Loves Lost by slaymesoftly

04/09/2015 06:03 am
Five         
Sure, it wasn't Spuffy, but who cares? It was a fine, dramatic action piece, with good characterization, and a damn good read.
Thanks. I'm glad you liked it. And the series does get steadily Spuffier, but this one-off is just about Buffy and the terrible things that could have happened to her.

Jags
02/04/2012 07:38 pm
Five         
that was realy good. you should do dark more often
Thank you. Not usually my thing. This was an experiment. Although I was pleased with it...

Jags
07/19/2010 07:26 pm
Five         
That was really good. Keep it up!

Thank you.

tipsytoes
03/10/2010 06:56 pm
Five         
thanks 
You're welcome. Thanks for reading.

spuffy chick
10/15/2009 07:14 am
Five         
good thing there's a sequel 'coz this is reaaally good!..i'm gonna go read the next one now...
three sequels. lol Enjoy!

10/22/2008 03:18 pm
Five         

Great story.I'm not normally a reader of really dark fan fic but this one caught my interest and I'mgladit did. you dealt with the rape and the deaths in a really sensative way and i'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

Thanks. Hope you enjoy the rest of them. It was something a bit new for me, so I am always pleased to know someone thinks it worked.

11/13/2007 04:52 am
Five         
Gah! Teh angst, teh angst. *weeps* *eagerly runs off to the second part* LOL!
LOL Second part isn't all that scanty with teh angst...

Emily
04/23/2007 04:17 am
Five         
I am rereading this series since it has been finished in its entirity. I just want you to know how strongly you are able to evoke emotions from simply writing; it truly is impressive. Thank you for this work, and I cannot wait to continue on.
Thank you so much. I'm glad you're enjoying them - I hope they all hold up for you the second time around.

smlcspike
02/19/2007 06:26 pm
Five         
Oh I love it.

01/14/2007 09:22 am
Five         
That was great! I really didn't think she could kill him but she did. Seeing how caring he was for her and the love that he had for his Drusilla, will no doubt force her to rethink everything Giles had ever told her about vampires, at least this blond vampire, anyway. Good thing the fire destroyed the tape that recorded her attack. Xznder might have kept it to watch, the little perv. Glad you have two more completed fic's to read. I really like it and looking forward to seeing where their relationship goes from here. Thanks sms.
Thanks so much for reading. I hope you like the rest of them.

All4Spike
09/24/2006 03:09 am
Five         
You do realise your stories are getting better and better don't you? I do love a spot of Ripper... and adding Ethan Rayne and Angelus into the mix... inspired. I'm off to find the sequel...
*g* Thank you.

Emily
08/16/2006 02:56 am
Five         
Although this might be the 4th time ive read this story (at various archives) it makes me cry everytime. Great touching story, I am more impressed each time i read it. Good jo.
Thank you. That makes me feel great!

Niamh
06/28/2006 10:08 pm
Five         
And this one ended with such a bang. . . . Angel gone, Drusilla gone and Spike alone amid the ruins.

This one hit all the right notes. Well done.
Thank you. I'm so glad you liked it.

06/06/2006 09:26 pm
Five         
Just wow - even the second time through just wow - incrediable story Patti I am amazed at the tale and emotion you wrought in just five chapters. Looking forward to the sequel greatly~!
thanks, I'm glad it held up for you on the second read.

05/22/2006 08:10 am
Five         
So dark, and then quite a quip for an ending. Looking forward to the sequel. So glad she saved him.
Thanks for reading.

Robyn
05/21/2006 08:55 pm
Five         
What an amazing heartbreaking fic. Although Buffy couldn’t exact more vengeance on Angelus at least she was able to look him in the eye when she staked him, and what a way for Dru to go. I like how Spike continued to protect Buffy’s dignity even after her rescue. Now onto the sequel.
I'm glad you liked it. Not a happy ending for anyone, but at least our two main characters survived.

05/20/2006 07:16 am
Five         
wahoo, now i get to read the first part of the sequel! I loved this fic, but then, I love all of your stuff!!
Hee! Dennis is alive and well...

05/20/2006 07:16 am
Five         
wahoo, now i get to read the first part of the sequel! I loved this fic, but then, I love all of your stuff!!

