Prologue to life / I know you. by slaymesoftly

05/09/2014 08:56 am
chapter 22 through 25         
One of the best Spuffy's ever!! Beautiful!!
Awww Thank you.

Annie
12/20/2012 10:23 pm
chapter 22 through 25         
Wonderful words!
Thank you.

10/10/2012 07:36 am
chapter 22 through 25         
I know you wrote this a while ago, but I just wanted to say that this is one of my favorite stories--the one I keep going back to when I've had a bad day *chuckle*. I think of it as the time-travel story that every Spuffy author would have wanted to write because it's done SO well. Thank you.
I'm so glad you like it. Thanks for telling me so.  I'm quite fond of it too.

Jags
02/13/2012 11:21 pm
chapter 22 through 25         
that was fantastic and i can't wait to read the next one
Thanks. I hope you enjoy it.

03/06/2011 11:04 pm
chapter 22 through 25         
Swimming in happiness! (BTW, agree with your pacing of fic plotlines.)
Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

spuffyyy!
08/18/2010 01:46 am
chapter 22 through 25         
wow, what a story.
thank you. finally found the ending i wanted for them.^^
Thank you. I'm glad it pleased you.

05/27/2010 09:11 pm
chapter 22 through 25         
thank you for a wonderful and heartfelt story! i usually only read over at elysian fields, but i am obviously going to have to start spending more time over here! you have reawakened my Spuffy addiction!
Thanks for the kind words. I'm glad you liked it. And yay! for reawakening a love of Spuffy!

05/11/2010 09:51 pm
chapter 22 through 25         

?

Doni
05/25/2009 07:30 pm
chapter 22 through 25         
Great story!  Wonderful concept and well written...it was a pleasure to read.
Thank you so much. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

11/29/2008 08:21 am
chapter 22 through 25         
yay! buffy got her real spike back! ooohhh, can't wait to read the sequel. thanks for this great read!
Thanks for reading. I'm glad you liked it.   I hope you enjoy the sequel.

Shelby
05/29/2008 11:11 pm
chapter 22 through 25         
Love this story. I read it awhile ago and when i found out there was sequel i decided to familiarise myself with it again and now i'm gonna read the sequel. I love your fics and hope you keep writting for awhile =D
xoxo
Thank you so much. I'm glad you're liking them.

Hannah
04/26/2008 03:46 am
chapter 22 through 25         
"I would prefer that no one else take it upon themselves to “continue” this completed story. Thank you for understanding."

It's pretty funny that you, a fanfiction author, does not want any fanfiction written about your fanfiction. What if Joss Whedon told you he didn't want anyone continuing his story?
see prior response.

Hannah
04/26/2008 03:45 am
chapter 22 through 25         
"I would prefer that no one else take it upon themselves to “continue” this completed story. Thank you for understanding."

It's pretty funny that you, a fanfiction author, does not want any fanfiction written about your fanfiction. What if Joss Whedon told you he didn't want anyone continuing his story?
Well, since I've since written a sequel and am working on a third fic set in and around the world established in this one, I think the continuation is covered.   And if Joss had told us "no", I would honor his wishes.  If he had, I would never have found/heard of fanfiction, so it wouldn't bother me at all. lol

I guess I should take that line down, though. It's quite old and is based on a specific request from someone who I didn't feel I wanted to have playing in my sandbox.  I'm sure the danger is past now.

Stephanie
11/20/2007 09:18 am
chapter 22 through 25         
This story rocked. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. I even cried at some parts. Please write a sequel and continue this story. Because I want and NEED to know what happens next for everybody. Bye *smiles*
Thank you. There is a sequel. I went up a couple of months ago. It's called "I Know You, II". I hope you enjoy it.

Ronja
10/22/2007 09:11 pm
chapter 22 through 25         
and getting back to the longer ones.

OMFG
that once again was.. was just.. well it WAS..

So good to know that there IS a sequel! Even if the fic would be great the way it is now. But it;s nice to be able to get it without waiting ^_^

Thanks once again.
*giggles* thank you for reading and being so excited. I'm glad you are enjoying them.

