Thirty-two         
OMG I think I love you. And Buffy saves herself. And Spike. This is why we love them together.  I hope the muse hangs around long enough to finish it.

04/25/2010 07:28 pm
Chapter Thirty-one         
Very exciting chapter H - Nice to see Larry's still in fine form. 

nojiri23
02/26/2010 06:17 am
Chapter Thirty-one         
fantastic!  please continue! 

01/25/2010 06:32 am
Chapter Thirty-one         
I finally finished the 31 chapters and can't wait to see what happens next! Its a beautiful masterpiece of fanfic you've created here, Im on the edge of my seat

ya_lublya_tebya
12/18/2009 09:28 pm
Chapter Thirty-one         
Wow, can't wait for more. Glad to see inspiration has returned (I'm having a similar drought myself)

Nae
12/15/2009 08:19 pm
Chapter Thirty-one         
I'll be reading til the end. Keep up the wonderful work.
Nae.

12/13/2009 02:05 am
Chapter Thirty-one         
Excellent evil writer. 

eyghon
12/12/2009 03:25 pm
Chapter Thirty-one         
oh!  [clapping] that's just getting better and better, and a chapter before christmas? That'd be lovely.

Goldm00n
12/12/2009 02:30 am
Chapter Thirty-one         
of course it cant' be that easy!!!  but its a great story i can't wait for your next chapter!

kim
12/12/2009 12:40 am
Chapter Thirty-one         
Gang up on Larry, yeah! Hope, yeah.....the antithesis of Hell.

nojiri23
12/10/2009 08:19 am
Chapter Thirty         
 Absolutely love this story!   Keep it up!

Liza
12/03/2009 02:54 pm
Chapter Thirty         
Brilliant. x

Richard
12/01/2009 12:44 pm
Chapter Thirty         
Congrats on getting published!

Eyghon
12/01/2009 11:04 am
Chapter Thirty         
oh please please please let this be their big "exit" door from this hell and right into the Summers' living room (that would be fun, and ackward, and yet, so cool for so many reasons).

kim
12/01/2009 07:55 am
Chapter Thirty         
eeep! you leave us there?  Evil cliffie!

Beautiful love making. So glad you came back, even for this chapter.

ElyseNotElsie
12/01/2009 06:11 am
Chapter Thirty         
I couldn't care less how long the stretches are between updates just so long as they keep coming. I love this story and every chapter is totally worth any wait.

dustyelle
12/01/2009 04:09 am
Chapter Thirty         
I did not read yet, but I'm sure the chapter is grand.  It's so good to see an update!  Mazol tov on your new novel..I always thought someone of your talent should be published. 

12/01/2009 03:55 am
Chapter Thirty         
I must be one of the two people.  A big woo hoo to Holly!  I was almost worried there for a minute that you were going to let things go well for our favorite couple.  Should have known better. 

10/19/2009 11:33 pm
Chapter Twenty-nine         
 I am waiting for more and cannot decide if I wish they would stay in Buffy's "hell" or go back to Sunnyhell with the interfering Scoobies and their "interventions.

09/17/2009 07:47 am
Chapter Twenty-nine         
enjoy seeing them grow closer. just waiting for who going to mess it up (larry, the scoobies--- somebody always screws with them.) very good read, thank you.

09/12/2009 02:41 am
Chapter Twenty-nine         
I think I'm probably the only person who isn't in a hurry for them to get out! If you ask me, Hell has turned into their own private Heaven. If they go back, they have to deal with the Scoobies, Buffy's 'job' and responsibilities, not to mention the ever-present death sentence that comes with being a slayer...here they can essentially be together forever...so a couple of hundred years wouldn't hurt, would it? lol I think they've both earned it.

SlayrGrl
09/10/2009 05:29 am
Chapter Twenty-nine         
I cant wait to see how they get out, I've been wondering how thats going to go and how the scoobies will react when they get back. Please update soon!

kim
09/10/2009 04:03 am
Chapter Twenty-nine         
AWWWWWWWWWW, this chapter was so sweet!!

Immortal Beloved
09/10/2009 04:01 am
Chapter Twenty-nine         
Squee!  It's my birthday today.  Great birthday present for me.

09/10/2009 03:49 am
Chapter Twenty-nine         
Very sweet having Buffy ask Spike if he wants to have sex. 

09/10/2009 03:21 am
Chapter Twenty-nine         
I loved this chapter. It was very well-written. The emotions and realizations were so tangible and important, but natural in the flow, that I barely noticed no real action took place. I can't wait to see how their relationship continues, or what will give them back the exit from Hell.

09/09/2009 11:42 pm
Chapter Twenty-nine         
Great Chapter!  I can't wait for more!!!!!!!  I can't wait till they get back!!!!

09/17/2009 07:35 am
Chapter Twenty-eight         
very good read, thank you. love the last line.

Twilightchild
08/19/2009 03:48 am
Chapter Twenty-eight         
Congradulations on getting published!  That's wonderful!  ^_^
 
  Very glad to see an update on this story, too.  I look for it each time I get a chance.  You're a wonderful writer, and you really keep your audience interested.

08/18/2009 05:11 am
Chapter Twenty-eight         
Congratulations!

Very nice chap. I love that they are actually talking--about real feelings and fears. It's hesitant and uncertain and even a little awkward at times (which I think is far more realistic than if it wasn't), but at least they're trying.

kim
08/17/2009 09:40 am
Chapter Twenty-eight         
Which fic was Because? Sorry, I've read so many, I don't remember them all just by titles.

Awwwwww, yay for hoping.

08/17/2009 02:30 am
Chapter Twenty-eight         
Uber congrats on getting published!  I really liked the way Spike compares growing slow with Drusilla to what he experiences with Buffy as being the real thing. 

08/14/2009 11:55 am
Chapter Twenty-seven         
All caught up--again! lol I'm going to try to stay that way now that the wedding is out of the way.

I love this story; the world you've created for them, their reactions to their circumstances, the delicious angst and the sweet Spuffiness--it's all just so good!

Looking forward to more.

08/02/2009 11:06 pm
Chapter Twenty-seven         
Very hot - but doesn't Buffy love Spike back?

07/29/2009 11:17 pm
Chapter Twenty-seven         
have to repeat the comment from the last chapter. beautiful read, thank you.

kim
07/24/2009 01:53 pm
Chapter Twenty-seven         
Hot and Beautiful. Thanks.

07/24/2009 06:50 am
Chapter Twenty-seven         
so i sent you a comment concerning chapter 27 of the writing on the wall via email c/o what i believe is your website. i don't think that i was aware that this story is also here in the bloodshedverse. anyway, not to sound repetitive, but i really, really love this story! it is just a great, great read. i want to thank you for sharing it and i can not wait for the next chapter!

this:

Buffy arched, the sounds clawing at her throat wrapping around his heart. “You feel,” she whispered. “Oh, God, Spike, tell me this is mine.”

“It’s yours.”


is my favorite!


ya_lublyu_tebya
07/13/2009 09:02 pm
Chapter Twenty-six         
Nooooooooooooo! Please update soon. I'm on tenterhooks. Lovely chapter.

07/13/2009 05:00 am
Chapter Twenty-six         
aaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrgggggggghhhhhhhhh sexual frustration!!!!

07/12/2009 12:15 am
Chapter Twenty-six         
beautiful read, thank you.

kim
07/10/2009 03:46 am
Chapter Twenty-six         
wow....very touching chapter. And I love that song.

07/10/2009 02:27 am
Chapter Twenty-six         
This chapter was very well done, and beautiful without losing the roughness of Spike's character. I'd forgotten about those papers, and Buffy writing such a letter after she'd been imprisoned and lived out years of 'life' to gain experience as seh reflected on the past was so real and perfect for the moment. You bring the two people together wonderfully, and the dance to Cheek to Cheek was just the cherry on top.
I find myself wondering what Buffy's friends will do when they get to know this much older, more experienced Buffy at Spike's side. I really enjoy this story, and I hope it doesn't end with escaping Hell, but shows us a little of readjusting to the outside world.

07/02/2009 01:08 am
Chapter Twenty-five         
the centuries have helped buffy . very good read, thank you.

SlayrGrl
06/29/2009 09:15 pm
Chapter Twenty-five         
You've got me hooked. Since I started reading this I haven't been able to stop, please update soon I can't wait to read what happens next. It's been a long time since I've read something that's pulled me in like this and I'm excited for more.

Shanna
06/26/2009 02:35 pm
Chapter Twenty-five         
One word....'Wonderful'

06/21/2009 11:44 pm
Chapter Twenty-five         
Whew - I was starting to worry about Spike there for a minute.  He's just being too damn noble. 
Well, he's also had a lot of time to think. Three hundred years, as he said, can put a lot into perspective, especially when he's been chatting with himself through most of it. But he's still Spike, and that part can't go away. I just don't think it's fair to think he can't mature, especially when the end of Season 5 was the real kick-off of his character growth. It makes sense to me that, given everything he's gone through up until now, he'd have a better understanding of himself and his relationship with Buffy.

