A Grain of Sand by Always_jbj

07/10/2013 04:45 pm
Chapter 21         
really enjoyed this...  nice little cherry on top getting alternative Spike fight for his Buffy too!  Was nice seeing Jenny and Giles...  I was surprised our Buffy didn't react to that a bit more...  seeing Jenny alive...  big deal.

Blue

Dawn
11/04/2011 07:57 pm
Chapter 21         
Love this story, just inhaled it! Point of fact...I love all you stories!
Awww...thank you! 

04/19/2011 01:30 pm
Chapter 21         
I just finished reading your fic and I really enjoyed it. Time travel and alternate universes are my favorites.
But I have a question: why the sudden end? Or are you planning on a sequel?

Kyra
05/29/2010 11:52 pm
Chapter 21         
This was a really fun read. Thanks for sharing it.
Thank you for reading! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Kyra
05/29/2010 11:52 pm
Chapter 21         
This was a really fun read. Thanks for sharing it.
Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

deb
04/19/2010 12:14 am
Chapter 21         
Loved the ending!  Also very impressed with the way you moved so quickly thru the action without it ever seeming jarring or rushed.  Wonderful story.
Thank you!

04/15/2010 11:42 pm
Chapter 21         
I'm so happy for for you! It must feel great to have completed this story. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks so much for sharing!
LOL Yep, it does! One wip down...far too many to go. *sigh*

I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

04/14/2010 02:56 pm
Chapter 21         
Thanks for a late night last night!

A really great fic, as always!

It was great to see the "what-ifs" ... and lovely to see Buffy realise what Spike had done for her over the years ... and left with a promise of a future for them.

Thank you - would love a sequal!
Thanks, honey. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Sorry, but I don't have any plans for a sequel (I have enough wips to finish as it is lol).

SeaPea
04/14/2010 06:00 am
Chapter 21         
What a surprise at the end!  They actually came to the NFA battle!   So that's what Dawn was taken for.  Thanks so much for finishing this.  Please don't hesitate to write some more Spuffy.  (I wouldn't mind seeing if NFA Spike takes Buffy's advice).
Yep, that's why she was taken. 

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed the ride, it was a fun story to write.

Don't worry, with the number of wips I have, there will definitely be more stories--I just can't guarantee how quickly. lol

04/13/2010 09:50 am
Chapter 21         
 Oh, so cute!  And yeah for Dawn, who got to save the day.
Thank you!

kim
04/13/2010 09:40 am
Chapter 21         
The end? Ooooo.
Hee! They popped up at the end of season 5 AtS. Didn't expect that, lol, but neat. And wow, Dawn and the demon were saving the universe.

Do we not get to see them home and stuff?
Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed the story, and that I was able to surprise you with the ending.

Nope, no more...I wanted to leave it with them in a good place and heading home together... but I am sure that the feelings and trust that they have developed over the journey will stand them in good stead.

04/13/2010 04:02 am
Chapter 21         
Glad they are getting together.  Really like the surprise of Dawn saving the world.  Thank you for a wonderful story.
Thank you for reading! I am glad you enjoyed it and liked the surprise ending.

Hobbituk
04/12/2010 10:28 pm
Chapter 21         
What a neat twist at the end!!!  It's been a pleasure to pick this one up again - I just read it right through as I wasn't sure if I remembered the beginning. 
Thank you! I am so glad you enjoyed it.

04/12/2010 12:59 pm
Chapter 21         
Wow! That was just the perfect ending! Now I'm going to have to go back and read the whole thing again from the perspective of it being a Buffy & Spike from a different dimension from 'ours' that set off searching for Dawn in the first place...
Thank you! I am so glad you liked the ending. I hope you enjoy the reread.

Fangfaceandrea
04/12/2010 10:48 am
Chapter 21         
XD  !!

...sad to see this end though.
Thank you!

04/12/2010 08:42 am
Chapter 21         
I loved the twisty ending, well done.
Thank you!

04/12/2010 04:10 am
Chapter 21         
Well this has been a long convoluted trip but I like the way you pulled everything together and kept up the pace throughout. 
I'm glad you've enjoyed the ride. Thank you for reading!

04/12/2010 03:38 am
Chapter 21         
I love a finished fic !!! This is a great ending and I'm going to have to go back and re-read the whole story now . I've always loved your writing so--thank you, thank you!
Thank you!

04/12/2010 03:05 am
Chapter 21         
WoW ! ! !

What a totally amazing twist at the end.   <3

I've been reading this story since the beginning, and it has been worth every second of eager anticipation for each new chapter to appear.

Thank you.  
Thank you! I'm so glad you've enjoyed the story.

04/12/2010 04:03 am
Chapter 20         
Aargh...so close and farther still... Great sense of tension in the tale.
Thank you!

04/01/2010 03:14 am
Chapter 20         
I am absolutely loving this story. 
It's exciting and enthralling and I can't wait for more

<3  <3  <3
Thank you!

03/25/2010 10:40 pm
Chapter 20         
Soooo very close to getting his "niblet".  Thank you for the chapter, keep up the awesome work.
So close, yet so far away. lol Thanks for reading.

jane
03/25/2010 01:39 pm
Chapter 20         
Great update, so near and yet so far. At least Dawn knows they're looking for her. Looking forward to more.
Thank you!

03/25/2010 01:15 pm
Chapter 20         
I always loved this story which I've only just refound since the fresh updates. So glad to see you're writing again! Looking forward to finding out why Dawn was kidnapped in the first place. Each reality they visit helps Buffy warm to Spike a little more - hopefully by the time they get home she'll be all heated up!
Thanks for your patience with my slow updates. I'm glad you've enjoyed the story. 

kim
03/25/2010 12:06 pm
Chapter 20         
Did Dawn not want to be caught?

How lucky to find a cabin with supplies when they did.....
Yes, very lucky.