02/19/2007 12:01 pm
chapter 22 through 25         
That was a wonderful story. Hopefully you will want to continue this at some point. Loved that they got to have they're happy-ever-after. Thanks AO. Will see what else you have to offer later on tonight.
LOL - Happy ever after always works for me. But I am continuing it.

11/28/2006 04:28 am
chapter 22 through 25         
Excellent fic but it only leaves you wanting more.
Thank you - sigh, I know it has some dangling ends. I plan to address them one of these days.

DeanSamWinchesterfan
11/04/2006 09:35 pm
chapter 22 through 25         
A sequel soon please?
The sequel is percolating in my brain, but that's as far as I've gone with it so far.

DeanSamWinchester
11/03/2006 09:09 pm
chapter 22 through 25         
Good story.Start a new story soon.
I've read this story somewhere else before(Vampire's Kiss I think)and it's one of my favorite B/S stories.
Hee - yes, you probably have read it somewhere else. It's been around a while. I'm glad you like it. I'm pretty pleased with it myself. Thanks for commenting.

vladt
10/12/2006 02:45 am
chapter 22 through 25         
very fine read, love. thank you. if you revisit this tale, it will be enthusiastically read and reviewed. if not, the tale is a wonderful read as is.
Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed the whole thing.

janica
10/11/2006 10:42 am
chapter 22 through 25         
this story is one fine masterpiece... i like it... hits the spot... God luck with yor storiees to come..
Thank you. What a nice thing to say.

Vickie
10/11/2006 06:43 am
chapter 22 through 25         
Loved this story!I hope you write a sequel to tieup the loose ends, But I still enjoyed this story very much. Thank You!
Thanks - I expect I might revisit it at some point and try to wrap things up for people. Not today, though! lol

10/10/2006 06:57 pm
chapter 22 through 25         
excellant story as always sweetie - this is really good!
Thank you.

10/10/2006 06:54 pm
chapter 22 through 25         
ch 24 - love the explaniation and the powers to be! excellant story
thank you - and for the steady reviews!

10/10/2006 06:52 pm
chapter 22 through 25         
Chapter 23 - oh yeah spuffy lovin. I cvan't wait to see what is going to happen next - this is such a fab story!
LOL Thanks

10/10/2006 06:50 pm
chapter 22 through 25         
Chapter 22 - excellant story I love the angel and buffy/spike interaction. great chapters
Thanks

RandiGiles
10/10/2006 03:00 pm
chapter 22 through 25         
Oh my goodness this is one of my favorite stories..I'm so glad i got to read it again. thanks for reposting. My favorite part is where Spike is telling Spike how to touch her..it just melts me every time.
I'm glad you're still enjoying it. I hope the reposting didn't bother too many people, but I had to try to fix those code problems that were cutting off the chapters. Sigh.

Robyn
10/10/2006 05:18 am
chapter 22 through 25         
I meant to comment on each section as I was reading this but I have to admit that I got so involved in the story that I forgot. I really enjoyed this and the difference in attitude the older Buffy has. I love how she intrigued Spike by telling him she knew him and it ended with her Spike telling her the same thing. Thanks so much for posting this.
N.P. Robyn. I try to reply to all reviews, so waiting till the end saves me a bit of work. lol I'm glad you enjoyed it. No bigger compliment than that you were so busy reading you forgot to comment. Thanks!

Basia
03/01/2013 12:28 am
Chapters18 -21         
I love your writing, I think you are extremely talented in creating gripping plots, in-character dialogues and invoking emotions.
I'm re-reading this, and this time, doing it much slower and more carefully, I saw some typos - for example, shouldn't this:
'He let his face slid back into it’s human features'
look this way:
'He let his face slide back into its human features'?

Although (not being native-English speaker) I have problem understanding this one:
'When she thought about how she had treated Spike in her time, based, she had to admit, in large part because she worried about Xander’s reaction much more than anyone else’s(...)'
I don't quite get what 'based' means here - is it that how she treated Spike was based on her worries?

This is a very old fic and was not beta'd, so I'm sure there are a lot of typos. I'm thinking about reposting it (or just editing it in large chunks) in its newer, more polished form, but it will be a very tedious process and I'm having a hard time talking myself into it. lO  Thanks for telling me about that one. I'll check the version on my hard drive to make sure that's one of those I've corrected.  