06/20/2009 11:51 pm
Chapter Twenty-five         
I think it's a whole baked loaf but they both do need to know for certain that it is born of more than just gratitude.  They both deserve it to be more.

This time there is a multi-strand bond that they are forging and it will stand up to anything thrown at them.  (They need to heed the warning about no promises though!).

I'd love for Buffy and all her crew to find out what he went through in time, but NOT from him.  I don't think it will matter to Buffy because she is already imagining a close approximation but I do think it should be known in time.

Love the foundation they are laying.  They have had centuries to mature so their behavior SHOULD be mature.

You are just excelling with this story hon.  Congratulations on the noms and awards cause ALL your stories are head and shoulders above most but THIS, this is the best so far.

*hugs* Mum Kathleen

06/20/2009 08:08 pm
Chapter Twenty-five         
Awwwww (Sorry, couldn't resist. )
Nicely done. Covers much of what needed to be covered and a good job of letting Spike soften his guard as Buffy's words begin to get through to him.  Not too abrupt, not dragged out too long.

Pin
06/20/2009 07:45 pm
Chapter Twenty-five         
Lovely!  I'm so glad that they can finally talk and I find it very interesting that their reality bends to her desire.  I wonder if that will mean something for their escape.  You always do such a wonderful job in creating these pockets of quiet, where they can explore their feelings.  Another really wonderful story.  Thanks!

06/20/2009 03:44 pm
Chapter Twenty-five         
I love what you've done with Buffy, she's so open minded and accepting.  A crumb for Spike indeed.  Fabulous chapter. 

kim
06/20/2009 02:17 pm
Chapter Twenty-five         
Favorite chapter so far!

06/11/2009 01:19 am
Chapter Twenty-four         
well done. very good rear, thank you.

06/09/2009 09:58 pm
Chapter Twenty-four         
So bittersweet.  They have each other but she is going to have to deal with all those memories as they come at her.  At least she won't return to the emptiness of the past.

He really does get it though and that will help.

I had a feeling the writing were their names, perhaps other memories she was trying to keep when the mind refused to house them any longer.  Spike will be moved to know his name was among them.

Loved her POV, we needed to have a glimpse of her time there and that served well.

LOVE this story.

Mum Kathleen

06/09/2009 04:45 am
Chapter Twenty-four         
I really enjoyed your foray into the Buffy POV.  Some hurts go too deep for words or coherent thought, and the jumble of her memories speaks so well of her pain and loss.  And the switch back to Spike's POV was easy and painless.  Thanks for writing this, it's great.

kim
06/08/2009 04:55 am
Chapter Twenty-four         
Excellent. I'm glad we got to see her slip away from her POV.

Bridget
06/08/2009 04:47 am
Chapter Twenty-four         
Beautifully written chapter.  I am glad that you used Buffy's POV in this chapter.  I think we needed to see it from her perspective.  I can't imagine how they will get out of there but I hope they do.  I also hope they grow closer and that Buffy remembers how thankful she was that Spike came for her.  I love, love, love this story. 

06/08/2009 01:34 am
Chapter Twenty-four         
I don't know about the internal Buffy section.  It's good, but maybe a big flashback would be better so you get the immediacy of her suffering?  Wonderful writing anyway.  Thanks for a great story.

06/08/2009 12:49 am
Chapter Twenty-four         
Ah, nice interlude and I liked the look into Buffy's mind.  Such a mix of angsty and hope in this fic.

05/22/2009 03:28 pm
Chapter Twenty-three         
My word!  So happy to see another chapter was posted.  I just can't get enough of this one.  I'm fighting the urge to start re-reading just so I can still be reading it. 

05/22/2009 07:23 am
Chapter Twenty-three         
I'm so... so... content. So happy I want to cry. Yet there's so much more to be done. Buffy still has to learn what happened to her, what the writing on the wall really means, how to get out of there. And then when they go back, what then?
It's interesting that Spike's gameface that last time was the straw that broke her open. I loved the shaking feelings and closeness and intimacy in this chapter. You write so brilliantly, the scenes just play out in my head and I ache for them. They both have so much pain to go through before this is done, I'm sure. How anyone could just get over something like this... it can't be done. I'm looking forward to learning more about Buffy's long solitude and about her thoughts and feelings and memories.

ya_lublyu_tebya
05/19/2009 07:40 pm
Chapter Twenty-three         

Well I for one am glad you went ahead and posted this chapter. It was beautiful and yet heartbreaking... Buffy's got a lot more to re-learn. I loved that she thanked Spike though. Look forward to more.

me
05/19/2009 06:16 pm
Chapter Twenty-three         

Wonderful!  I was worried  you gave up on it. Loving this story.

Eyghon
05/19/2009 08:30 am
Chapter Twenty-three         
yay! It was great, I feel sad and happy at the same time. I like that Buffy's okay with Spike, and that she's so sure she didn't hate him. I finally feel like they have a chance to get out. But please please please, don't mkae us wait so long next time, I tend to "forget" stuff after a while and the story's not as good when you can't remember all the plots and twists and stuff.

05/19/2009 06:56 am
Chapter Twenty-three         
awesome chapter!!!  so glad you didn't forget about this story!  Can't wait for more!!!!!

kim
05/19/2009 06:26 am
Chapter Twenty-three         
Just beautiful. I'm SO glad she sees he's only tried to help.

05/19/2009 03:58 am
Chapter Twenty-three         
Nice sweet chapter.  Now they just have to claw their way out, right?

Bridget
05/19/2009 01:34 am
Chapter Twenty-three         
This was a lovely chapter.  Just perfect.  I can't wait for the next update.  I am glad that Buffy and Spike actually had a conversation that was not full of snark.  I think she now understands the depth of his love for her.

05/19/2009 01:25 am
Chapter Twenty-three         
You have me in tears, hon. This was the chapter I've been waiting to read, and you didn't disappoint. Excellent emoting from both Spike and Buffy. Heart-wringing. Brava!

**hold out bowl** More, please?

05/19/2009 12:21 am
Chapter Twenty-three         
A beautiful scene without lingering too long on how these two characters suffered. Buffy is so in character, but in a way the Buffy on the show never had to be with nowhere near a similar experience. The only problem i had with the chapter was with the fact that it ended; You've finally updated, but now I want more!
Great installment, please update soon.

05/22/2009 07:00 am
Chapter Twenty-two         
Holy Fudge and Caramel Sundae. I'm speechless. I lack words. I'm so freakin shocked.

I mean, just when you have us convinced that this sucks but Spike has a long road and it'll be a long time until we see Buffy, just we think we're getting somewhere but the road will be long, just when we're comfortable with that supposed fact...... you pitch that.

HOLY CRUD! I can't believe it. I'm in denial!! I so have to continue reading!!!!

05/12/2009 11:32 pm
Chapter Twenty-two         
I read the first eight chapters of this sitting at my desk after work one night and realized I couldn't wait to keep reading it - so, I printed it out and took it home with me anticipating spending the weekend with it.  I was so enscorcelled that I finished it that night!  This has been a pure pleasure to read and I can't wait for the next installment.

Liza
04/30/2009 12:36 pm
Chapter Twenty-two         
Bloody hell I've missed this!  Had almost given up, had almost turned into a pale gaunt phantom pitifully ghosting round other sites, when suddenly, beyond all hope of restoration or redemption, there you are!  You're my Spike in the abyss.  It' s so good to be able to read this fic again! 

Mamaly1975
04/28/2009 02:35 pm
Chapter Twenty-two         
 Brilliant!!  Bloody Brilliant!!

I am so excited and eagerly awaiting more!!

04/28/2009 01:05 pm
Chapter Twenty-two         
OH boy, Buffy is starting to come back and a good thing before Spike bugs out himself.  Excellent chapter, per usual.

04/26/2009 10:30 pm
Chapter Twenty-two         
better and better, thank you.

05/22/2009 01:11 am
Chapter Twenty-one         
Holy cow, you know how to pack the endings. I loved the bit about Spike saying how he preferred this Hell to Earth since Buffy was there. Very Spike and rather sweet in a depressing sort of way. Then, BAM the awesome ending, with the subconscious part of Buffy's mind knowing Spike's name. Wonder how Spike'll react and how much longer it'll take her subconscious to push back memories into her conscious. Fabulous chapter, as always.

04/26/2009 10:20 pm
Chapter Twenty-one         
very good read, thank you. hope the positive chapter ending keeps  spike sane a little longer.

05/21/2009 04:27 pm
Chapter Twenty         
I have a lot to catch up on. Anyhow, back to this chapter. To put things plainly, it was freaking magnificent. The ending gave me chills. And the part before when Buffy almost remembered and then had that strange fit, that was very well-done and made me feel so sorry for stuggling Buffy and Spike. He must feel so worthless, so powerless, seeing her in pain.
Well, loved the chapter. Like always, it was freakin awesome.

