When the Ice Has Melted by slaymesoftly

01/16/2014 02:46 am
Nine         
I enjoyed both this and the story "How Can Something So Cold. . ." very much.    

Thank you for sharing your talent with the rest of us.
Thank you for reading. I'm glad you enjoyed them.

Basia
12/11/2013 11:51 pm
Nine         
The way you write them - I can hear and see them saying those lines. Amazing stuff.
Looking forward to reading more of this when you finish that sequel - the conversation between Giles and the two girls might be fascinating. And I really want more smoochies - just like in the first part.  This developing friendship was very nice, but leaves wanting for something more...
Thanks. I'm glad you liked it. I only have a few hundred words written on the next one, but I'll try to get back to it.

BTW - I tried to email you to tell you that haven't been able to delete the review you were worried about, but the email bounced back, so there must be a typo in the address?  Anyway, if I can't use it to contact you, then no one else will be able to either.  I'll talk to the other mods and see if they knew why the "manage reviews" feature is no longer there or how to work around it, but right now, I can't do anything with that review except read it and my answer. Sorry!

03/11/2013 06:19 am
Nine         
Yet another good story, I love all your ideas you put into these. And yet again another story I wish there was a sequel to it.
I actually do have a sequel to this one in the works. Haven't got very far on it, though....

07/07/2012 01:54 am
Nine         
Great reading this one again - I especially liked your treatment of the Vampire Bite Houses - the conversation between Gina and Dixie and Giles would be interesting. 
I have the barest beginnings of  sequel, so the convo could happen at some point. Whenever I get back to it.

05/20/2012 07:45 pm
Nine         
The slayer doesn't have an easy life, does she?  I enjoyed this one a lot... especially liked the fact that the family were all relatively supportive, even Xander.  I get tired of reading stories where there's endless angst about the relationship/friendship with Spike.

Liked the touch about the other 'harmless' vampires...

Blue
I'm glad you liked it. There really isn't a whole lot in season five to support the idea that people in Buffy's life couldn't or wouldn't cope with a relationship if it was developed properly. IMHO, anyway.

02/24/2012 12:18 pm
Nine         

This is an excellent alternative to the treatment from the series -   Good Job. 

Thanks! Glad you liked it.

tipsytoes
03/10/2010 02:41 am
Nine         
totally loved this story.  I concur with the other reviews that say it so needs another sequel.  thanks for your writing, I too love the way your characters work. 
Thank you. I'm glad you liked this one too.  I have kind of started a sequel,  but it's going to be a long time before I do anything with it. Too many wip, ATM

11/28/2009 05:47 pm
Nine         
Wonderful fic! Very much enjoyed especially Buffy's realization of the inner core of a slayer. Will there be a sequel as Riley is still in town? He's chastized for now but for how long?
Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Sequel is a possibility, but not planned out right now. Obviously this is now a different world from the one we know as canon, so anything could happen.

SailorSayuri
11/22/2009 02:12 am
Nine         
I've just found this fic, and I absolutely LOVE it!!!!! ^o^
I fell in LO~OVE!!!! *giggle*
No more Captain Cardboard in Buffy's life! Yay! ^^
And I loved your idea about the Demontown and the fact that Giles, the Scoobies and Buffy acknoweldge the good demons, including vampires!!!!!!!!!!!! Double Yay!!!! ^W^
I REALLY want a sequel that will finish at the end of season 5....or 6! Don't care! As long as Joyce ends up alive, and that Buffy and Spike become a real couple.....and maybe even a mating claim!!!! *winkwink*
Hope to see you soon with a new story! (I hope it's a sequel, but if not.....*shrugs*) ^o^
Good luck for your next fiction!!!!! ^_~
Kissssssssssssss
Hee! Thank you for the enthusiastic review. I'm really glad you liked it.  I hope you enjoy the next one I post.

11/20/2009 06:21 am
Nine         
fine read, thank you.
Thanks for reading and commenting.

Ikepear
11/17/2009 11:34 pm
Nine         
What Shanna said, with the reservation that gender disqualifies me from a slight & ladylike hissy fit. Your tale is smart, funny, well-written & very entertaining.

I also enjoyed  your obvious affection & regard for your characters. Too many writers scribble with an axe to grind, to show how unworthy Angel is or that Xander is wicked & Buffy's a bitch etc.

Joss & ME bear much of the blame for this b/c in the last few seasons they, as Harrison Ford says to his old boss near the end of "Witness,"  "lost the meaning" & muddied things up.

I could gladly go a decade or two without reading any more of that stuff. This story is like a clean, sweet breeze, it's a triumph of mental health (Riley notwithstanding).

I look forward to more.

Congrats.

Ikepear
Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I do love the characters, although I'm not above exploiting some of their less stellar qualities if I need a "bad guy" in a story. Alas.  Fortunately, if I continue in this particular season V, Glory will make it unnecessary to demonize anybody we like.