 Yes, that line means much of her reason for treating Spike so badly was because she was worried about Xandr's reaction.

Thank you so much for your kind words. If you're rereading, now I really feel like I should post the cleaner version.

03/06/2011 10:28 pm
Chapters18 -21         
Oooh,  I will have to watch to see if Rosa showed or shows up in any other fi by you.  Interesting. And Angel...very bad thing to do. 
Hee! I doubt she will - but you never know. It's an ongoing series...

02/19/2007 11:23 am
Chapters18 -21         
It's hard for me to read when Spike's with anyone else besides Buffy. Just happy that he's come back. Loved it that Buffy punched Angel like that. Now to find Spike. Excellent chapters thanks for sharing.
Well, Spike was with someone else for many, many years. It's kind of hard to avoid that if you're writing early seasons.Thanks for reading.

10/12/2006 08:50 am
Chapters18 -21         
OMG, I'm so pissed at Angel. I can't believe he did that, no wait, I can believe he did that. Man catch Spike Buffy!!!
Angel's an ass -but he'll be sorry.

vladt
10/12/2006 12:08 am
Chapters18 -21         
very, very good read. thank you. could never stand angel, angelus was the better part of that personality.
Thanks - glad you like my vision of Angel

10/10/2006 06:46 pm
Chapters18 -21         
Ch 21 - Can we dusy angel lol do they really need him that badly in LA? What a complete wanker!
LOL

10/10/2006 06:43 pm
Chapters18 -21         
Chapter 20- excellant story i really loved this - excellant excellant
thank you, thank you.

10/10/2006 06:38 pm
Chapters18 -21         
CH 19- Poor Spike - insane Dru and now Joyce has to know she is going to die - but at least Buffy is adjusting to her new life!
slowly, but surely...

10/10/2006 06:35 pm
Chapters18 -21         
Ch 18 - EWxcellant I love the way Buffy and Xander talked and her use of strenghth. Excellant chapter!
think she made her point? lol

10/08/2006 03:27 am
Chapters18 -21         
I love this story! Well, actually I luv any story were Buffy doesn't give it up to tall dark and forehead and to the wonderfullness that is Spike. Great job responding to the challenge by the way, I hope you write a continuation.
Thanks - I'm glad you liked it.

Jags
09/22/2006 10:48 pm
Chapters18 -21         
oh that was just bloody wonderful! Keep up the good work!
Thanks. Glad you liked it.

All4Spike
09/22/2006 09:16 pm
Chapters18 -21         
Love it love it love it.
I seem to be going through all your fics trying to come up with new superlatives... I'm going to have to get the thesaurus out soon...
PLEASE try to think up a sequel... it's just begging for it.
LOL - yes, it could use one. Someday, maybe. Thanks for commenting.

09/20/2006 03:01 pm
Chapters18 -21         
25 -- an excellent ending, pet...beautifully done...makes sense, too...because it would have taken a while for the other spike to get past his dru-issues, without the chip, and the events of season five, and everything that eventually drove him to buffy in the canon timeline...great fic, pet, loved it
Thanks - glad you did. And thanks for the steady reviews.

09/20/2006 02:56 pm
Chapters18 -21         
24 -- i still feel a bit uncomfortable with this all of a sudden, though i'm still reading on to see what happens ...because he's still lying to himself and believing that he doesn't really care about her...*sigh*...of course, it's exactly what she deserves
Hopefully, the ending will make you less uncomfortable.

09/20/2006 02:49 pm
Chapters18 -21         
23 -- well get to your house and hustle mom off to bed...and then maybe she can show him *hehe*
Hee!

08/18/2006 06:10 am
Chapters18 -21         
I LOVE THIS STORY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DO U THINK U'LL CONTINUE IT!!!!!!!! I WILL IF YOU WANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!! ESP THE END!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Thanks. I'm glad you liked it. I'm in the process of cleaning it up a bit and who knows? Maybe I'll be inspired to tie up some of those loose ends...