05/20/2006 07:16 am
Five         
wahoo, now i get to read the first part of the sequel! I loved this fic, but then, I love all of your stuff!!

05/20/2006 07:16 am
Five         
wahoo, now i get to read the first part of the sequel! I loved this fic, but then, I love all of your stuff!!
Thanks! Glad you liked.

03/24/2006 09:54 am
Five         
This is a wonderful, dark story. I look forward to the much Spuffier sequel. Thank you for sharing.
Sequel is definitely Spuffier, although still not all roses and wine.

03/24/2006 06:07 am
Five         
great job, Patti! wonderfully dark fic! Some many emotions for one chapter! And oohhhh sequel! lol
The sequel isn't quite as dark, but still not happy-Spuffy. I guess there will need to be a sequel to the sequel. lol

03/24/2006 12:50 am
Five         
wow...this whole story was incredible and i absolutely cannot wait for the sequel!!!! i can't wait to see what happens next!! the end was heartbreaking, poor spike....fitting end for drusilla, poor mad thing.... and for angelus too, though it could have been a bit more painful great, great story!!!
Angelus pain would have been good, but it just didn't work out. Buffy gets a bit tougher in the sequel, though...has her spot of vengeance.

vladt
03/24/2006 12:39 am
Five         
very good read. glad to see sequel is on the way, this tale screams to be continued. thanks for the read.
Thanks for the regular reviews. Sequel soon.

03/24/2006 12:26 am
Five         
Can't wait for the sequel, Patti.
Just waiting for C to start sending chapters back to me.

11/13/2007 04:50 am
Four         
Gotta love Spike for taunting the big guy even as helpless as he is.
Yep, just can't control that mouth sometimes.

01/14/2007 08:49 am
Four         
What a way to start a truce! Sometimes I forget that Angel never ate any food, I bet it was a bit of a surprise to see that this vamp does. So this is all about Giles, it's going to kill him when he see's the tape. Not looking forward to the next chapter. It's going to shatter her world. Now she get's to see for herself just how differnet this two vampires are. Excellent chapter, thanks.
Well, it was written for Good Giles/Bad Ethan month, so he has to be a big part of it. But somehow Buffy manages to remain centerstage. lol

Niamh
06/28/2006 07:26 pm
Four         
Ahuh. . I so would have made him stop, just like she did.

I swear, I would. Really.

Not buying it are you?

Didn't think so.

Okay, so I'd never let him stop. . . .
ROFL

06/06/2006 09:19 pm
Four         
poor spike and buffy - unlikely allies but they will need each other to escape from Angelus and his devious plans. Great update!

05/22/2006 07:52 am
Four         
Sweet Spike, even if he is trying to disguise it as being completely self serving. A bit of a lighter part to a dark story. Loved it.
I'm glad you're liking it.

Robyn
05/21/2006 08:37 pm
Four         
Poor Buffy and Spike having no escape from Angelus. I like that Spike realizes that the best way of getting rid of Angelus is Buffy, and the advice and help he is giving her. The chocolate chip cookies were a nice touch. Ethan must really have something against Giles to be getting this much enjoyment out of his pain.
Hee! You need to go to her site and read some of Always_jbj's Gethan ficlets.

05/20/2006 06:50 am
Four         
Now how did I miss this one? And damned if i'm glad I did so now I have lots to read!!

vladt
03/23/2006 08:04 pm
Four         
excellent update. they are both starting to be confused. thanks fot the read.
Thanks.

Lou
03/23/2006 04:48 pm
Four         
More please - I likeee!
more soon

03/23/2006 03:54 pm
Four         
Oh my, poor Buffy, loved the spike/buffy interaction during the beginning, and despite the obvious ick factor of what had happened, the last scene was both touching and sexy! great job!
thanks, Karyn.

03/23/2006 02:29 pm
Four         
poor buffy. Her life is really sucky right now. And so is Spike's.
yep, giant suckfest - and not in a fun way!

03/23/2006 02:26 pm
Four         
poor poor buffy...and spike, too...angelus deserves to suffer and die in agony...awesome story though, just heartbreaking
"just heartbreaking" Oh, goody! It's working! LOL Thanks lj.