03/25/2010 10:57 am
Chapter 20         
What an ordeal!  They are so close now...grrr
Very close...

Thanks for reading.

kim
03/18/2010 01:56 am
Chapter 19         
Off they go again, but this time with knew knowledge as well as hope. In a good place, they are, even if the Dawn search goes belly up.
Yes, at least they are in a good place emotionally... now let's hope they can find Dawn.
Thanks for reading!

03/17/2010 02:32 am
Chapter 19         
Maybe a little closer to the goal now.  Thanks again for continuing this story!
Thank you! Let's hope the new incantation helps!

Fangfaceandrea
03/16/2010 01:18 pm
Chapter 19         
Hot chapter!    but it's sad to see them part from this friendly world!!   Will be waiting for more
Thank you!
Yes, it was nice for them to be accepted, but findng Dawn is their highest priority so off they go again...

03/16/2010 10:18 am
Chapter 19         
Things are looking up!

They do seem to be.

Thanks for reading!

lisa
03/16/2010 02:45 am
Chapter 19         
I am so happy that you have updated this fic.  Please post the next chap soon.
Thank you!

Yep, as I said in last week's update, they should be weekly from now on.

03/14/2010 11:49 am
Chapter 18         
thank god i was afraid that you had abandend this story.  love your work.
Thank you, I'm so glad you like it.

03/11/2010 05:19 pm
Chapter 18         
No need to apologise, I've really enjoyed reading it again.  I'd forgotten how timid this Buffy is, I hope she loosens up a bit, her Spike is being a saint.
Thank you! I'm glad you've enjoyed the reread.

Buffy's getting there slowly...timewise this story began pretty early in S6, so she was still dealing with all the post-ressurection depression when Dawn was taken, and even though they've been on the move alot, not that much actual time has passed. 

LOL I don't know about saint, but he's doing his best. 

jane
03/11/2010 03:30 pm
Chapter 18         
Good to see an update, great fic. Can't wait to see these kids get together.
LOL Believe me, it's good to have an update to post!  Thanks for sticking with it. I'm trying to get back into the swing of things, but some days I'm lucky if I can manage to get five words down on the page.

Fangfaceandrea
03/11/2010 11:40 am
Chapter 18         
Yay More of this story!!! and some interesting info here
great chapter.
Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed the chap.

kim
03/11/2010 05:21 am
Chapter 18         
Hmm, he clammed up at the subject of blood, or at least otherDawn buying some for him.
I'm glad she's seeing the softer side of Spike, and its reflection in the otherSpike, too.
Something certainly set him off, didn't it?  Now poor Buffy just has to work out what. lol

Thanks for reading!

03/10/2010 06:34 pm
Chapter 18         
Thank you for continuing this after over a year!  I had given up checking for updates.  This is a very welcome tale!
Thanks for continuing to read!

I have no intentions of leaving any of my fics unfinished--unfortunately writer's block is a bitch, and even though I know where all my stories are going, getting it down on 'paper' is not always the easiest thing!

03/10/2010 12:33 pm
Chapter 18         
Ooooh one a week?!  I wil be checking back faithfully!!!  It was a wonderful surprise to find this this morning.  Thank you for continuing this story.
Thank you! I'm glad you're still enjoying the story.

I can guarantee once/week for the next two weeks at least, then I guess it all comes down to how difficult this last chap turns out to be. I'm struggling with it a little at the moment, but hopefully I'll have it done in time.

02/22/2009 11:44 pm
Chapter 17         
Thanks for leaving them in this dimension to mull over matters a bit. Hey, they might pay attention to their counterparts and learn a thing or two.
they might pay attention to their counterparts and learn a thing or two

LOL They might...

Thank you!

02/21/2009 05:47 am
Chapter 17         
Hum teasing a bit there Buffy! 

Love that Jenny is there to help smooth the rough Willow edges in the wording. 

Once more Buffy is getting pieces of the puzzle that is Spike. 

So happy to see this one again (yeah....I'm one to talk, I know).

Kathleen
I don't know that Buffy is teasing, she's just not in the right place emotionally to commit to a relationship...but she's getting there. And I think Spike would sooner have Buffy's affection and no physical relationshp, than the physical relationship with no affection that he got on the show.

Thanks for reviewing, sweetie.  I'm glad you are enjoying it.

02/21/2009 02:53 am
Chapter 17         
please give them a little more time here. buffy is seeing such possibilities. very good read, as always. thank you.
Thank you! I'm so glad you are still enjoying the story.

Yes, Buffy is seeing a lot that's opening her eyes, and she's also getting to spend time with Spike without the negative influence of her friends and watcher...

All4Spike
02/20/2009 06:20 pm
Chapter 17         
Tsk, we might have known the glitch was all Willow's fault. So, OurBuffy's loosened up sufficiently to suggest a goodnight kiss? About bloody time too!
LOL Well, our Buffy has had a lot more reason to be wary, of both Spike and having her heart broken than this world's Buffy--but she's getting there.

Thank you for reading and reviewing.

IT
02/20/2009 06:00 pm
Chapter 17         
"Or no goodnight kiss."  Squeeeee! 

Thanks for the update.
Thank you. I'm glad you are still enjoying the story.

peck
02/20/2009 01:49 pm
Chapter 17         
Wonderful to see an update!  Keep up the great work!
Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

I'm working on the next chapter, but not getting a lot of writing time at the moment.

kim
02/20/2009 06:47 am
Chapter 17         
He's in trouble with this girl, lol.
YAY, Jenny!  Good on you for pointing out Willow's lack of specific wording when it comes to spells. She never thought about what she literally said.
Thank you!

No, Willow wasn't all that careful about how she phrased things, was she? Hopefully Jenny has solved their problem for them.

11/20/2008 07:18 am
Chapter 16         
very good read, thank you. loved "Her head hurt,.."