Stephanie
08/08/2006 12:21 am
Chapters18 -21         
Please can we have more? I really enjoyed this story but I want to know what happens. What does Spike do when he sees Joyce? Will Dawn get to visit? What else changes? I want to know. Please may we have more?
I know this fic leaves some important stuff dangling - I just was tired of it by the time I got here and it seemed a good place to end it. Someday I may do an epilogue to address some of the loose ends, but I have no plans for it anytime soon.

04/19/2006 02:02 am
Chapters18 -21         
My goodness, how wonderful. Very well written. You got me hooked from the start, nice seg-ways, great explanations, and a great feel for all involved. I even disliked Angel more than Angelus, and thats hard to do! Great read all around.
thank you - I'm so glad you liked it. thanks for reviewing.

02/15/2006 07:40 pm
Chapters18 -21         
LOL, I still would love a nice long epilouge to this story.
Nah -I'm all about the getting them together - then I'm bored.

01/16/2006 11:53 pm
Chapters18 -21         
Thoroughly enjoyed this, hun! ^_^
thanks!

jackson@rochester.rr.com
11/06/2005 04:51 pm
Chapters18 -21         
no other words to describe but amazing.....please....please write more......
Thank you. I'm so glad you liked it.

10/20/2005 04:43 am
Chapters18 -21         
This is a fantastic story. I love that 'her spike' got to be with her in the end. Wished there had been more followup with Dawn and those from her dimension though. It felt like that was just a lose end at the end. Although I am kindof glad that Willow had to lose buffy...She'll never learn about that magic and manipulating people to "help them." I read the whole thing in one sitting...fabulous!
Thanks, Zoe. I will probably pick this back up at some point and touch on everybody she left behind, but my only goal for the story was to get them back together, so that's where I stopped.

vladt
10/11/2006 09:00 pm
Chapters 14 - 17         
very good read, thank you. xander is an ass; jenny might be of considerable help.
yep and yep. Thanks for reading!

10/10/2006 06:30 pm
Chapters 14 - 17         
Ch 17 - love your Jenny - she is so well written I can see her being the rationale and reasonable one - she really sees. Excellant story sweetye
I always liked Jenny - was sorry to see her go, so I brought her back. lol

10/10/2006 06:27 pm
Chapters 14 - 17         
Ch 16 - I am so angry at Xander I am just shaking with rage. How dare he! Of all the *insert swear words here* Growls at boy!
He'll pay for it...eventually

10/10/2006 06:25 pm
Chapters 14 - 17         
ch 15 - excellant chapter as always - I love how they reensouled Angel without to much hassle. IT will be interesting to see what happens when he wakes back up!
Oh, he'll still be an ass...lol

10/10/2006 06:20 pm
Chapters 14 - 17         
Chapter 14 - love the xander smack down. Why does no one give her any credit *shakes head* great story so far!
Thanks!

09/19/2006 05:55 am
Chapters 14 - 17         
20 -- i want spike to come back...but i'm glad she just got a glimpse of the fact that angel can be cruel and nasty too, not just angelus...great chapter, love
Thanks.

09/18/2006 03:41 am
Chapters 14 - 17         
19 -- yeah, it's so not gonna be that simple, buffy *sigh* and poor spike, he's in denial, but it can't last
We'll see.

09/18/2006 03:37 am
Chapters 14 - 17         
18 -- great chapter, love, love the reconciliation between her and xander....and i agree, no need to go into detail on all that happened over the years...just get to the good (spikey) parts
my sentiments, exactly! lol

09/18/2006 03:29 am
Chapters 14 - 17         
17 -- i think jenny and giles will help make things better, but xander's still acting like a moron...*sigh* great chapter, love
thanks!

09/18/2006 03:10 am
Chapters 14 - 17         
16 -- this chapter was great...i'm so mad at xander...hope spike still comes back....on to the next, pet

Basia
02/28/2013 01:17 pm
Chapters 8 - 13         
Chapter 13 seems to be missing.  This one ends with 12.
Sorry - it's a short chapter and I guess it got missed when the fic was being transferred over from the old BSV. I added it, so it's there now.