11/13/2007 04:39 am
Three         
*grumbles at Giles* He really does need to get a clue.

Uh oh... Ethan. That can't be good.
Nope - very not good

01/14/2007 08:28 am
Three         
A trap for Giles no doubt. Stupid, stupid Buffy. Now she'll pay the price as well as her watcher. Didn't think they'd be working together, nice twist. Definately not canon. Excellent read, thanks.
thanks

Niamh
06/28/2006 07:02 pm
Three         
You know, no one has ever explained that little plot glitch in the Whedonverse. If Angel didn't love Buffy without a soul, just how could Spike love Drusilla for a 100+ years. And you can't argue that it wasn't love, because as you've clearly stated here, Spike laid his unlife on the line more than once to save her. . .

I do like Giles' response to her though, when she asks "what's wrong with me?"

Thanks - yeah, they never did explain how Buffy could use Spike's feelings for Dru to save a room full of humans and yet, when she had him, she could insist that he couldn't love her because he didn't have a soul.

Giles gets to be cool here - because he's such a git later on. lol

06/06/2006 09:13 pm
Three         
growls at ethan - you really know how to write an evil ethan and good giles - excellant portrayal of characters!
Thanks

05/22/2006 07:37 am
Three         
Did the child get away? A bit of a mystery I suppose. Poor girl, a dark thing all of Ethan's magic. Great chapter.
thanks

Robyn
05/21/2006 07:59 pm
Three         
I really liked the question Buffy posed to Giles about Spike's ability to love, and although he didn't have a proper response I like how he tried to tell her that Angelus’s reaction to her wasn’t because of her. As for what’s going on with Ethan and Angelus working together, I’m just really glad I don’t have to wait for the next chapter.
Nope - that's the great thing about finished fics - it's all there. Thanks for the regular reviews.

03/23/2006 05:56 am
Three         
ACK!!! I guess this will help Buffy's IQ rise somewhat. Unfortunate it will take such horror for the result. Good to know she's still being fed full of BS by Giles and the Wankers' Council programming. I can tell this is not a nice story but I want more please.
Not a nice story, unfortunately, but the important people survive.

vladt
03/23/2006 05:19 am
Three         
compelling start. looking forward to more. thanks for the fine read
thanks. more soon.

03/23/2006 05:09 am
Three         
oh god no! *hides eyes again* i'm such a weenie..lol...promises to open eyes for next chapter!
LOL It gets worse before it gets better...

03/23/2006 04:16 am
Three         
Please, give me more!!!!
More coming soon.

03/23/2006 03:51 am
Three         
oh no.....i hope maybe she and spike can manage to somehow work together to defeat angelus...great, great story so far, loving it
Thanks - hope you continue to like it.

03/23/2006 03:48 am
Three         
Bad Ethan. Bad, Bad Ethan. Great chappy.
Ethan is a sleeze-ball.

11/13/2007 04:38 am
Two         
Ya know, I love Angelus, but I hate when he heckles my boy. *grumble*
He's a jerk about Spike - jealous.

01/14/2007 08:19 am
Two         
Nope won't take Angelus long at all to fall right back into their familiar family routine. Dru was his and he hated his grandchilde. Very well written. Great chapter, thanks, sms.
Thanks for reading and reviewing.

Niamh
06/28/2006 04:22 pm
Two         
Just brimming with sympathy aren't they? From Giles, who is completely ignoring the fact Buffy is only 16 and he's asking her to kill someone she loves to Drusilla, who is ignoring the one person who cared for her for a very long time. Never expected anything resembling sympathy from Angel, so that's just typical behavior from him. Good chapters. . .

And now onward
thanks!

06/06/2006 09:12 pm
Two         
Poor spike - I know he is tecnhically still evil - but he always felt so much emotion! I love this chapter two and can;t wait to read more.
technically evil, but still a sweetie pie

05/22/2006 07:32 am
Two         
Poor Spike. Not fun things to bare witness too. Great chapter.
thanks

Robyn
05/21/2006 07:31 pm
Two         
You really did a great job in this chapter of showing Willow's growing attachment to magic, Giles recognizing that he has a responsibility to help her with it (hopefully he will follow through), and after everything Spike has done for Dru, her poor treatment of him.
Thanks - all things that should have been addressed in the show (IMHO)

03/23/2006 03:48 am
Two         
very good! poor spike! looks at summary 'character death' eck! *hides eyes*...lol
LOL - depending on who your favorite characters are, you shouldn't have to hide them too much.