All4Spike
03/02/2009 06:43 pm
Chapter Twenty         
She's remembering... the familiar fighting... the backchat... it's all helping and how wonderful that Buffy wrote his name on her wall.

03/02/2009 05:24 pm
Chapter Twenty         
:' )  *sniffle*

elysenotelsie
03/02/2009 03:18 am
Chapter Twenty         
Yay update! I'm so excited to read the next chapter

03/02/2009 02:30 am
Chapter Twenty         
Hmmm  creepy and mysterious.  Love it

kim
03/02/2009 12:07 am
Chapter Twenty         
Well, that's a hell of a thing.....

Eyghon
03/01/2009 11:56 pm
Chapter Twenty         
wow! Loved it!

Liza
03/08/2009 08:25 pm
Chapter Nineteen         
Can't access this !  Still !  Aargh!  Will I ever be able to?  Any backroads or short cuts that will help?

02/27/2009 12:23 am
Chapter Nineteen         
Fantastic chapter. I adored the part when Buffy recognized Spike's vamp face and connected the river of blood to vampires. Very interesting that she knows thing witout knowing them, an aspect which you described most beautifully, I must say. Though I think my favorite portion was the fight and the feelings it brought out in both of them. The road is long, but they are definately headed in the right direction! Once again, loved the chapter!

sarai s.
02/19/2009 06:39 am
Chapter Nineteen         
I am so glad to see an update. As usual, another wonderful chappy!

02/15/2009 10:40 pm
Chapter Nineteen         
fine chapter, thank you. the writing is way more than "good."










02/13/2009 05:38 am
Chapter Nineteen         

Excellent new chapter - loved your section on her writings on the wall and how she can make some connection with Spike in vamp face - bringing some tiny bit of spark to her long ago memories. 

Difficult to explore the theme of self identity or how our life experience combines with the mind to create our individual realities -

I will wait patiently for your next chapter - It Is Right that you should take your time with your work -

ElyseNotElsie
02/13/2009 02:38 am
Chapter Nineteen         
I love this story

All4Spike
02/13/2009 12:51 am
Chapter Nineteen         
Bit by bit she's coming back to herself. Something tells me it's going to be a long and painful journey and when she finally arrives she might not be pleased to have been forced to remember.

Bridget
02/12/2009 10:48 pm
Chapter Nineteen         
Great chapter.  I really like how you write Spike's thoughts.  I thank you for the update and will patiently wait for the next one.  This is a great story and I would imagine it would take a lot out of you to write a chapter.

kim
02/12/2009 10:38 pm
Chapter Nineteen         
Oooo, brilliant fun! Hell, yeah. But do we have the typical post-fight Slayer feeling? Hungry and horny? She has to be hungry, at least, skinny as she is here.

ya_lublyu_tebya
02/12/2009 08:53 pm
Chapter Nineteen         
Nice move by Spike there - appealing to the dormant Slayer part of her. If only something would trigger her memory now... although the journey is being so brilliantly written. Take all the time you need if it comes out this good every time I'm sure we'll all be waiting whenever you need a break (I know the feeling!).

01/28/2009 06:27 am
Chapter Eighteen         
really hope spike's hope is realized: that she does recognize what has passed. very good read, thank you.

01/22/2009 03:59 am
Chapter Eighteen         
What had happened in the shower could not happen again. - how did I know that wasn't going to work out.  Lovely chapter. 

01/22/2009 03:50 am
Chapter Eighteen         
Wonderful chapter - hot and sweet and achingly sad for Spike.

All4Spike
01/22/2009 01:32 am
Chapter Eighteen         
Poor Spike. So desperate to do the right thing by Buffy and having so much trouble holding back. I hope Buffy appreciates his efforts when she comes back to herself.

IT
01/21/2009 10:51 pm
Chapter Eighteen         

Thanks for the update.  Buffy still has a long way to go, but I think things are starting to look up.  Poor Spike, though; his internal battle is really tough.  Brilliant job on your part - thanks!

Bridget
01/21/2009 06:33 pm
Chapter Eighteen         
My heart really breaks for Spike in this story.  He loves her so much and has to hold back.  You write Spike's thoughts really well and I can't imagine what action will bring Buffy back to herself.    I wonder it it has to do with blood exchange?  Can't wait to read the next chapter.

01/21/2009 03:06 pm
Chapter Eighteen         
No one could have done better for Buffy than Spike has, I don't care who it is.  He's fighting tooth and nail to keep things right between them, to not take advantage of her.  I can only hope his restraint will be appreciated.

kim
01/21/2009 03:42 am
Chapter Eighteen         
Yep, no turning back from that door he introduced her to. Ah, if only the real Buffy could know the internal struggles this soulless vampire is going through....

01/18/2009 09:46 pm
Chapter Seventeen         
beautiful read, thank you.

01/08/2009 01:03 am
Chapter Seventeen         
God that was just beautiful, not smut.. not smut at all  :')

Angie
01/07/2009 01:46 pm
Chapter Seventeen         
What a great chapter! Well worth the wait!

eyghon
01/07/2009 11:31 am
Chapter Seventeen         
I hope they get out soon! Great chapter, love Spike's "way".

Shiko
01/06/2009 08:14 pm
Chapter Seventeen         
..God, that was hot.

Ahem.

And I nearly cried as Buffy was saying her name over and over like that. That was all hot and sad at the same time.... huh.

All4Spike
01/04/2009 04:00 pm
Chapter Seventeen         
I totally love Spike's inner monologue as he desperately tries to do the right thing. I suspect that the utter tenderness of physical contact with a loving Spike probably is the right thing at this point.
Can't wait to see how he manages to get them home, 'cos Spike's nothing if not persistent.

01/04/2009 11:01 am
Chapter Seventeen         
I swear Holly, you write the most beautiful scenes ever! Like that, see that? That was amazing. The emotions were simply beautiful. I love your Spike, but I;m falling for your Buffy too. I almost started crying when Spike realized she was begging him. (But that might be because it's late at night and I'm tired and emotionally unstable =D) Great chapter! Can't wait to see what you have in store for us next!

01/04/2009 01:39 am
Chapter Seventeen         

wow - that was awesome.  Congrats on the much deserved awards.

lilashannah
01/03/2009 08:15 pm
Chapter Seventeen         
I have no idea of what to say...the only thing that comes to mind is WOW! I really can't wait for more.

ya_lublyu_tebya
01/03/2009 06:41 pm
Chapter Seventeen         

What an amazing chapter! So much tension and sweetness - oh my! As always, I look forward to more.

01/03/2009 05:17 pm
Chapter Seventeen         
Wonderful insight into Spike's thoughts, absolutely brilliant.

kim
01/03/2009 11:24 am
Chapter Seventeen         
Oh, wow......rarely does a sexual scene bring tears. Poor Buffy, and Spike's conflict and heart breaking all over again for her.....perhaps Buffy can learn things all over again with sweet memories. With her past heartaches forgotten, learning about relating with another person can be a second chance for her. A crazy kind of blessing in disguise.

Liza
01/03/2009 10:56 am
Chapter Seventeen         
This chapter was very tender.  Dont think I've read such a sweet and loving sex scene. 

But what's Larry going to say?  Do they kick you out of hell if you like it there?  

01/03/2009 04:13 am
Chapter Seventeen         
I've been playing catch-up with this fic and am all caught up (for now, at least lol).

I'm really enjoying this intriguing tale. I can't wait to see how (or if) Buffy regains her memory, and how they find their way home. Looking forward to the next chap, and I'll try not to fall so far behind again.

Congratulations on the awards!

01/18/2009 09:27 pm
Chapter Sixteen         
powerful update, thank you.

Emmie
12/29/2008 07:28 pm
Chapter Sixteen         
*salivating for more*

I'm greatly enjoying this!

12/21/2008 09:27 am
Chapter Sixteen         
Wow Great story! I hope they can get out of hell. lol The writing on the wall must be something important being conected to the title and all

ya_lublyu_tebya
12/16/2008 09:23 am
Chapter Sixteen         
Heartbreaking chapter. I really hope he hasn't messed up and they're stuck forever. Beautiful stuff, as always.

12/13/2008 05:58 pm
Chapter Sixteen         
This was so sad and heartbreaking - I felt so sorry for Spike but with the power of words in magic and communication maybe the use and choice of words will offer them some hope against his idea of the three rules. 

This was such a beautiful chapter - you are really communicating the powerful emotions and despair and anguish that Spike and Buffy experience in this underworld/hell. 

Splendid work on this chapter and the entire work - congratulations and my "thanks" for bringing us this new Buffyverse fiction. 

Like the new banner - I was going to work on another one that depicted this new place where Buffy lives - this one works great.
Like the new banner - I was going to work on another one that depicted this new place where Buffy lives - this one works great.