03/06/2011 09:00 pm
Chapters 8 - 13         
It looks like the events are pre-ordained ..just the manner of how it happens changes.  And regarding Spike..payback is a bitch ...but I feel so sorry for Buffy. 
There's a lot of unhappiness before things turn around for either one of them.  And, yes, some things cannot be changed, it seems.

02/19/2007 10:20 am
Chapters 8 - 13         
Hi AO! Couldn't wait for your next project so I decided to see what else you had here and found this one I hadn't finished before I went to the hospital. Love this story so much, and you've given it a remarkable twist that I'd wished had been in canon. Damn this is good. Now that they're mated he has to come back. A mating is so much more powerful then a sire's rights. Can't wait to finish this and start on another one. Thanks sweetie, Verda
LOL I'm glad you're liking it. I'm actually working on the sequel now, but it will be awhile before I start posting anything.

vladt
10/11/2006 08:09 pm
Chapters 8 - 13         
very good read, thank you. love the coversation with spike at the beginning of this section almost as much as the ending scene with spike.
Thanks. I'm glad you like it.

10/10/2006 06:22 pm
Chapters 8 - 13         
ch 13- Wonderful accidently claiming there - I adore this story. I am glad they were together before he runs off or thinks he is going to run off.

10/10/2006 06:18 pm
Chapters 8 - 13         
Chapter 11 - excellant chapter I like the rapport between Spike and Joyce. Excellant chapter and delicious fic as always!
thanks!

10/10/2006 06:13 pm
Chapters 8 - 13         
Chapter Ten - HA! Kendra had an even shorter life span this time around. Oh well - sucks to be her! lol Sorry I feel no sympathy to judgemental people who will not listen!
LOL

10/10/2006 06:11 pm
Chapters 8 - 13         
Chapter Nine - Angel still can't give her any credit! Geesh! Great fic but I soooo have the urge to throttle some vamps!

10/10/2006 06:06 pm
Chapters 8 - 13         
Chapter Eight - excellant meeting with spike - I can't wait to see everyone else's reaction as well.. great fic!

10/02/2006 01:49 pm
Chapters 8 - 13         
8) At least Spike knows now, liked it when he realized that he taught her how to kiss and that there is something special between them. 9)Really glad that it's out in the open and they're all adjusting to the new situation. Loved that she could take some of the wind out of Angel's sails. Guess you couldn't keep Spike away, not when so much was at stake. He would of figured out that he didn't leave Dru and Buffy know it. Don't know where ch. 10-15 are but you've only got 8&9 here. Great read, thanks.
Thanks - all fixed as far as the rest of the chapters are concerned.

09/17/2006 05:15 am
Chapters 8 - 13         
Nine -- that went pretty well...can't wait to see what happens next
um - more stuff? LOL

09/17/2006 05:12 am
Chapters 8 - 13         
Eight -- that was great...love the revealing conversation they just had..great job
Thanks

VWalk
07/04/2006 10:46 pm
Chapters 8 - 13         
I am entranced, captivated by this story. I ran across it by accident and haven't been able to stop reading. Absolutely love your characterization of everyone.

Curious as to what, if anything is happening back in the future (?) or did Buffy's time jump cancel all that out? Guess I'll have to keep reading and see.
Thank you, I'm so glad you're liking it. It is one of my favorites. We will visit the future, just a bit, but mostly we're concentrating on Buffy and Spike.

Buffy Convert
03/04/2014 02:19 am
Prologue - Chapter 7         
Oh, am I loving this story. At first, from the description, I thout I'd read before (but was happy to re-read. But turns out I'm a virgin here,just like Buffy! I like that Buffy is STILL mad at Jenny seven years later; it's very believeable. And her tender feelings toward Angel as well.
LOL Well, it's in response to a challenge on here, so you may well have read something similar before.  I'm glad you're enjoying it.

03/06/2011 07:58 pm
Prologue - Chapter 7         
Fantastic!
Thank you.

10/12/2006 03:52 am
Prologue - Chapter 7         
Patti, to made me burn my dinner,lol. I got so into the story I forgot I has burgers on broil. But never fear they were able to be saved. Love this story btw!
LOL - sorry?

vladt
10/11/2006 09:06 am
Prologue - Chapter 7         
beautifully done, thank you for the excellent read.
Thanks for reading!