Nova
11/17/2008 03:47 am
Chapter 16         
cool, I'll watch for the next chapter.

IT
11/15/2008 12:01 am
Chapter 16         
Ah, named after Giles' grandfather.  A funny twist on that is that my cousin William (yes, really!) is not named after my grandfather William, but after an old boyfriend of my mother's, whom my aunt thought was a really nice fellow (my grandfather forbade my mother to see him after finding out he was of a different religion and ethnicity - different time and place, but I hear stuff like that still goes on).  Anyway, my grandfather never knew about it.  I'm not even sure if my cousin knows.

Is Jenny going to find a way to magic out the chip?  That would be nice.

Thanks for the update.

Lea
11/14/2008 08:18 pm
Chapter 16         
I love the update! Thank you very much!

11/14/2008 06:06 pm
Chapter 16         
Buffy is souch a chicken!!  She's missing out on so much, I hope she realises.

kudagirl
11/14/2008 04:10 pm
Chapter 16         
So Buffy is seeing how things could be. It's a bit of an eye opener for her.

All4Spike
11/14/2008 02:27 pm
Chapter 16         
So OurBuffy's getting yet another much needed little lesson in acceptance by being able to directly compare the two Spikes and the different ways they've been treated. Yay!

11/14/2008 12:15 pm
Chapter 16         
Ooooh an update, love to see an update from you.  Poor Buffy, she is going to have to deal with the way she treats Spike.  She had better stock up on the excederin(haha).  Thanks again for all your hard work.

kim
11/14/2008 11:27 am
Chapter 16         
Ah, Buffy, ever in denial, LOL.

11/14/2008 07:57 am
Chapter 16         
 good good update soon

11/14/2008 12:31 am
Chapter 15         
Fun chapter and things have gotten very interesting.  I wonder what the purpose of this demon is in this story?  Why is it hiding?
All will be revealled...eventually. lol I'm glad you enjoyed the chap.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing--very much appreciated!

IT
10/31/2008 06:17 pm
Chapter 15         
“Please, ignore him, he’s such a...”

“Yeah, he is,” the other Buffy agreed with an affectionate smile. “And apparently it’s not just mine that is.”

“Oi,” the two Spikes protested in unison.

LOL  Well done.  And a little William?  Must be named after our favourite vamp, right?  Thanks for the update.
Thank you! I'm so glad you are enjoying the story.

We'll find out a little more about young William in the next chapter.

10/31/2008 09:52 am
Chapter 15         
So glad you are updating again.  We haven't lost interest, so keep them coming please.
Thank you! I certainly hope to keep them coming.

10/31/2008 12:02 am
Chapter 15         
Neat dimension here...this should be tons of fun.  Seems like there are many similar characteristics in the versions here (would love to hear how Jenny survived).

I am so glad you are updating this one. 

Excellent.

Kathleen
Thanks, Kathleen.
I'm glad you are enjoying the story. Events in 'Axis' changed the way Season two played out...so Jenny didn't die.

All4Spike
10/30/2008 10:28 pm
Chapter 15         
Very nice. You know I'm going to have to go and re-read Axis now, don't you? You're evil...
Thank you!
lol Evil? Me? *grin*

kim
10/30/2008 10:15 pm
Chapter 15         
Awww, LOL...these nice dimension visits are so cute!
Thanks, I'm glad you are enjoying the different dimensions.

11/14/2008 12:24 am
Chapter 14         
Always good to see Buffy gob smacked!  Faith does it all the time in whatever dimension...but Giles? 
LOL Yes, it's nice for Giles to have the chance to surprise her. Thanks for reading!

blarghums
10/29/2008 08:27 am
Chapter 14         
"more please" *whimper*
LOL The next chap is up. Updates will be every fortnight.
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

timeofchange
10/20/2008 03:41 pm
Chapter 14         
I'm so happy to see you picking up this story again.  I remember reading the first chapters when you initially posted them.
Thank you! I am so happy to be posting it again.

10/20/2008 03:36 am
Chapter 14         
spike and giles good friends. both spike and buffy might find this dimension eye opening. good chapter, thank you.
I think you may be right! lol Thank you!

kim
10/19/2008 06:51 am
Chapter 14         
Hmm, wonder what year it is there?  And isn't it nice that Buffy keeps ending up in places that accept Spike..
It's pretty much equivilent to when they left in their own dimension...only events have played out differently.
Only the last one and this one have been Spike friendly.  lol  But, yes, it is nice, isn't it? *grin*

10/19/2008 12:08 am
Chapter 14         
Interesting dimension.  My only complaint about it is that I found the last one interesting enough to want it to have a bigger part in the story.
Thank you!
I'm glad you enjoyed that dimesnion, but when it's time to move on...
If you'd like to read a little more about that dimension, you might enjoy my Wes/Faith ficlet Love Me Back to Life .

All4Spike
10/18/2008 10:31 pm
Chapter 14         
So OurBuffy's going to witness a bit of happy Spuffiness? Yipee!
I wonder what job Dawn doesn't want to do?
Thank you, I hope you continue to enjoy it.
LOL All will be revealed in time.

10/18/2008 03:18 pm
Chapter 14         
More, more, more please.  I am so glad that you are continuing this story.  Thanks for the wonderful new chapters.
Thank you! I'm glad you are enjoying it---more in a fortnight.

10/18/2008 03:07 pm
Chapter 14         
More dimensions than a rubik's cube - but this one looks more educational for Buffy.  Let's hope she takes the hint.
LOL Yep, there are a few dimensions, aren't there? At least so far they haven't ended up in the one with nothing but shrimp.

sirc
10/16/2008 07:48 pm
Chapter 13         
Well done!
Thank you!

10/11/2008 04:43 am
Chapter 13         
very happy to see this fun tale back. thank you.
Thank you!I hope you continue to enjoy it.

kim
10/10/2008 06:17 pm
Chapter 13         
Heh, perfect timing to move.