I would really love to see what you could come up with! If you have the time, of course... I'm just so touched people want to make me artwork for this story.

12/13/2008 12:06 pm
Chapter Sixteen         
A very affecting chapter, Buffy's bleak little home and Spike's despair.  He'll better after a rest, can't expect to be on top form after all that he's endured.  Then he can prepare to find the way out  fsor them.  Absolutely loving this.

12/13/2008 06:29 am
Chapter Sixteen         
awwwwwwwwwwwwwww man!!!!!  great chapter!

kim
12/13/2008 02:15 am
Chapter Sixteen         
Oh, boy........but they'll find some way.

She's so sweet with him.

12/13/2008 01:55 am
Chapter Sixteen         
This reminds me a bit of the film Threads (worth seeing)...it is a post nuclear world where language and society have collapsed for the survivors.  Bleak and sad like this hell.

Kathleen

12/13/2008 01:54 am
Chapter Sixteen         
Damn!  I worried about his promises, feared them.  Somehow I don't think it is as hopeless as he does (perhaps that's the trick....if you believe hope is gone it is). 

The writing of the title is now all around them and she is learning how to read Spike...communication will follow in good time and they can sort it out.

Excellent update hon....so touching how she trusts him.  He has made it better just by relieving her loneliness for now.  Buffy had been utterly abandoned but Spike came back into her life...that has to resonate on some level.

Wow...your birthday and you give US the gift!  Thank you sweetie,

Mum Kathleen

All4Spike
12/12/2008 09:35 pm
Chapter Sixteen         
Oops, silly Spike. I wonder what language the markings are in... or has Buffy been there so long she has allowed English to adapt and change out of all recognition? After all I don't think she speaks any other language, does she?

12/12/2008 08:55 pm
Chapter Sixteen         
Great chapter, I didn't even think anything about that promise =/ are you going to upload on FF.Net?

Liza
12/12/2008 08:11 pm
Chapter Sixteen         
I didn't see that coming! Going to go back and see whether I should have done.  Poor Spike - but at least there's tenderness.  Fascinated by the language of Buffy's despair .  Hope we find out what she's written.

enjoy your day!

IT
12/12/2008 07:36 pm
Chapter Sixteen         
You said no evil cliffie, and you're right, but you left us with despair instead!  Oh, you evil woman, you!   Lovely, lovely update again.  Congrats on graduating - enjoy the day! 

01/18/2009 09:15 pm
Chapter Fifteen         
after all that has happen spike is still shocked.  fine read, thank you.

01/07/2009 04:04 am
Chapter Fifteen         

buffy saying her name was just heartbreaking. 

nikki
12/08/2008 03:57 am
Chapter Fifteen         
Yet again, another fabulous chapter ending with a major cliffy. I can't wait to find out what is on those walls!

12/07/2008 11:02 am
Chapter Fifteen         
That's a damnable cliff hanger.  Have a little mercy.

12/06/2008 02:42 am
Chapter Fifteen         

Ok, so I'm guessing paintings of some sort but of what?! First time in a long time I've gotten worked up wondering what comes next in a story, excellent job.

BT_
12/05/2008 08:12 pm
Chapter Fifteen         
Well, I'm assuming that your title is about to come into play...
But you're sure an evil writer to leave a cliffhanger like THAT!!!

Bridget
12/05/2008 06:04 pm
Chapter Fifteen         
The reunion was written very well and I like how you write Spike's thoughts.  I can't imagine what horror Spike is seeing.  I patiently will await your update.  Great chapter. 

Kathy (spikespet2002@yahoo.com)
12/05/2008 04:12 pm
Chapter Fifteen         
Okay, that's just a mean cliff hanger with the news that the updates are only going to be weekly.  If I didn't know better, I'd swear you were Joss writing under a pseudonym.

Sorry I don't review often, but you just lead me flabergasted and speechless when I read your work.

Thanks.

Belle
12/05/2008 03:16 pm
Chapter Fifteen         
Ah! The suspense!! Update soon please!

12/05/2008 01:20 pm
Chapter Fifteen         
great chapter!!!!!  Can't wait for MORE!!!

12/05/2008 12:58 pm
Chapter Fifteen         
Slayer graffiti? Can't wait to see what has unsettled him so.  Great job on this fic - keeping Spike sane, understanding what will have happened to Buffy's mind through the centuries, depicting a hell that has hopelessness at its core.  So much going on.

12/05/2008 12:25 pm
Chapter Fifteen         

A thousand years is unimagineable, and it's no wonder Buffy remembers nothing of her life, how could she ever?  She's starting anew, and thankfully she has Spike to help her.   It will be interesting to see how he copes with the challenge.  Wonderful chapter.

All4Spike
12/05/2008 12:24 pm
Chapter Fifteen         
She's done a Fred, hasn't she? She's been writing... or possibly drawing... on the walls to try to remember everyone else... she's just forgotten herself. How unbearably sad, and how typical. Of course I could be wrong...

ya_lublyu_tebya
12/05/2008 09:23 am
Chapter Fifteen         
What, what, what? Can't wait for more. Great update!!

12/05/2008 08:29 am
Chapter Fifteen         
all I can say is WOW -

12/05/2008 06:45 am
Chapter Fifteen         
What is it? What is it? What is the writing on the wall?!?!?! well, that's the question there, innit? GREAT chapter. I love Spike's thoughts and the way Hell exists for Buffy. The fact that the way he thought would bring them home is gone, how he (being our beloved Spike) is taking that, everything. Great ending to the chappie, even if I desperately want to know exactly what she wrote on the walls. Memories that haunt her and are the only remains of her previous life perhaps? Or even a marking of the days she spent in Hell maybe? I don't know, but I can't wait to find out!!!

kim
12/05/2008 06:12 am
Chapter Fifteen         
What?! Drawings? Stuff she tried to remind herself with? Nightmares?

So cute how child-like Buffy has him wrapped around her finger.

Pam S
12/05/2008 05:32 am
Chapter Fifteen         
  Horrible to Spike must be bad... but for namesake.. Writing on the Wall..   Her life in hell spelled out maybe?  Despair.. loss of self?

   Waiting for the next update.. enjoying..

01/18/2009 08:59 pm
Chapter Fourteen         
beautifully written chapter. thank you.

01/06/2009 04:13 am
Chapter Fourteen         
That was wonderful.  Tearing up here.

Belle
11/29/2008 09:52 pm
Chapter Fourteen         
Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Updated soon please!! They've finally interacted! Woooooooooooo!

11/28/2008 04:19 am
Chapter Fourteen         
WOW Great chapter!  I am so excited for more!  But from the looks of it even if it only takes them a few days to get out of there she has a long way to go to get back to even a shell of the person she was.  Can't wait to see where you take the story next!  Great Chapter!

11/28/2008 03:26 am
Chapter Fourteen         
oh me gosh! that was so beautiful! i loved it!

ya_lublyu_tebya
11/26/2008 09:17 am
Chapter Fourteen         
That was a beautiful chapter. Loved Spike's desperate rambling. Loved the vivd picture of a lost Buffy. Loved it all. Can't wait for the next update.

11/26/2008 01:57 am
Chapter Fourteen         
Really incredibly touching....Buffy is heartbreaking.  She likely didn't even know if Spike was just something her mind came up with to further her torment.....kindness, gentleness is foreign to her at this point.

His love so beautifully described as he moves against his will toward her driven to comfort, to help, to heal.  This rings so very true in every respect.

This is so powerful and beautifully done.  It is also a metaphor for their relationship in canon....she was lost and fearful and he just kept moving toward her offering solace and love....it really fits.

Excellent, just note perfect.
Mum Kathleen

nxm
11/25/2008 11:43 pm
Chapter Fourteen         
YAY!!!!

woz
11/25/2008 11:14 pm
Chapter Fourteen         
Damn! I'm going on vacation for a week and a half with no computer access, how the hell am I going to wait that long to read another update? This story is fantastic!!

All4Spike
11/25/2008 11:12 pm
Chapter Fourteen         
A truly heartbreaking chapter. Beautiful and poignant. Your 'Spike voice' is 100%

kim
11/25/2008 11:04 pm
Chapter Fourteen         

Awwwwwww!!!
Hey, he's never seen her with dark hair before.....I imagine it's insanely long by now, unless she's cut it some over the years? Her amnesia is perfect no matter where she might have ended up, as a thousand years is so long for anyone to remember a semblance of their life. Wonder if she can even speak still?

Spike couldn't relate this any more vividly if he was trying to write it down. His happiness and grief at seeing her, the magnet pull....

IT
11/25/2008 10:52 pm
Chapter Fourteen         
Hooray!  Finally.  Wow.  That was really intense.  Thanks for updating.

01/18/2009 08:49 pm
Chapter Thirteen         
seems buffy has found him. fine chapter, thank you.