Shanna
11/17/2009 06:37 pm
Nine         
Loved this sequel, however....you do know that you now must do a sequel to this sequel!!  It MUST be done!!  **has subdued and ladylike hissy fit**.  We need a follow-up to this wonderful building of friendship and caring.  We need the loving.  Preferably hot loving.  Oh yeah.
LOL Maybe the next time I'm in the mood for writing some pRon.   I'm glad you liked it.  Thanks for telling me so.

Dreylin
11/17/2009 12:04 am
Nine         
That was a nice and unexpected place to end the story.  I sort of like that it didn't leave everything resolved.  Not that a sequel wouldn't be great to see, but this is good too.  Leave room for imagination.
Thank you. I'm glad you don't feel it wasn't completed. Obviously, they will go on from here, but we can imagine it for ourselves.

Niori
11/16/2009 12:16 am
Nine         
I really enjoyed this.
I'm glad you saved the bite house vamps. I always felt bad for them  when Buffy went after them- they were the few vamps that were NOT causing trouble, and yet they were screwed over. I get why she did it (well, sort of, since I would have taken my anger out on the cheating boyfriend) but I always felt sorry for them, just like the one Riley staked.
*nods* I always thought it was a bit harsh of Buffy. Of course, she was jealous as well as freaked out by it, so we can cut her some slack, I guess.   Thanks for reading. )

Gill B
11/15/2009 03:43 pm
Nine         
I love your stories, SmS.  You're one of about four writers on this site that I rush to read updates from.  I love the way you take your time, put a slight skew on areas which are canon and craft your characters so well that I can hear the actors saying the lines (far more difficult than it looks, if some of the other stories on here are anything to go by LOL).  I look forward to the next chapters.
Thank you so much - both for your kind words, and for reminding me that I haven't marked it as "complete". I'm sorry about that. I can never seem to remember to go back and take it out of wip status. But, I'm glad you enjoyed it.

11/28/2009 05:19 pm
Eight         
I like this outcome for the bite houses better than canon. Also loved the plausible back story on Gina and Dixie.
Thanks. Glad you liked my version.

11/20/2009 06:13 am
Eight         
very entertaining read, thank you. the expecting young girl and her vampire was a great touch.
Thanks. You're the first reviewer (anywhere) to mention that, so I was beginning to worry it had gone right past everyone!

11/28/2009 04:57 pm
Seven         
Buffy is not exactly subtle..
Not her thing - subtle.

11/20/2009 06:01 am
Seven         
very good read, thank you.

11/28/2009 04:33 pm
Six         
Wonderful interlude with the girls. Tara can be way more perceptive than Willow.
*nods* Tara is quieter and spends more time thinking about others.

11/20/2009 05:41 am
Six         
another very good read, thank you. but that comes from someone who has "got that Y chromosome going for him."
oops? Sorry?

03/11/2013 05:53 am
Five         
I always hated Riley in the show I think he kinda of made it start going downhill
He had a role to play - but he was never for Buffy long-term.

11/27/2009 06:46 pm
Five         
Lots of revelations...very well done!
Thank you.

11/20/2009 05:21 am
Five         
please riley, don't listen to buffy. very good chapter, thank you.
Thanks for reading.

11/27/2009 06:33 pm
Four         
Spike's right with his assertion that Buffy lies too easily. Yep put it right in her face. But will she listen or brush it aside?
Oh, let's guess. lol It is Buffy, after all.

11/20/2009 05:11 am
Four         
good chapter, thank you. great line:  Somebody who appreciates what you are and loves you for it…not in spite of it.”
Thank you. I think it's an important distinction between Spike and Riley.

11/20/2009 04:59 am
Three         
like  your xander, which is more than i can say about canon xander. good chapter, thank you.
I'm glad you like him.  I think Xander had both good and bad qualities - so he is interesting to write and can be pushed in either direction, depending on the story.

Liza
11/19/2009 09:00 pm
Three         
Hooray for Xander!  I've always felt it was possible to celebrate ALL the good guys.    
I prefer Xander when he's being a nice guy, which he is most of the time.

11/27/2009 05:53 pm
Two         
This was so well written that you can cut the tension with a knife.
Thank you so much!

11/20/2009 04:45 am
Two         
fun read, thank you. enjoyed joyce's "What might have be seen?"
Hee!

11/27/2009 05:43 pm
One         
Buffy is a poor liar and when will Riley notice?
Sooner or later, he probably will.

11/16/2009 11:34 am
One         
 Goodie, goodie!  Reading on really quickly.  Housework - what is this word, housework?
Housework? Is that some language you learned in Africa?  Not familiar with it.

11/14/2009 11:34 pm
One         
Riley's turning into a right old woman.
LOL He is, in some ways.