Aww, Buffy actually tried explaining......

Faith and Wes are very cute.
Thanks for reading and reviwing!

Buffy isn't good with words, but at least she is trying. And, yep...saved by the...um, amulet? lol

Thank you, I think Faith and Wes are kinda adorable too!

Sandra
10/09/2008 02:32 am
Chapter 13         
I love this story, please update soon!!!
Thanks. I'm glad you like it.

Updates will be fortnightly (see AN on this chapter).

10/08/2008 06:45 am
Chapter 13         
aw, man! cliffie! lovely story though, just found it and must say i love it!
Thank you! I'm really glad you're enjoying it.

Carol
10/08/2008 02:38 am
Chapter 13         
So nice to have an update.  Take your time and follow your muse.  I'm in no hurry. 
Thank you! It is really nice to be working on this fic again--I'd forgotten how much fun it is writing all the different dimensions.

IT
10/08/2008 12:12 am
Chapter 13         
Hey there.  Just read from the beginning.  Great fic!  I'll be watching for updates.  Thanks for sharing.
Thank you! I'm glad you have enjoyed the story so far.

I will probably be moving the posting day forward one day (to my Monday rather than my Tuesday) but other than that, I'll be back with more in two weeks unless a miracle occurs and I suddenly get a lot of writing done. LOL In which case I will post more often.

All4Spike
10/07/2008 07:06 pm
Chapter 13         
How great to find an update at last! I just love this fic. Love the playful Faith/Wes relationship. It's very clever, the way you're offering various alternative scenarios each depending upon a single different decision/event in each dimension. So they're off again...
Thank you. It's great to be writing again at last (even if it is very slow progress).

I'm so glad you are enjoying the alternate dimensions. There are so many points in BtVS (and in real life, I guess) where a single seemingly unimportant action or decision could make a huge difference to what follows...it's fun to explore.

10/07/2008 02:58 pm
Chapter 13         
Yikes!  Horny Lorne?  Poor Buffy.  I can think of better horny things...  Good to see you back.
Thank you!
lol Yep, you can see why Buffy needed the mental scrubbing. Poor Lorne, he's sweet, but...

10/28/2007 04:33 am
Chapter 12         
How Long you going to keep this one on hiatus really like it
Thank you. I'm glad you like the story.
As for how long before it is updated, I have no idea--as soon as I'm asble to write some more of it, I imagine.

louise39
06/23/2007 02:26 am
Chapter 12         
A Grain of Sand
'why the hell would one be risking exposure by kidnapping the Slayer’s kid sis?'
Why, indeed?
Eager for next...
Thank you! I'm glad you are enjoying. The next chap might be a little while as I am trying to concentrate on finishing Duty Bound first. (But you never know, the muse may decide he wants to play with THIS fic now--fickle creature that he is!)

03/12/2007 05:32 am
Chapter 12         
really like this so ar. hope you write more.
Thanks. I'm glad you are enjoying it. I definitely plan on writing more, once RL settles down a bit.

VioletRoze88
01/07/2007 01:40 am
Chapter 12         
Please update soon! This is really an intresting way to get Buffy to look at her life and start to appreciate Spike a little more. Lots o' love!
Thank you. I'm glad you are enjoying it. I'm sure both Spike and Buffy will learn alot about themselves along the way.

11/04/2006 02:28 am
Chapter 12         
very, very good read, thank you. bonus points for bringing in lorne. it will be fun to watch him tell buufy what she really wants.
Thank you! Yes, Lorne should be fun.

11/01/2006 05:25 am
Chapter 12         
ah, lorne...one of my favorites so glad you've introduced him to the mix...maybe he'll be able to shed a bit of light on buffy and spike's angst-fest...great chapter, looking forward to more
Thank you! Lorne should be fun (and interesting) to write. I was never a big AtS watcher so I'm a little nervous about writing him.

DizzyB
10/31/2006 05:44 am
Chapter 12         
Just found this story and fell in love with it. Oooh - all those different dimensions - the possibilities are limitless. Have fun with it! And I'll look forward to your updates.
Thank you! Yes, it is a fun fic to write. I hope to have more soon... if I can get a day of peace and quiet *glares at children* to sit down and write.

kim
10/31/2006 04:39 am
Chapter 12         
Aww...they were having that nice moment, and then she bails.

Lorne! Time to sing, kiddies....
They were...and she did. LOL... in her defence she's pretty confused right now.

Thank you for taking the time to review!

10/31/2006 01:47 am
Chapter 12         
Buffy with all the mixed emotions, I feel sorry for Spike being on the receiving end and with his confusion. I can really understand the frustration Spike and Buffy are dealing with and I loved how Faith took control and calmed them down. I am looking forward to them meeting Lorne, he is a favorite of mine. Thanks so much for the update, I enjoyed it.
Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Yeah...they both need a good talking to. Poor Buffy is as confused as Spike is, and she doesn't realise that she's hurt him so the fact that Spike is pissed with her is just confusing her even more.

I like take-charge Faith...lol. *wink* I'm sure she will sort them both out...or at least get them started towards working things out for themselves.

I only hope I can do Lorne justice. (I was never a big AtS watcher...am a BVtVS girl... so I feel a little shaky with the AtS characters.)

11/04/2006 02:21 am
Chapter 11         
very good read, thank you. this faith is a treat.
Thank you! I really enjoy writing Faith.

10/28/2006 10:07 pm
Chapter 11         
Faith is really a lot of fun and I like how she teases Buffy about her relationship with Spike. Thanks for the update, I enjoyed having a new chapter to this story.
Thanks! I'm glad you liked it... another chap should be along in a day or two (once my poor overworked beta gets a chance to look over it.)