01/06/2009 04:06 am
Chapter Thirteen         
What a creepy place.  Nice to see Buffy hasn't completely lost her touch. 

Belle
11/24/2008 03:36 pm
Chapter Thirteen         
You like these cliffhangers don't you? Update soon please!

Pin
11/24/2008 03:07 pm
Chapter Thirteen         
This is a really amazing creation!  I was wondering how you were going to express Buffy's hell, and this is just great .  Wonderful attention (as always) to characterization and atmosphere.  I really can picture this reality.  I like the details such as Spike's reflection and those picky logistics problems of clothing and physical condition.  I really love this story and your path for these characters.  I am, however, going to miss Spike's 'companion Buffy', she was really quite nice and I liked her a lot.  Thanks again!

Liza
11/24/2008 10:01 am
Chapter Thirteen         
I knew it would be being alone.   You are so completely right that this is a terror buried in all of us - cackling and dancing on the surface of the skin in some of us, in fact.  I've been following this avidly.  Can't wait for the next bit.  Is she still sane?

ya_lublyu_tebya
11/24/2008 09:16 am
Chapter Thirteen         
He found her!! Yay! But I get the feeling she's not exactly going to be herself... Can't wait for more, Holly. I absolutely love this story and you deserve every nomination you get.

nikki
11/24/2008 08:10 am
Chapter Thirteen         
Oh, wow! They found each other finally. I can't wait to see how these years in hell have changed Buffy. Looking forward to readng your characterization.

11/23/2008 07:03 pm
Chapter Thirteen         
Ah! He's found her. The Buffy who's been on her own for a thousand years...and she's found him.  Well done, hon.

All4Spike
11/23/2008 01:25 pm
Chapter Thirteen         
I can see that a deserted city surrounded by blood would be a very realistic Hell for Buffy. Now then, he's found her but does she remember who he is? Does she remember who she is? It looks as if she may have gone FeralSlayer...

11/23/2008 10:49 am
Chapter Thirteen         
WOW...yes Buffy's hell WOULD be one of abandonment and the idea of a river of blood (likely people she couldn't save) makes even more sense.  She may be close to insane at this point so Spike needs to be very very careful.  As she sees him, even if she recognizes him. not put him in the "friend" category.

You really are outdoing yourself on this on hon.  The imagery is fantastic and yet you vary it so you paint a whole landscape not just a small picture.  The ache in him that won't heal is powerful and now we get a look at Buffy's!  When two hells collide who knows what to expect.

Excellent and congratulations on the nomination...Very deserved!

Mum Kathleen

11/23/2008 04:12 am
Chapter Thirteen         
oh me gosh! have i mentioned how much i absolutely adore this fic lately?? loved this chapter. can't wait to meet buffy again. see how hell has changed her... but spike will fix everything. i wonder if she'll recognize him? dunno, anyways, lovely update!

11/23/2008 02:49 am
Chapter Thirteen         
Excellent - do you feel like this work is taking you to a new level?  Your descriptive quality of space and emotional state is so effective - this chapter, particularly has such a strong sense of movement that reflects Spike's fears and his endless time.  Your work has always been, IMO, some of the best fan fiction from The Buffyverse, but I think you are getting even better - the best way that I can describe it is a spatial quality that is connected to emotions.  Does that make any sense?    Buffy's created Hell seems like a perfect fit - and endless slave to her Slayer existence and how that duty took so much away from her life. 

To meet up with  real prey - and to have Spike, the man that has given over so much to try and bring life back again - splendid and compelling.  It felt like I could feel my heart beating faster and faster right along with Spike's. 

Thanks Ever for bring us another chapter -  If you celebrate Thanksgiving, I wish you a wonderful day.

11/23/2008 12:43 am
Chapter Thirteen         
Fabulous visuals - but what can be left of Buffy after a thousand years...

11/23/2008 12:07 am
Chapter Thirteen         
OH MAN~~~~  Your killin me here!  I was hoping to get some interaction but NO  cliff hanger AGAIN~!!!!  aaggggggggrrrrrrrr

But it was awesome!

kim
11/23/2008 12:06 am
Chapter Thirteen         
So, do we have a Cave Buffy?

Her hell is exactly what Buffy would be freaked out about......being alone, no one to save, to talk to, probably nothing tangible to hunt. As delicate as she was when she jumped, she probably started going insane here within weeks.

11/22/2008 02:55 am
Chapter Twelve         
fine read, thank you.now on to whateverelse he will have to do.

11/18/2008 10:11 am
Chapter Twelve         
Another brilliant chapter!  I'm sorry phantom Buffy has gone, let's hope the real one will come to feel the same.  But what will Buffy's hell be like?  Yum.

11/18/2008 12:01 am
Chapter Twelve         
Heartbreaking and so full of love.  He has suffered so much already for the love of Buffy...I hope she is not a total bitch to him (also wondering how much her personal hell might resemble S6 of canon!). 

Every word of this one is so well crafted for maximum emotional punch.  You are really coming into your own with this one (okay...you have several standouts from a body of work anyone would be proud of).  You make us feel his hope in the midst of his pain, his resignation to not being loved in the face of his heroic actions as well.

I am so glad YOU are writing this story as you always treat BOTH these characters with such loving care, never casting either as unworthy or unlikeable.  I know that no matter what is happening in Buffy's world you will cause us to feel for her.  Clearly you love BOTH of them as do I.

Wish Tara would whip up some spell that would make those idiots see what Spike has been through.

Excellent chapter, exceptional story.

*hugs*

Mum Kathleen

11/17/2008 07:30 pm
Chapter Twelve         
I just knew it wasn't going to be that easy i just knew it -  I hope we get the real buffy next chapter!  Great update!!!

All4Spike
11/17/2008 06:33 pm
Chapter Twelve         
Your imagery is very powerful and very beautiful. It emphasises the depth of strength in Spike, the supreme force of will that is derived from his love for Buffy. I do hope he can find her soon...  and that she'll welcome him.

AMI
11/17/2008 04:44 pm
Chapter Twelve         
Amazing chapter , loved it .. liked the Buffy convo and goodbye ,that was sweet.

Now onto Buffy's hell *shudders*

More soon please and Happy Anniversary! 

nikki c.
11/17/2008 10:34 am
Chapter Twelve         
Oh, what a cliffy! This is such a truly unique story. Thank you for sharing it and I eagerly await the next installment!

kim
11/17/2008 09:02 am
Chapter Twelve         
Ah, end of the section, and on to the new. And probably not to nice.   Nice touch, having her say goodbye in his head.

ya_lublyu_tebya
11/17/2008 09:00 am
Chapter Twelve         
Yay!! He made it! Hope the real Buffy hasn't completely lost it. Look forward to the next update.

11/17/2008 07:52 am
Chapter Twelve         
thanks for the update - working it into your busy schedule and special time. 

Wonderful description of his physical environment and his unending devotion to his cause - really like how you use Buffy as his anchor -

the banner looks nice - very pleased that you were able to use it -

Happy Anniversary -

FoolForLove
11/17/2008 07:23 am
Chapter Twelve         
Eeee! Beautiful update! (and happy anniversary)

11/22/2008 02:46 am
Chapter Eleven         
excellent read, thank you. really should let xander and the watcher  follow spike and just leave them there.

BT_
11/12/2008 03:36 am
Chapter Eleven         
Your writing is so...horrifyingly evocative.  Well done.  I cna't wait to see what happens next.

All4Spike
11/12/2008 12:52 am
Chapter Eleven         
Wow! Well done, Spike! Good for Giles for wanting to give him more time. Now then... is he going to heal up the way he did after the holy water?

Liza
11/11/2008 06:55 pm
Chapter Eleven         
Oh thank God. Feel really involved with this one.  Please update soon!  

Bridget
11/11/2008 06:44 pm
Chapter Eleven         
I always new Spike would make it.  This is my first review of your story although I have been reading it since it first began.  I did not know what to say.  Your descriptions of Spike suffering and hope is very graphic and I ached for him.  I am glad that he is out of this web.  I hope that he won't have to endure much more suffering.  You have done a great job writing this story.

11/11/2008 12:11 pm
Chapter Eleven         

Endlessly gruelling, yet he had the spirit to withstand it!  ! hope Spike gets some strength from somewhere - he's going to need it.  And there is still some faith in him back at the ranch!  Nice.

ya_lublyu_tebya
11/11/2008 09:07 am
Chapter Eleven         
Yay!! He's free. Not surprised by Xander's words - if that was really them and not another trick. Can't wait for another update - this story is just...magical.

kim
11/11/2008 07:27 am
Chapter Eleven         
crap, the last review was me.

If Spike's body doesn't come back now that he's free, he better try to take some blood. He can't accept an offer, but he can *take*.

11/11/2008 07:25 am
Chapter Eleven         
Yay!
And, oh....that's gonna hurt.

Frickin'  Xander....always too impatient. But yeah, it doesn't matter.