10/10/2006 05:35 pm
Prologue - Chapter 7         
Excellant chapter - I wonder how Spike will react to the news! Great story so far!
Thanks!

10/10/2006 05:21 pm
Prologue - Chapter 7         
Chapter Four - excellant - you were spot on with your Giles, excited, nervous and then amazed at a slayer for 7 years. Excellant chapter!

10/10/2006 05:17 pm
Prologue - Chapter 7         
Chapter Three - excellant way to set the stage - her mother knows now so life should be a bit easier this time around! I wonder when she is going to tell Giles!
when he needs to know. lol thanks, sweetie!

10/10/2006 05:13 pm
Prologue - Chapter 7         
Chapter two - aswesome story I really love how she ended up back in time and thought she was in a dream. great story!

10/10/2006 05:09 pm
Prologue - Chapter 7         
chapter one - you know i get the darn feeling that willow just did something very very wrong. I can't wait to see what happense next!
LOL - well, you know there's a good chance something went wrong.

10/10/2006 04:53 pm
Prologue - Chapter 7         
A Prologue to Life - Poor Buffy so lost and alone - what a haunting first chapter! I really enjoyed it and cant wait to read/reread the rest!
Thanks - Ithink I finally got all the messed up chapters sorted out. &*&^%$# bad code

Lou
10/09/2006 08:32 pm
Prologue - Chapter 7         
I'm so pleased to see this posted here. It'a fabulous story.
Thank you.

10/02/2006 01:10 pm
Prologue - Chapter 7         
Thanks for writing this challenge.P) Just hate this Broken Buffy, so devastated with his loss. My heart breaks for her. 2) Willow can't help herself can she. I'm glad that Kennedy's out of her life at the moment. 3)Spike lips, lips of Spike, oh how sweet his lips are. this way she won't sleep with Peaches. Jenny will be saved and so many other thing's can change. This could be perfect. 4)Giles is a smart one, not much does get past him. Changing things will be for the better, if done right. 5)Horny Buffy but who could blame her, and stop thinking about sleeeping with Angel!6) Best hand job ever! That's all it took to know that something was going on. Buffy missing him so much, it's so hard for her not to touch him. 7) So glad she talked to Giles and Jenny and Jenny unstands what takes his soul. Now Buffy can get everything off her chest. Great fic, can't wait to finish it, thanks for the read.
Thanks for the reviews! And for the heads-up about the missing chapters.

jl1980
09/17/2006 05:04 am
Prologue - Chapter 7         
Seven -- lol...oh this should be really good!!!

jl1980
09/17/2006 05:00 am
Prologue - Chapter 7         
Six -- wow...that was intense...poor spike has to be so confused...something tells me she can avoid sleeping with angel and still make him leave dru for her... great chapter
Oh, I think it's safe to say...

jl1980
09/17/2006 04:31 am
Prologue - Chapter 7         
poor spike, his poor nose...some things never change, do they....
LOL - nope!

jl1980
09/17/2006 04:25 am
Prologue - Chapter 7         
Four -- i think she's probably already done enough to make some major changes...
probably

jl1980
09/17/2006 04:20 am
Prologue - Chapter 7         
Three -- oh i think she's got him hooked so bad now, he's not gonna try and kill her until he has some answers...glad she told her mom now...can't wait to see what happens due to the changes she makes
Some things change, some don't ...

09/17/2006 04:13 am
Prologue - Chapter 7         
Two -- this could be so good...can't wait to see how he reacts the first time she changes things on him...great chapter, pet
I think it's safe to say, he's a bit surprised.

09/17/2006 03:33 am
Prologue - Chapter 7         
One -- oh willow...what did you do???
what she always does...

09/17/2006 03:30 am
Prologue - Chapter 7         
Prologue -- that ending was perfect, expressing very well just exactly what emotional reaction they were having...been there, love....and you put it very well...
Thank you.

05/11/2006 07:11 am
Prologue - Chapter 7         
I think this story is fantastic. I liked the idea of this challenge, and you have done a really good job with it. I like Spike's confusion - he wants Buffy but doesn't know why.
thank you - yes, poor Spike, just doesn't know what to make of it, does he?