10/28/2006 09:10 pm
Chapter 11         
awww...that was a sweet scene between them...excellently written scene between faith and buffy...faith could always read people well, she just had a tendency to use the information in bad ways... great chapter, very much looking forward to more
Thanks, sweetie. Faith and Buffy snark is fun...she's as good at pushing Buffy's buttons as Spike is. *grin*

Mandi
10/28/2006 08:56 pm
Chapter 11         
Great story! Don't know how I missed this one. Will be looking forward to more updates.
Thank you! There should be more in a day or two.

nightshift
10/28/2006 08:47 am
Chapter 11         
I always enjoy dimension travel fics. Especially when they're well written. Yours is, by the way.
Thank you! I'm glad you are enjoying it. I hope to have the next chapter ready in a day or two.

kim
10/28/2006 05:52 am
Chapter 11         
Whoa..he's in sunlight. That was a nice moment.

Love Faith and Wes here. They've been really cool.
Thanks, sweetie. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I quite like Wes/Faith together and have written them as a couple a few times.

Araedhel.
09/18/2006 11:24 pm
Chapter 10         
Loved it. More please.
Thank you. More will be along as RL permits.

~*~Tasha~*~
05/07/2006 01:08 am
Chapter 10         
Very sweet chapter. Nice update.
Thank you!

vladt
05/04/2006 11:07 pm
Chapter 10         
very good update. shame awake buffy doesn't act like asleep buffy. thanks for the fine read.
Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

jess
05/04/2006 08:45 pm
Chapter 10         
glad you're continuing this. I reallylike the idea.
Thank you. I'm glad I'm continuing it too LOL... I will never abandon a fic.. so don't worry... my muse, on the other hand, has no problem abandoning me for weeks on end. *sigh*

Now if I can just squeeze another update or two out of him before he takes off for Outer Mongolia again....

05/04/2006 07:20 pm
Chapter 10         
Good to see Buffy resting. What about Spike? More story please.
Thank you. Weel I'm sure Spike is resting too... and much better than he was earlier in his own room.

kim
05/04/2006 12:40 pm
Chapter 10         
LOL, now he's really not going to sleep!
LOL... I don't know... he might just sleep very well with an armload of nice warm, cosy slayer.

Robyn
05/04/2006 11:45 am
Chapter 10         
I like that Buffy asked Spike to stay, that she took comfort in him after her nightmare. Thanks for the update, I really enjoyed it.
Thank you. I'm SO glad you enjoyed the update.

Lou
05/04/2006 10:48 am
Chapter 10         
Sweet dreams - dimension exploration must be exhausting!
LOL... yes, dimension hoping, worry, being chased by bowmen, and not having slept well for a while as it is, certainly can take their toll. I'm sure with Spike there to keep the nightmares at bay she will sleep sweeter than she has since Willow dragged her out of heaven.

05/04/2006 06:21 am
Chapter 10         
very good chappie
Thanks, Pup! I'm glad you liked it.

louise39
06/23/2007 02:12 am
Chapter 9         
Started this fic tonight and it is intriguing...love the various dimensions. Poor Spike being shot with an arrow. Faith and Wes now post Chosen.
Where has Dawn been taken?
I'll go back to reading.
Thank you! I'm glad you are enjoying it.

~*~Tasha~*~
03/23/2006 09:41 am
Chapter 9         
Buffy blustering with the rooms comment ... too cute. You know those two are probably going to end up in the same room ... at least I hope they do ... even if it is only for the comfort of being near each other. Loved the update, and I look forward to more.
Thank you!


LOL... you may very well be right about those sleeping arrangements *wink*

Richard
03/21/2006 11:55 pm
Chapter 9         
This is a wonderful story with a great premise. I hope you continue it.
Thank you. i am glad you like it. I will be continuing all my wips once I have finished my reading for judging... unfortunately at the moment the considerable volume of reading I am having to do doesn't allow time for writing as well.

Robyn
02/27/2006 09:05 am
Chapter 9         
Thanks for the update, it was interesting to see how things could have been different in Chosen. I like the details that make each dimension different.
Thank you. Yes, little changes in what happened in each dimension can make a BIG difference to what WILL happen. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

02/27/2006 07:19 am
Chapter 9         
Hmmmm. It seems to me that it would be really stupid to sleep apart from Spike. They need to be together when the amulet lights up again. More story please.
Well, they only need to be near each other... it's not an instantaneous thing... and it doesn't actually transport them until they activate it... the only reason for the rush when it starts to glow is to follow Dawn as quickly as possible. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

vladt
02/27/2006 05:14 am
Chapter 9         
good update. glad we appear to be stopping in one spot for a pause to refresh. love the story. thanks
Thank you! They certainly could do with a breather, couldn't they?!

02/27/2006 03:40 am
Chapter 9         
Cute! I am surprised that Spike didn't pipe up and say A room! I like how you used the events from Chosen but switched them around in this dimension, could it be that they will be spending some time here? Please update soon!
LOL... he didn't need to say anything... I'd say his snorts alone were quite sufficient to make Buffy turn bright red! I'm glad you enjoyed it.. and it is amazing what a difference Spike's absence from the battle and the days preceding it made to the outcome... not only to the battle itself but to Buffy... In 'Touched' he gave her the confidence in herself that she carried with her into that battle, and that was what she needed in order to pull herself up after the sword to the gut and keep fighting.
Thank you! I'm glad you are enjoying this story.

02/26/2006 11:44 pm
Chapter 9         
great update! wow, great job fleshing out the details of some of the dimensions!
Thank you! Yes, some dimensions will be flying visits.. others will be longer and more detailed.

gaillee
02/26/2006 11:37 pm
Chapter 9         
Fine update. Looking forward to seeing what they will learn from being in this dimension. Thanks.
Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed the update.

02/26/2006 11:26 pm
Chapter 9         
LOL, rooms *smirk* give it up Buffy
LOL... grow up, pup! Thanks for reviewing, sweetness!