11/11/2008 07:20 am
Chapter Eleven         
Yay...But, so close and yet...Can't wait to read the rest.

11/11/2008 05:56 am
Chapter Eleven         
YES!!!!!!!!!  poor baby but YESSSSS!!!!!!!!!

oh man!  I can't wait for more! 

Leanne
11/11/2008 05:29 am
Chapter Eleven         
It is a testimony to your writing that I've been able to stay with this story. I know you must be setting things us, and I'll find out why this was so important and loooooooooooongggggg - right?

I definitely feel like I've been throuh the three hundred years of torture wading through these last few chapters. PLEASE get us out of this torture!

11/11/2008 05:16 am
Chapter Eleven         
WOW!   Tight and well written.  Perfect description of hell in so many ways...losing himself (or nearly) and his contact with his mental Buffy then having to face the great Scooby attitude.  That makes the physical like nothing.

I really do wish they had a TV screen to see what he's been up to.  Maybe Willow and Tara can conjur up something and that might shut Xander up finally not to mention Giles.  Yeah...send Xander down to get her that'll be fun! LOL

Very intense and painful but he has paid for all his crimes IMHO.  He doesn't even expect her to regard his efforts.  Poor Spike.

Mum Kathleen

11/11/2008 05:05 am
Chapter Eleven         
Totally wonderful and excellent - great finish for this part of his love driven trials and journey - Great Update - I love this story.

AMI
11/11/2008 04:44 am
Chapter Eleven         
Oh god it looks like Spike made it ...Hopefully he'll be able to reach Buffy soon *crosses fingers*

Beautiful chapter , I loved it but so sad ;(   Poor Spike , the Scoobies don't give him any credit at all ! AGH

More soon please

11/11/2008 04:02 am
Chapter Eleven         
Ouch! Well done.

11/21/2008 04:37 am
Chapter Ten         
very good chapter. loved the last line.

AMI
11/09/2008 03:39 am
Chapter Ten         
Hang in there Spike, God this is so sad ;-(
Love his speech about loving Buffy ! He loves her so much and is determined to get her out , no matter  what they put him thru .

Beautiful story , can't wait for more!

11/08/2008 07:37 am
Chapter Ten         
terrific new chapter - this is a splendid story - fine work.  I LOVE your brave and courageous Spike. 

11/08/2008 03:10 am
Chapter Ten         
oh my goodness, i love your writing. its so brilliant. so filled with thoughts and emotions and wonderful descriptions. and have i mentioned lately how much i love your spike? he is so awesome. buffy is the luckiest girl in the world. love the update!!!

11/07/2008 11:43 pm
Chapter Ten         
I'd say Spike has paid in full for his sinful wicked past.  This is grueling and that is as it should be in hell.  I really can't help but hope that Buffy, Giles and all the Scoobies find out exactly what he went through and gladly.

Wondering if he is connecting with the real Buffy...interesting how she doesn't always come when he wants/needs her...as if she had free will choice as opposed to a mental construct.  Then again he HAS made her just like the real thing.

Clever boy has figured out how to remember the important stuff and endure and as you would expect...it's all about Buffy.  He really loves her beyond measure.

This is just perfect...you make us feel a bit of his suffering so strongly it could make you cry.  You really do have the depth of his love well defined.

Excellent as always.  You are so talented!
Mum Kathleen

Liza
11/07/2008 06:35 pm
Chapter Ten         

This is powerful stuff.  You write torment frighteningly well.  Honestly, reading this makes me flood with adrenalin and claustrophobia  - but that's a compliment to you.  Just wrap it up next chapter?  

11/07/2008 03:22 pm
Chapter Ten         
Great job of describing Spike's suffering, and even his doubts with his determination. His talk with the Buffy inside his head was done so well, his words heartfelt and unrefined and raw... I loved it. I don't know how far you're planning to take this story, but now that I've found it, I promise to be on the edge of my seat, with you all the way!

11/07/2008 01:37 pm
Chapter Ten         
Painfully real.  Loved Spike's version of Buffy and why he sees her as she is.  What a shame that the "real" Buffy can't be a party to those conversations.  The things she'd learn about herself and him.

11/07/2008 10:42 am
Chapter Ten         

What endurance!  Spike deserves his heart's desire  - and then some!  Great chapter.

ya_lublyu_tebya
11/07/2008 09:08 am
Chapter Ten         
Such dedication through this torment - Spike really is a strong man. Hope he can get to the end almost sane! Great update, Holly. I look forward to more.

kim
11/07/2008 08:53 am
Chapter Ten         
Wow, his Buffy speech...
Ah, my heart hurts for him........

Shiko
11/07/2008 07:50 am
Chapter Ten         
Yeah, Spike will make another day.... but I won't!! God, it's so sad ;_; and he's trying so hard...

11/07/2008 05:38 am
Chapter Ten         
oh man!  What are you going to come up with for the 3rd day?  I could go into all the this's and that's of what i liked about the chapters but honestly I am not a writer I'm a reader!  I just know I really enjoyed it.  Thank you!

11/20/2008 10:41 pm
Chapter Nine         
what a great read, thank you.

11/03/2008 11:11 pm
Chapter Nine         
Terrific chapter - Spike's endurance was enthralling.  I fear he's going to need it.

kim
11/03/2008 09:07 pm
Chapter Nine         
Eeep.

FetchingMadScientist
11/03/2008 05:42 pm
Chapter Nine         
A hundred years for a day?  That's a steal, I thought it would be something around ten times that!  But then, you're not as mean as I seem to be if my mind went there...  This is a great story.

Pin
11/03/2008 03:05 pm
Chapter Nine         
I love the way you turn all of the really bad things that happen into positives in spike's head.  Excellent story!  I'm wondering how really crazy he will be by the time this is over, let alone what shape he will be in!

Angel
11/03/2008 02:15 pm
Chapter Nine         
WOW!
Great update

11/03/2008 01:23 pm
Chapter Nine         
WOW Great Chapter!  I really hope he isn't too weak by the time he finally gets there to get her out.  Now you got me all worried!  Can't wait for the next update!

Shiko
11/03/2008 10:31 am
Chapter Nine         
oh that's really nasty. 300 years??

ya_lublyu_tebya
11/03/2008 09:14 am
Chapter Nine         
Wow, evil (but well, duh). Great stuff, Holly. Look forward to the next update.

11/03/2008 08:33 am
Chapter Nine         
your work just keeps getting better - excellent chapter - I love how you concentrate on spike's unfailing devotion and commitment to his task and his unfailing love for this woman -  great job!

SlayrGrl
07/10/2009 05:28 am
Chapter Eight         
I can't wait for more. Everything is moving along just perfect and completely believeable... I love it.

01/04/2009 01:50 am
Chapter Eight         
Three days without a big nasty spider I hope.

11/20/2008 10:22 pm
Chapter Eight         
excellent read, thank you.  just wait for three days. spike be patient. right.

11/02/2008 06:19 am
Chapter Eight         
Love your beautiful brave Spike - thank you so very much for bringing us this underworld journey tale - three days of suffering to help bring about a resurrection?

ya_lublyu_tebya
10/29/2008 09:09 am
Chapter Eight         
Another brilliant update! Poor Spike, being tormented and played with. Good job he really believes in himself. I look forward to the next update.

10/29/2008 12:11 am
Chapter Eight         
Do I sense a difference between "hell time" and RW time? 

10/28/2008 06:12 pm
Chapter Eight         
“That’s a spider-web,” he explained. “Or…the rough equivalent.”
Yikes - that sounds ominous.  Spike did wonderfully well in this chapter, he just has to keep strong!   But what will he face next?  A smashing read.  I really can't wait for more - as soon as humanly possible pleeeeease!!!!

kim
10/28/2008 06:25 am
Chapter Eight         
Ah, but where there's a spider web, there's a *spider*. A spider that'll inject him with venom, or wrap him up and suck the juices out. For 3 days. Good luck, Spike.

FoolForLove
10/28/2008 05:45 am
Chapter Eight         
Uh oh. I wonder how long three days translates to in hell. ::pets Spike::

Great update. Thanks!

10/28/2008 04:32 am
Chapter Eight         
awwwwwwwwwwwwww MAN~~~~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   I really really REALLY hope your able to update soon!  I am on the edge of my seat!!!!!

10/28/2008 03:48 am
Chapter Eight         
Great chapter.  They clearly do not understand Spike's love for Buffy.  He loves the goodness in her not just her body.  He wouldn't want to paint the town red in an evil copy of her...he is drawn to her light (effulgent was ever his desire).

This next test is interesting.  Is it a lie?  Does he have to wait out 3 days or is that a trick?  A web that big must have a spider to match...ooooohhhhh  nasty! (My personal nemesis there....spiders, 3 scars to prove it).

Wonderful view of a piece of hell.  You have him down to a tee....stubborn and determined and very much in love.  Glad Willow told him that the invitation wasn't spur of the moment, that will give him strength.

