Poppycock (formerly Dead Things fic) by slaymesoftly

Jags
10/20/2013 03:18 am
four         
Great! I hope there's a sequel
Thanks! Glad you liked it.  I suppose any of my season six fics in which Spike and Buffy end up together could be considered sequels. LOL  No plans to expand on this particular fic.

08/12/2013 07:23 am
four         
  Happy ending, I dug it, though season six is a tough season to write happy into if you stick to canonical events.

  One thing I noticed as I read a few stories in a row, is that you are a big believer in restorative sleep. (at least at this point of your writing, it's brought up at least once per story.) 

  Another fun story, I worry about the day I have nothing new of yours to read.
Well, when I first started writing, "fixing" unhappy season six was my main focus, so yeah - canon pretty much goes out the window.  I am very fond of sleep - perhaps that bleeds over? LOL On the other hand, it seems to be my canon/fanon that both vamps and slayers need the sleep in order for their extrordinary healing powers to kick in and do their job.

Jags
02/01/2012 01:12 am
four         
i always hated that scene. i love what you've done with it.
I'm glad! thanks for reading.

01/01/2009 09:46 pm
four         
Love the way you left Spike all gobsmacked. Ah, true love..
LOL - never expected that, did he? Thanks for reading and reviewing.

10/12/2007 01:32 pm
four         
Hey, this came up at the Random Fic on the webpage - and I'm so glad it did! What a sweet, sexy and just plain *better* ending to Dead Things!
hee! Thank you. Glad you liked it.

All4Spike
09/23/2006 06:13 pm
four         
Yup, it's all good. I hated the way they never resolved the issues raised in this episode... I think yours makes so much more sense, although Xander rescuing Spike from the alley, and then being so understanding of his relationship with Buffy does fall a little bit in the region of rather unlikely 'if onlys'...
LOL - well, every once in a while I like to give Xander a bit more credit than he's used to.

09/10/2006 11:18 pm
four         
the ending was perfect...so very sweet and tender...love it...that would have been so much better in the show, if she'd learned from what she did and helped him, instead of forgetting all about it...

Kelly
03/26/2006 09:22 am
four         
*in sing-song* She stayed She stayed La dee Da Dee Da *end sing-song* All through their romance I just wanted her to love him enough to stay!! Well Done!! Thank you ~ Kelly
Hee! She almost always gets a clue eventually in my fics.Thanks.

01/13/2006 10:07 am
four         
Ooh, I loved this! Great ending.
Thanks!

Lou
11/23/2005 05:35 am
four         
Just perfect.
Thanks!

11/22/2005 02:15 pm
four         
Really liked this one! -Lisa
Thanks. I'm glad you did.

11/20/2005 10:25 pm
four         
Tender, hurtful, anguished, loving - ye gods woman, you've played them and us like an accordion
Hee! Thank you.

11/20/2005 02:52 pm
four         
Oh loved this fic! It was wonderful.
Thank you

idk5743228
11/20/2005 10:03 am
four         
Hey, forget whatever silly title I may have come up with for this story. You don't need it. You could send this out with no title and it would stand by itself. I loved it; Spike was Spike, Buffy used her brains; and I'm not sure what planet Xander dropped in from, but I loved the new, I'm not a complete idiot, ask me how Xander. I was sad to see the story end, but the ending felt right. Thanks for a great one LOL Isabella
Thanks for the great review!

Opal
11/20/2005 05:34 am
four         
Great job! I really liked this fic. Short & Sweet, with a happy ending.
Thanks, Opal

~*~Tasha~*~
11/20/2005 02:34 am
four         
That was a very sweet ending to this one. That would have been one heck of a great way for it to have ended for real. Her finally coming to the realization of it all when she did that to him. Excellent story, Patti.
Thanks, I like to think she first began to realize he meant something to her at that point. Even in the show, she was nicer to him at her birthday party as though she'd reached some sort of comfort level with their relationship. Then Riley had to show up and blow it all to hell. Grrr

jane
11/20/2005 02:23 am
four         
Brilliant really good read.
Thank you.