02/26/2006 09:42 pm
Chapter 9         
are they gonna be in this world for a while? that could be cool...i am very much enjoying this story, so many different possibilities!! great job
Thank you... they will definitely be in some of the dimensions for longer... but it would take all the fun out of it if I was to tell you which ones! lol. I am glad you are enjoying the fic. *sigh* It WAS supposed to be a short over in 10 chaps fic... *kicks muse*

kim
02/26/2006 08:42 pm
Chapter 9         
Ooooh, alternate glimpse into the future! This will be handy when they get back to their own time, and all.
Thank you! It MIGHT come in handy... but then that future may not happen... afterall they are changing events just by going on this journey. *the mind boggles*

~*~Tasha~*~
03/23/2006 09:28 am
Chapter 8         
Ooo ... Faith and Wesley now. I'm liking this dimension already. I'm dashing to the next chapter to see what you have in store for us here.
LOL... yes I like Wes/Faith it is in my opinion a good pairing and I thinnk tyhey would be very good for each other so I do tend to pair them together when I can.

I'm glad you are liking this dimension... our heroes might be here for a little while yet.

kim
02/26/2006 02:07 pm
Chapter 8         
Nice to find this story again!

Will we see what Dawn's going through soon?
Thank you. I am glad you are enjoying the fic.
I am actually planning on the whole fic being from Spike and Buffy's perspective... so until they find her they (and you) won't know if she is alright or what has been happening to her.

02/26/2006 03:07 am
Chapter 8         
Great story! It is interesting to see all the different worlds! I wonder why they ended up in Faith and Wes's world if Dawn wasn't there, maybe they need their help to find her or something. Am I right? please update soon!
Thank you! I hope to have the next chap up soon. And all will be revealled... in time.

Robyn
02/26/2006 01:45 am
Chapter 8         
This is a great story, I really like what I have read so far. Hope that you have a new chapter soon.
Thank you! I'm glad you are enjoying the story. I hope to have another chap very soon... then I must do some work on other wips.

gaillee
02/26/2006 01:35 am
Chapter 8         
Thank you for the superb update. I have been reading and reviewing this on your site. But, I am switching over to here, 'cause I can read everthing better here. Not that I mean to complain but the dark on dark for the reviewing is really difficult for me.
Thanks for the review... I didn't realise that the review forms on my site were dark on dark... I thought they were silver on black like the rest of the site... will have to batt my eyelashes at Dia and ask her to change it for me. Reviewing here is fine though... it is just nice to know that people are reading and enjoying a fic.

02/26/2006 01:16 am
Chapter 8         
Hee! New Sand chapter. Yay! Maybe they'll get to stay in this dimension for a while, huh? Spike needs to heal before he goes off again. (Nice save- backpackwise. LOL)
*Shhh...we're not mentioning the backpack* lol. Glad you liked it... the next chap is well underway but the need for sleep won out over the need to write so lets hope the muse wants to come to the party again today.

vladt
02/25/2006 09:51 pm
Chapter 8         
you are evil. evil. evil. way to short. need MUCH bigger portions of this tale. thanks for the fun read.
LOL... Evil? Me? Nah! Thanks for the review I'm glad you are enjoying it. It feels weird writing these small chapters but when I started the fic I decided that they would be short (approx 1000-1200 words) in order to give the fic a fast-paced feel.

Tamara
02/25/2006 08:44 pm
Chapter 8         
It makes sense that everything messed up because Angel wore the amulet. His sol was a curse not freely earned and therefore not his to do what he wanted with it , like use it to save people.
Thank you for the review.

02/25/2006 08:23 pm
Chapter 8         
loved this update...finally they found someone who'll actually help them...spike and buffy's banter is hilarious and very well done...can't wait for next update
Thank you! I'm glad you are still enjoying the fic. I always enjoy writing dialogue and Spike and Buffy's banter, depending on the season and where their relationship stands at the time, can be a lot of fun.

02/25/2006 06:49 pm
Chapter 8         
Wow! An AU story with multiple AU's. I hope Faith and Wesley can do something to help them although the dimension hopping seems to be educational. More story please.
Yes they do seem to be learning things along the way, don't they? More will be along as soon as the muse feels inclined to cooperate. Thanks for the review.

02/25/2006 05:13 pm
Chapter 8         
LOL, very good chappie

Al Always
Thanks pup! I aim to please.

~*~Tasha~*~
03/23/2006 09:24 am
Chapter 7          
Those two are hopping around fast. It was funny to have them running from a several hundred year old archer. I found irony in that for some reason.
lol... some of the 'worlds' will be flying visits... others will be longer.

It was funny to have them running from a several hundred year old archer.

And then there is the indignity of Spike having been almost killed by a child! *pets poor Spike!*

Thank you! I'm glad you are still enjoying the journey.

vladt
02/25/2006 08:52 pm
Chapter 7          
where/when to now? love it. thanks
Thank you.

02/16/2006 02:58 am
Chapter 7          
LOL, Faith? Hell smack her too. I love this fic you know that, right
Smacks pup around the ear! *Faith asked me to*

02/11/2006 07:04 pm
Chapter 7          
oh wow!!! great cliffhanger!!! I don't know how old this story is, are you still writing it? I really hope so cause I wanna know what happens!! More please!!!! *down on knees*
LOL *joins you on knees* I have a VERY recalcitrant muse who thinks it is amusing to write half a chap of something and then decides he wants to work on one of the other fics.
Seriously between RL, betaing, running an LJ community, and all the other fics I have on the go as well updates are not as frequent as I would like. But I would NEVER abandon a fic, so YES it will be being updated and the next chap is half-written.

Richard
11/17/2005 08:22 pm
Chapter 7          
Very good setup. What I'm really hoping for is that they've got no way home (kinda like Sliders) and have to decide to settle somewhere once they find Dawn. This last scenario (English devils) has great potential for amusement and WTFs. :
Thank you I am glad you are enjoying it. As I already have the ending plotted out I am afraid I won't be taking suggestions, however I do hope you continue to enjoy the story.