03/23/2006 01:35 am
Two         
Ugh, Hate Angelus torturing Spike like that, even if Spike is a big bad vampire.
Well, we know which vamp is the most evil, don't we?

03/23/2006 01:23 am
Two         
grrr...hate angelus...poor spike...hope he gets better soon...great fic, can't wait for the update!!
Angelus is NOT a nice guy in this fic. LOL Not that he ever is, but, he really picks on Spike here.

11/13/2007 04:37 am
One         
Was trolling my fic recs and thought, hmmmm, haven't read this in a while. Then I remembered I hadn't read your last part of this yet. So, this is me rereading... and reviewing. ^_~
LOL - and reviewing and reviewing. Thank you!

smlcspike
02/19/2007 05:28 pm
One         
I look forward to reading another one of your stories.
Thanks. I hope you like!

01/14/2007 08:11 am
One         
I can't believe I missed reading this series. Wondering what Ethan want's with Angelus or just want's to wreck havoc on Giles and the scoobies, probably the latter. Young foolish Buffy's going to somethings the hard way, isn't she? Hey, people talk to me and I just turned 55, so age, no biggie here. Great way to start a fic, thanks.
Hmmm. A mere child of 55? LOL Thanks for reading. I hope you like the whole series.

Mrs Muir
08/03/2006 02:33 am
One         
Your Angelus gave me chills. Poor Buffy, having to deal with Angelus and her dense mother. What a lot in life!
Thanks - I wanted Angelus to be pretty unredeemable by that point.

Niamh
06/28/2006 04:15 pm
One         
I have been remiss. I've been reading this and the sequels and I haven't reviewed. I'm so sorry, because I think between this series and the Bodyguard one, these are some of your best work. I'm so glad you got back in the groove. . . . Thanks for sharing your talent with all of us.
thanks! Glad you're liking them. The Bodyguard is on its way to Writercon for the Library, even as we speak.

06/06/2006 09:09 pm
One         
I know I reviewed on lj - but wanted to reread before I read the sequal - this is a great chapter one. i love how joyce is in denial!
Denial, thy name is Summers. LOL

05/22/2006 07:27 am
One         
Be safe in your denial Joyce. Great beginning.
I hope you read this one first!

Robyn
05/21/2006 10:32 am
One         
Joyce really does like living in denial, it seems that Buffy comes by her ability to live there naturally. I sometimes wonder, even after everything Joyce has seen, she continued denying things out of guilt because of her reaction when Buffy first told her about the monsters.
Canon Joyce fought against Buffy's calling for quite a while, but eventually you have to take those blinders off.

Lou
03/23/2006 04:27 pm
One         
Joyce is in for a rude awakening, isn't she?
yup - think you could say that!

03/23/2006 06:24 am
One         
Alright, I know I started this one! Great start and if anyone says anything to you about the lack of true spuffy in the first part of the fic, just tell then I said it was ok! *runs to read the next part*
Hee! - I probably showed it to you at one time. I think I ran this first chapter (parts of it) past just about everybody seeking reassurance and/or opinions about what to do with it. Finally found a different direction from the other "Angel loses his soul during the rite" fics and went with it.

03/23/2006 01:20 am
One         
how sad for buffy...wonder if she'll be able to kill angelus?? very good start, reading more now
Sad, indeed. You have no idea!

03/23/2006 12:46 am
One         
I think that you have hit Joyce right on the head. She had to have ignored a lot, too many wierd things for her not to have noticed! I am surprised that Angel didn't attack Joyce while Buffy wasn't home, or had he just gotten there?

I am really curious as to how Giles seemed to know that Angel was gone. It was a good thing that he did though!
Thank you - yes, she had to be pretty dense (on purpose) didn't she?
Giles is just a suspicious guy by nature...well, that and he knows a bit about vampire rituals.

03/23/2006 12:28 am
One         
Great chappy!
Thanks!