Excellent.
Mum Kathleen

10/28/2008 01:49 am
Chapter Seven         
And I just had a thought...I wonder if the Buffy he's talking to is the First...

10/28/2008 01:48 am
Chapter Seven         
hm,  can't wait to see the trial you've dreamed up now. 
the Holy Water thing was gruesome and wonderfully done!

10/27/2008 02:41 am
Chapter Seven         
very good read, thank you. must be second trial. couldn't be all he has to suffer.

10/25/2008 07:13 pm
Chapter Seven         
And I keep coming back to the whole, "Don't accept what's offered" thing.  This is what he wants, and he could have it....  It's nice to see you back, Holly! *hugs*  This story is great, and Spike is coming through so true, just like he did on screen.  I missed your stuff.  It's good to see you again.

10/24/2008 07:48 am
Chapter Seven         
that was a horrendous intro to his trials - but a great chapter. 

"In seconds he would wish for dust while begging for the strength to push onward."

I love this line - the essence of what it is going to take to get through this first phase -

Wonderful to have a new story from you - I have always admired and enjoyed your work. -

Good Luck with all your other work -

10/24/2008 01:01 am
Chapter Seven         
is this a trial,  or what?? oh, love it, love it! great story so far. all the time in the world would be worth the wait.
spike is so awesome. if every person was that devoted to those they loved, there would be a lot less heartache in this world.

10/24/2008 12:39 am
Chapter Seven         
Oh dear I'm with Spike....too easy (okay not easy by a long shot.....wow that was painful to read but oh so well written hon).  I have a feeling it might not be Buffy at all.  Maybe another dream even.

Love how real Spike is...clear ideas and plans that his emotions bollocks up, in this case...anger.  He had to go through that twice because he let his anger control him.  That's our Spike. 

It makes sense that he can't die, not in hell...he may well hope he can though before it is all over.

I really hope Buffy finds out ALL that he has endured, including his willing jump into and swim through holy water.  She needs to know what he was willing to do for the love of her....they ALL need to know and in detail not just vague stuff.  Wish Willow could open a magic window so they could all see because they would have to change their attitude if they could.

Excellent.  You are doing this story proud, hon.

Love,
Mum Kathleen

10/23/2008 11:09 pm
Chapter Seven         
oooh - can't be that easy. I sense something heartbreaking coming up...

10/23/2008 09:48 pm
Chapter Seven         
oh boy !!!!  NEED MORE!!!!!!!   PLEASE!!!!!   Great chapter!

kim
10/23/2008 09:11 pm
Chapter Seven         
Oh, yeah, using Buffy as a trial will cut way deeper than anything done to his flesh.

ya_lublyu_tebya
10/23/2008 08:34 pm
Chapter Seven         
It's got to be an illusion, right? Can't wait for the next chapter. Great descriptions in this chapter.

10/23/2008 06:09 am
Chapter Six         
Really liking this story. More please!

10/21/2008 03:18 am
Chapter Six         
So wonderful to see Spike hanging on to his cool (in his own special way -lol) and thinking things through.

10/20/2008 06:19 pm
Chapter Six         
Well, you sure know how to keep your readers off balance!  The confusing beginning, the ...cheese? 
I'm enjoying this story, and wondering what you've got planned for the rest of the trial.
Looking forward to more! 

All4Spike
10/20/2008 04:31 pm
Chapter Six         
Surely Spike can longjump 4 metres... with the hope that the wall is an illusion... or perhaps not... hmm... Ingenious test.

10/20/2008 12:05 pm
Chapter Six         
 If the nightmare opening is anything to go by, this is going to be grand guignol horror all the way.  Perfect!  I love a bit of horror.  Spike knows about the trickery and misleads, let's hope he keeps his head!

10/20/2008 10:55 am
Chapter Six         
there has to be an escape for our vamp hero - seems like something being earth-bound should not necessarily have to work same in a different plane -

Love your voice for Spike -

your description of the imagined funeral was very effective - it felt like just what Spike would have felt had it been real.   Not only Buffy's nightmares but like Spike's also - the worst that could have would be for him to fail.

ya_lublyu_tebya
10/20/2008 09:04 am
Chapter Six         
Had a feeling it might be holy water. Interesting trial. The way you weave this story is amazing, Holly. I look forward to the next update.

kim
10/20/2008 04:33 am
Chapter Six         
Ooooo, ouch.....talk about difficult!

10/17/2008 09:03 pm
Chapter Five         
larry? very good read, thank you.

10/17/2008 02:39 pm
Chapter Five         
I can't wait to see what happens next!!!

10/17/2008 11:46 am
Chapter Five         
A nice  low-key intro to hell - Larry is pretty cool too.  I'm looking forward to the horror, Spike will have to be stronger than he's ever been before. Can't wait for more                                                                               

kim
10/17/2008 02:54 am
Chapter Five         
Larry's funny. And it works that he's not really malevolent, just doing a job...we know well that not all demons have the same temperment.

Looking forward to the trials.

10/16/2008 08:52 pm
Chapter Five         
Awesome update. Absolutely loved the Dante quote! It just had to be there. Can't wait for more.

10/16/2008 07:45 pm
Chapter Five         
Ha, Larry is so great. An amusing but real start that doesn't take away from how serious and horrifying the future will become. A great story and I can't wait to see what you come up with for the trials.

08/05/2011 02:50 pm
Chapter Four         
From chapter 4 on, the entire story is posted in bold.  This makes if quite difficult to read.  Not sure what happened, but maybe a broken html tag?  Reading long passages in bold or italics is hard on the reader's eye.  Hope you'll be able to fix it without too much trouble.  Interesting story so far, even though I ended up cutting and pasting and unbolding it so I could read it painlessly.  Don't worry, when I'm done, I will delete.

Blue  

10/15/2008 08:30 pm
Chapter Four         
splendid perfomance at dinner by all except harris.) very good read, thank you.

10/14/2008 07:10 pm
Chapter Four         
Hopefully Xander will at least listen to Anya for once!  It's a fine thing Spike is doing and he deserves everyone's support.

J
10/14/2008 12:26 am
Chapter Four         
Wow, I am so loving this story, you really have the emotion and the buffyverse rythym down. I actually had thought out a story along these lines, what would have happened if she was in hell? I'm so glad to see someone writing that sort of thing and doing it so well.
More Please!!!

May
10/13/2008 09:13 pm
Chapter Four         
This is just a beautiful story. You write their emotions so well. All the pain, all the anguish, the anxiety, the hope, the dread---you manage to capture it all in those few words and actually make the reader feel what the characters are feeling.

Really, very great job. I can't wait to read more

All4Spike
10/13/2008 09:07 pm
Chapter Four         
They really should have learned by now that Dawn is always going to find out stuff that she wants to. And... Yay for Anya!
More please.

10/13/2008 08:40 pm
Chapter Four         
Um...next chapter?  Loving this story so far, hun. Wonderful ensemble use of the Scoobies and their growing respect for Spike.

ya_lublyu_tebya
10/13/2008 07:57 pm
Chapter Four         
Wow, great update. And go Anya!! Can't wait for more.

10/13/2008 06:39 pm
Chapter Four         
OH WOW!!!
Great chapter!

10/13/2008 01:52 pm
Chapter Four         
Great Chapter!  I can't wait for MORE!!!!!

10/13/2008 11:45 am
Chapter Four         
thanks so much for the new chapter - wonderful story! 

10/13/2008 06:11 am
Chapter Four         
Forgot to mention...love the myth reference on the don't eat anything!  Those three rules scare me a bit for certain.....for some reason the don't forget your name seems the most omen filled.

Kathleen

10/13/2008 06:10 am
Chapter Four         
Love the dynamics here.  Xander is the only one still swimming in the Nile...they ALL see it, that it really is love and the self-sacrificing type that Spike feels.  They also don't seem to doubt that he WILL get Buffy out.  Xander (the penis as Anya so perfectly called him) needs multiple head smaps.

Love this...lots of THINKING with them all.  Loved Spike spilling his guilt at the table (anyone who doubts his love or that he is far from Angelus who would NEVER feel guilt over anything without the soul is just deliberately blind) was crackling with emotion.

You are doing a splendid job as always.  Love the humor in face of horror. That is a real life touch just like laughter at wakes.  Squirrels and green beans make for a funny hell and it hit them all that way...the combination of tragedy and fear with the humorous.

Wonderful.

Mum Kathleen

10/13/2008 06:10 am
Chapter Four         
Love the dynamics here.  Xander is the only one still swimming in the Nile...they ALL see it, that it really is love and the self-sacrificing type that Spike feels.  They also don't seem to doubt that he WILL get Buffy out.  Xander (the penis as Anya so perfectly called him) needs multiple head smaps.