11/13/2005 05:01 pm
Chapter 7          
Yay! Faith makes an appearance. Just found this story today, and read up to this point. Can't wait to see more. -Lisa
I'm glad you are enjoying it! It might be a little while before the next update on this one as I am working on finishing off 'Dreams' at the moment... but I do hope to get back to this fairly soon.

10/05/2005 07:44 pm
Chapter 7          
WExcellent update but rather short (smirks) I love it
LOL... it is meant to be short! I am aiming for around 1000 - 1200 a chap... keeps it fast paced... unfortunately sometimes the muse disagrees with me! *sigh*
Besides it could be a 20 000 word update and YOU would complain that it's too short! *rolls eyes*

sue
10/05/2005 05:46 pm
Chapter 7          
Wow! A quick Welsh trip and then Faith. It's all happening thick and fast. Love the pace. Love the quick updates. Looking forward to more. Thanks.
Thanks. I am trying to set a quick pace with this one... I do hope to have another update soon, although I am working on updating a different fic at the moment.

MarzBar
10/05/2005 04:38 pm
Chapter 7          
Exciting story! When and where are they with Faith and will she help or hinder? Evil cliffie here so please, give us more soon.
Thanks! I'm glad you like it! lol... Clifhanger... me?? *blinks* I would NEVER do that! lol. Sorry... blame the muse... he IS evil, you know.

Franchesca
10/05/2005 10:37 am
Chapter 7          
Great story... sorry if I haven't reviewed so far. I can't wait to see where they landed with Faith. I really like how fast paced this is... you've developed a great storyline for just zipping the plot along. Very exciting.
Thank you. I had always intended this fic to be very fast-paced so I am glad that for the most part I am succeeding.
Sometimes the muse and I disagree over these things... but he is mostly cooperating! lol.
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

10/05/2005 09:38 am
Chapter 7          
dang, cliffhangers everywhere!! update soon.
Cliffhangers? Cliffhangers are evil... oh, hang on, I am evil!! lol... sorry (not).

~*~Tasha~*~
10/05/2005 08:31 am
Chapter 7          
egads ... Spike the pin cushion. Good thing he didn't dust. Nice to have Ch. 6 and 7 posted at the same time. Enjoyed the updates. Look forward to more. I wonder where they landed now since Faith is there.
LOL... actually it was 2 seperate updates... they just happened within about 12 hours of each other. The muse went on a bit of a writing spree on this one.
I am glad you are enjoying it... and don't worry Spike's tough... he can handle being a bit of a pin-cushion. lol.

10/05/2005 07:49 am
Chapter 7          
Urgggg what are you doing to me...and to Spike...using him as a pincushion. Great updates two in a row...does this mean your muse is on a roll? *looks hopeful*. I love this fic and will wait (im)patiently for more.
He's a big boy... he'll survive!
Hmmm... it means he was on a roll... doesn't necessarily mean he still is! *sigh* The joys of a fickle muse!

~*~Tasha~*~
03/23/2006 09:21 am
Chapter 6          
Wow, this Buffy really had a hard life. Amazing how Spike being killed earlier changed everything. Wonderfully written.
Yes, I feel very sorry for that dimension's Buffy... she really did have a hard and loveless life. It just goes to show how important Spike has been in 'our' Buffy's life. I wonder if she is realising that?
Thank you for reading and reviewing!

vladt
02/25/2006 08:48 pm
Chapter 6          
you're spinning a fascinating tale. thanks for the read.
Thank YOU for the review! I am very glad you are enjoying the story.

02/16/2006 02:56 am
Chapter 6          
Oh shit poor Dawnir

But smack Buffy again, please???
Come and see the violence inherent in the system....

02/11/2006 07:01 pm
Chapter 6          
good...bye to nasty Slayer alter ego...love the way Spike and Buffy are bonding through this and she's figuring out slowly but surely that being soulless or not is not the be all and end all for him...he's the same either way... loving your story so much...on to next chapter
I'm so glad you are continuing to enjoy this. Yes, having to depend on each other in order to rescue Dawn is allowing them to learn more about each other and do some much needed bonding. And Buffy meeting her not-so-nice self alloeed her to see where her life would have gone if she hadn't made that truce with Spike.

sue
10/04/2005 10:47 pm
Chapter 6          
Yippee! More of your excellent fic. Seems to have been a long (but very worthwhile) wait. What a great chappie. So glad that they are now leaving though. Not a good place to be, for any of them. Will be looking out for the next chappie, whenever. Thanks so much.
Thank you! I am so glad that you are enjoying this fic. No it wasn't a very good place to be.
The next chapter is up now. I hope you continue to enjoy it. Thank you for reading and reviewing!!

~*~Tasha~*~
03/23/2006 09:19 am
Chapter 5         
Some believe that for every action or reaction to any situation ... or any choice ... there is another place/time/dimension that spins off. The possibilities would be endless. Nice work with the characterizations in this one.
Thanks! Yes there are limitless dimensions out there... finding Dawn isn't going to be an easy task.

02/16/2006 02:54 am
Chapter 5         
LOL, hit Buffy again spike. Hell hit both of them you can outrun them
Bloodthirsty little pup aren't you?

02/11/2006 06:57 pm
Chapter 5         
hmmm...this other Buffy could be a problem...yeah, i can see why Buffy's be a little freaked out by the whole situation...poor Spike though...hope they can work that all out between dealing with the other Buffy and finding Dawn... love this story
Yeah, Buffy was a little freaked, but without the Scoobs there to egg her on and play on her doubts and insecurities she actually listens to what Spike has to say and thinks about it.