01/01/2009 09:34 pm
Three         
So nice to see a decent reaction from Xander! 
*nods* I find that I tend to expect Xander to be decent in almost all of my season VI fics. I prefer him that way.

09/10/2006 11:12 pm
Three         
i love the difference in xander's behavior in this, so much more compassionate than in the show...poor spike...she really needs to make with the tlc, for sure
Yeah, it was kind of nice to have Xander's better side show for a change.

~*~Tasha~*~
11/20/2005 02:15 am
Three         
Oooo ... Xander knows. Now that was a nice twist. Loved the chapter. I almost thought it was Dawn or something. Didn't expect Xander, and I love that choice! {heads to the next chapter which looks like it is the last based on the fic now saying complete}
Thanks, Tasha

01/01/2009 09:19 pm
Two         
Really love your portrayal of Buffy's emotional state at that time. 
Thank you. I'm glad she seems "right" to you.

09/10/2006 11:06 pm
Two         
wow...that was dark and painful and intense, but beautifully done...an excellent chapter
thanks - DeadThings just lends itself to so many possibilities

jane
11/19/2005 04:34 pm
Two         
I really like it more please.
Thanks - more coming up.

sam
11/19/2005 12:02 pm
Two         
okay, i like your stories and everything, but i have to say that i don't really care for this one. first of all, this chapter was basically the same thing that happened in the episode. i was hoping you would have changed it more and not have him get beat up, i can't even watch this episode at all because of that part. it gets me so pissed off. buffy is still a bitch here and i was really hoping you would have made her better.
I'm sorry you're not liking it. I tried to give a little insight into Buffy's emotions and give Spike a little more sympathy for her internal termoil, but perhaps it isn't working the way I'd hoped. Not having him get beat up just wasn't an option -it is a very important event in their relationship. But I think/hope I give it a better outcome than on the show. Please read the next couple of chapters and let me know what you think.

~*~Tasha~*~
11/19/2005 09:09 am
Two         
Yep, definitely grim. Hope it gets Spuffy again soon. I mean yeah the balcony scene was always an awesome one in my book, but what followed what awful. I look forward to seeing where you take it.
It will get better. I promise!

05/09/2010 06:45 pm
One         
Love your version of this scene.  It explains Buffy's mindset.
Thanks. I'm glad you liked it.

alým
04/01/2008 11:00 pm
One         
Liked it...But,Poppycock...
LOL - needed a word - seemed like a good idea at the time.

09/10/2006 03:48 pm
One         
buffy's turn now, buffy's turn!!!
LOL

11/19/2005 11:54 pm
One         
I have to say that I love what you've done with the episode, especially Buffy's breakdown when she can't find Spike, and Xander's acceptance of the situation. Good job!
Thanks, AD!

11/18/2005 04:10 pm
One         
Ah, yes, Dead Things is certainly one of those eppies that begs you to play with it just a little bit more! I enjoyed this thoroughly. As for a title, how about "Safe Words"? Kinda lame, I know, but anyone who knows what it is will be immediately intrigued!
Well, it wasn't begging me! I didn't want anything to do with it, but that's the fic I was assigned, so.... Kinda giving up on the title thing. I think I'm going to stick with Dead Things Fic or something very close to that.Thanks for reading.

~*~Tasha~*~
11/18/2005 01:26 pm
One         
Liked the fic. Look forward to seeing Buffy's turn in the cuffs? Or is this the end?
Not the end, but the end of fun with handcuffs. Sorry! Buffy got her turn in them in enough other stories, this one is going somewhere else.

11/18/2005 12:31 pm
One         
Delicious! I'm really looking forward to his turn since I think he's had more experience and is very interested in bringing me . . . oops, her pleasure. WEG
Thanks for reading - hope you aren't disappointed with the direction the story takes.

idk5743228
11/18/2005 11:47 am
One         
I'm loving it so far. How about "Poppycock means never having to say you're sorry" for a title?
LOL - Not a bad thought! Thanks for the input and for the review.

Jenna
11/18/2005 11:14 am
One         
Very hot. And I liked the communication between them...very sweet.
Thanks - it's not often they have any good communication, is it?

11/18/2005 09:21 am
One         
I like it so far!
Thanks - I hope you continue to like it.