Love this...lots of THINKING with them all.  Loved Spike spilling his guilt at the table (anyone who doubts his love or that he is far from Angelus who would NEVER feel guilt over anything without the soul is just deliberately blind) was crackling with emotion.

You are doing a splendid job as always.  Love the humor in face of horror. That is a real life touch just like laughter at wakes.  Squirrels and green beans make for a funny hell and it hit them all that way...the combination of tragedy and fear with the humorous.

Wonderful.

Mum Kathleen

kim
10/13/2008 05:30 am
Chapter Four         
Great dinner conversation. Yeah, Anya!
And wow, time to go already.......Good luck, Spike.

10/15/2008 08:17 pm
Chapter Three         
very good read, thank you.

10/13/2008 01:40 am
Chapter Three         
Darlin' you KNOW I am loving this and wanted to say how glad I am that you are putting it up here.  I understand lots of reasons for decisions made but the readers here deserve a chance to get the best and that includes at the top of the list YOUR stories.  So glad you are making it easier for access.

WONDERFUL story.  It is always so clear in reading your work that you truly love and "get" this pair and that makes it many cuts above.

*hugs*
Mum Kathleen

10/10/2008 11:56 pm
Chapter Three         
Excellent Story, H - love the responsible Spike and the Demon King set up is great. 

10/10/2008 08:28 pm
Chapter Three         
Wow. I just read all three chapters in one go. This is amazing. You're weaving this story so brilliantly. More please!

P.S. Glad to see you sharing your fic over here.

10/10/2008 04:03 pm
Chapter Three         
This is an excellent premise.  I'm really enjoying how you're writing it as well. 

10/10/2008 12:48 pm
Chapter Three         

Very Interesting turn of events - if both the ring and sword have been brought into this dimension where is the crown?  What happened to Brychantus or The Demon King?  Which one made it back if either? 

Great Update - can't wait to see what Willow's journey will be like - nice plot advance -

kim
10/10/2008 03:57 am
Chapter Three         
Ah....interesting new layer!
And Dawn is much smarter than the rest give her credit for. I agree with Spike that she shouldn't be coddled as if she's a baby.
If Tara's so worried, why doesn't she go with Willow?

03/03/2009 02:52 pm
Chapter Two         
I really like the dynamic you have here, you paint a really believable picture of the gang having to rely on spike -- which is difficult to pull off. You really capture the Giles and Spike relationship well. This really reads like an episode, you have everyone's voices down so well. Which is really outstanding, because most writers struggle with characters who aren't their favorites. (I'm really intrigued to see if you do Tara and Dawn, and how you do Buffy.)

10/15/2008 08:03 pm
Chapter Two         
spike seems to be in his own hell. very good read, thank you.

IT
10/08/2008 06:28 pm
Chapter Two         

Well done.  I can feel Spike's impatience rolling off the page (screen?).  Can't wait to read more.

10/08/2008 10:58 am
Chapter Two         
Excellent new chapter - I have been wanting to read a really good story of Spike traveling to an underworld to try and bring Buffy back - I am so glad that you are taking on this project.

Really like how Giles, Willow and Spike are working out in this piece - I always enjoy having Spike being able to work with either of these two.

kim
10/08/2008 01:15 am
Chapter Two         
I'm thinking of a magnified version of Buffy's mind when she locked herself in after Dawn was taken, plus imagining her failure and Glory sucking the world into Hell, but...... Buffy has always been afraid of being alone, and she was scared to death of losing her sister. Perhaps her ultimate fear is wandering through life completely alone and unseen, ineffectual and abandoned. Perhaps playing out a Slayer's life over and over and always failing to save anyone.

10/08/2008 01:15 am
Chapter Two         
*sigh* ratcheting up the tension, here.   Like seeing Giles be reasonable and respectful of Spike's feelings and value.  Can't wait to see what Buffy's version of Hell looks like...although I think I can imagine what it might be.

10/08/2008 01:06 am
Chapter Two         
Powerful chapter. Giles is doing a great job planning for the unknown.  Nice to see the support for Spike.

missus_grace
10/07/2008 10:32 pm
Chapter Two         
I like seeing Spike and Willow as friends.  She is the villain in so many Season 6 stories so it's nice to see her as a sympathetic character here.

10/07/2008 10:11 pm
Chapter Two         
oh man it just gets better and better!  I can't wait for MORE MORE MORE!!!!!!  great Chapter!

Lea
10/07/2008 09:35 pm
Chapter Two         
Welcome back! What a start, I'm breathlessly awaiting the next part! All the best /Lea

Liza
10/07/2008 09:14 pm
Chapter Two         
What a pleasure.   I can see a beautiful tension between self-redemption and self-damnation spinning out here - and I'm very interested to see where you're going with the 'Buffy's deepest fears' thing.  Perhaps bliss with the bloodsucker?

Can't wait for more.  This seems a lot more complex than some Spuffy, delicious though it always is.

All4Spike
10/07/2008 09:00 pm
Chapter Two         
I think I must have reviewed chapter 1 somewhere else... This is developing very nicely. Sweett Willow making sure Spike ate, typical Tara concentrating on Dawn. Also typical Xander wanting to ride to the rescue himself. Is Giles throwing Spike a bone to make him co-operate or has he really accepted that Spike loves Buffy? It'll be interesting to see how that develops.

07/01/2009 06:17 am
Chapter One         
Congratulations! You've been rec'd!

The Reader's Have Chosen is a new fanfiction recommendation community dedicated to finding the best of the best in fandoms across the boards, and sharing them with other authors and avid readers. Your story, "The Writing on the Wall", has been rec'd and is now being voted on in the Monthly Poll Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Fellow fandom-aficionados will vote for their favorites of all the recommendations, and the stories with the most votes will be posted on the front page.

You can find our website at (without spaces): http : // thereadershavechosen . eternflame . com
You can find the Buffy Weekly Poll at (without spaces): http:// thereadershavechosen. eternflame. com/ forum/ index. php? topic= 550.0

~Cat

10/15/2008 08:01 pm
Chapter One         
fine start to the new tale. thank you.

10/14/2008 07:02 am
Chapter One         
First thing I thought was: "Good summary." Then I saw the name of the author and thought, "Oh yeah, that makes sense." I've read you before. Good stuff. Keep it up.

blarghums
10/08/2008 08:00 am
Chapter One         
before i even start reading i'd like to say, thanks for writing, i've enjoyed some of your stories a great deal, and i'm sure the others were wonderful but the synopsis' didn't capture my fancy... anyway, if you write them, we will read them

cheers

AJ Hofacre
10/07/2008 05:42 pm
Chapter One         
Hmmmm. I'm sensing.... yet another hit for the incomparable Holly I love it, ducks, this one's gonna be good!!

10/07/2008 01:44 pm
Chapter One         
Interesting twist on that event. Can't wait to watch Spike come riding to the rescue. I'm sure it won't be easy for them.

Shiko
10/07/2008 12:17 am
Chapter One         
Phew. That's a interesting question, what if Buffy actually went to Hell...
I am not sure I understand that self-made-hell-theory, but I am going to keep on reading to find out, what it actually looks like. Great idea and a very good first chapter.

kathyshop
10/06/2008 11:52 pm
Chapter One         
Great start!  It's going to be interesting to see what Buffy's self-made hell looks like.  Also liked that Buffy was ready to ask Spike back into the house.

Love your work and it's great to see you with a new one!

10/06/2008 08:04 pm
Chapter One         
Fantastic start! Love your writing and the premise is one of my absolute favourites, so a better combination I couldn't ask for.

10/06/2008 06:44 pm
Chapter One         
OH BOY!!!!  Great start!  I cant' wait to see what you do with this!!!

Welcome back BTW!!!!

Belle
10/06/2008 03:49 pm
Chapter One         

oooo very good start! Self-made Hell huh? That's not necessarily fire and brimestone...could be anything. A person's past failures to be experienced repeatedly. Their own personal idea of what Hell would be like. It's a very interesting idea. Look forward to seeing more of the story! Update soon please!

Tamara
10/06/2008 01:10 pm
Chapter One         
It makes so much more sense for Buffy to be in hell if her body didn't die. Great start and I'm glad you're posting here again.

10/06/2008 01:10 pm
Chapter One         
Good to see you here.  A spanking good start - as always - to an interesting take on S6.  I relish every word of your work and can't wait for more.

kim
10/06/2008 10:12 am
Chapter One         
Wow.......that's heavy. Been a long time since I've seen an idea with that much gravity.

duke6665
10/06/2008 10:00 am
Chapter One         
WOW great start.really great...welcome back

10/06/2008 08:46 am
Chapter One         

What a great start - I was at the edge of my seat through the whole read - This looks like it is going to be one of your very best ever. 

Great to have you at the site - I have always enjoyed reading your work very much - Best of Luck with your new work -

10/06/2008 05:57 am
Chapter One         
oh my goodness! this first chapter is so full of emotion, i can't fathom what you have in store! lovely, lovely piece.