09/25/2005 09:33 pm
Chapter 5         
More (cue pitiful whining and puppy eyes)
Yeah yeah... working on it!! I have had a VERY busy month *kicks RL*

~*~Tasha~*~
03/23/2006 09:15 am
Chapter 4         
Spike was always the valiant one to want to protect the women he loved. Glad to see that the chip doesn't work either. Now we don't have to worry about them running into more trouble with humans. Looks like they found an alternate dimension.
Thanks, Tasha. Yeah, there's not a lot Spike wouldn't do for someone he loved, even if that meant pain for himself... as demonstrated by his enduring Glory's torture.

02/16/2006 02:52 am
Chapter 4         
LOL, hit her again Spike
You enjoyed that WAY too much, pup!! lol

02/11/2006 06:37 pm
Chapter 4         
hmmm..he seemed to enjoy that an awful lot...lol...some pent up aggressions much? at least they managed to keep the other not-so-pleasant Buffy from killing them
He did enjoy that a little too much didn't he! In his defence it was more the being able to hit than WHO he was hitting that he enjoyed.

09/25/2005 09:29 pm
Chapter 4         
kool
Thanks!

~*~Tasha~*~
03/23/2006 09:13 am
Chapter 3         
I can just imagine Buffy and Spike pacing and needing to beat up on something to pass the time. Neither of them was very good with the wait or research time. They are people of action. Good chapter.
Yes they are definitely both people of action. Thank you, I'm glad you are enjoying.

02/16/2006 02:50 am
Chapter 3         
Giles is a bloody idiot too

Damn good chappie
Thanks puppy! Yes, sometimes Giles can be an idiot... fortunately MOST times he gets over it reasonably easily.

02/11/2006 06:33 pm
Chapter 3         
I am sooo ready for them to be away from the stupid Scoobies! They never appreciated all that Spike did to help them, protecting Dawn and all...grrr... you've succeeded in getting my dander up lol...on to next chapter
LOL... I'm glad I'm not the only one who gets all worked up over the way the Scoobies treated Spike.

09/25/2005 09:26 pm
Chapter 3         
damn good chappie, see I am reading and reviewing
Yes you are!! *squishes you* thanks for reading it puppy... and I am glad you are enjoying it.

10/31/2006 09:46 am
Chapter 2         
You go Ahn. Yeah, they may not like it, but who else is going to go. They can't just leave her there. Together, she and Spike can do anything. Wish I could read more but I'll get back to it later, great chapter, love this new adventure.
Thanks, sweetie. I'm glad you are enjoying it so far.

You're right... there's not much that Spike and Buffy can't do when they work together.

Thank you for reviewing... take care, and we'll see you soon! *hugs*

05/04/2006 08:40 am
Chapter 2         
i really like this.. i really really do!! i cant wait for more..!!!
Thank you! I'm really glad you like it.

~*~Tasha~*~
03/23/2006 09:10 am
Chapter 2         
Evil cliffie there. {heads to the next chapter}
Cliffie?? Me? No... never! lol

02/16/2006 02:46 am
Chapter 2         
Willow is such a dweeb, but you knew that Great chappie
Thanks pup!

02/11/2006 06:30 pm
Chapter 2         
ok, hooked now can't wait to see where they end up, irritated with the Scoobies and their stupid suspicion of Spike, hoping that maybe the time together without the Scoobies will bring these two closer...on to the next chapter!
The Scoobies always annoyed me with their pigheaded suspicions. Thanks for reviewing.

09/25/2005 09:17 pm
Chapter 2         
kool, I likes it
I'm glad you like it! *hugs*

The Lady Meow
04/01/2010 05:52 pm
Chapter 1         
Congratulations! You've been rec'd!

The Reader's Have Chosen is a fanfiction recommendation community dedicated to finding the best of the best in fandoms across the boards, and sharing them with other authors and avid readers.

Your story, "A Grain of Sand", has been rec'd and is now being voted on in the Monthly Poll: Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Fellow fandom-aficionados will vote for their favorites of all the recommendations, and the stories with the most votes will be posted on the front page.

You can find our website at (without spaces): http : // thereadershavechosen . eternflame . com You can find the Buffy Monthly Poll at (without spaces): http:// thereadershavechosen. eternflame. com/ forum/ index. php? topic= 1596.0
Thanks.

11/02/2008 06:18 am
Chapter 1         

This is a great first chapter; it really hooked me and made me curious as to what will happen next!  And you have great insight into what makes the characters tick: your reasons for why Buffy didn't tell her friends why she was upset about coming back, Spike's grief when Dawn disappeared, and your really thoughtful line about the two sides of Buffy when you wrote "calming her enough that he was able to break through the grief that gripped the girl to reach the slayer within."  You really have a way with words--and ideas!

Thank you for the lovely review (and the email). I do hope you continue to enjoy the story!

10/31/2006 09:24 am
Chapter 1         
Wow, someone grabbed Dawn, but she's got Spike and he'll do everything in his power to find her. Yup, Willow is up to it, isn't she! Interesting beginning. Looking forward to reading it, thanks.
Thank you! Yep, Spike and Buffy will do whatever they have to in order to get her back.

~*~Tasha~*~
03/23/2006 09:08 am
Chapter 1         
I could have sworn that I read this one before. Somehow there isn't a review from me though. {shrieks} can't have that. Good start to it. With everything else that happened to Buffy in Season 6, losing Dawn would drive her over the edge. Glad she had Spike with her.
Thanks, Tasha. Yes, losing Dawn for good would have been too much for her to cope with.

02/16/2006 02:44 am
Chapter 1         
Oh yeah calling forth the calvery
LOL... yep... the cavalry comes in handy sometimes.

02/11/2006 06:26 pm
Chapter 1         
i'm loving this story already, very well-written, the emotions are portrayed perfectly...poor Dawnie! I want to see what happened to her! on to the next chapter!
Thank you, I'm glad you like it.

09/25/2005 09:14 pm
Chapter 1         
Good beginning
Thanks pup!