Apocrypha by asphodel

DD
11/15/2012 04:41 pm
Chapter 10         
This is an excellent story! I don't understand why there aren't more reviews. Buffy and Spike are nicely done, though William is a lot less dorky than I would have thought; I get that he has hidden backbone, but I would've thought he'd be more stuttery around Buffy at least. I do wish there were longer chapters. When will you be updating? I really like the plot -- naturally, the back in time aspect, and the mystery of Willow (great to see a tie in to Fray).
Thank you for your thoughtful review! In order of easiest to hardest...

I do wish there were longer chapters.
Funny enough, there is actually reasoning behind the shorter chapters at the beginning. I think of this story as the fic that hit me out of the blue and is a first for me in a lot of ways. For example, I usually don't start posting a story until it's mostly done, but this time I decided to post as I write. The shorter chapters were a way to help me keep my momentum until I could get the framework established and make the story specifics concrete in my mind. This may or may not be good for the overall story structure; I plan to revisit once it's done.

When will you be updating?
Once one of 1.5 jobs, renovations, or moving lets up enough for me to reach for my pen again. ^^;; Oh, and once TW finally decides to come out and enable my internet. -_- I know, I know, excuses, heh. As a fanfic reader, I do know how frustrating it is to have to wait for writers to get their act together. I'm afraid I don't have an ETA or a schedule right now, but I do promise that this story will be finished (and I don't make my promises lightly).

William is a lot less dorky than I would have thought
Good point! And yet... I have a theory about William that I hope will become clearer as we go. Not that I'd expect everyone to agree with my interpretation, of course.

10/07/2012 07:59 pm
Chapter 10         
Great chapter. Good job on the fight between Spike and Buffy - somewhere between a hard sparring match and a real "I'm going kill you" fight.  I'l looking forward to the next installment.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review this fic! It really makes my day.

10/07/2012 02:36 pm
Chapter 10         
Love the incident with the carronade! Also love Anne's acceptance and machinations to help things go smoothly. Oh heck, what has got Willow now?
I had fun with the carronade, and I quite like Anne as a character; I'm happy you enjoyed them in the story! I hope to answer a question or two about Willow in the next chapter.

magnus374
08/20/2012 09:53 am
Chapter 9         

Interesting.

Thanks!

08/14/2012 03:14 am
Chapter 9         
Nice contrast between weirdness of Willow and Buffy's faux pas, they are so much fun.
They are, aren't they? Hee!

08/10/2012 04:38 am
Chapter 9         

Mysterious Willow -  and what is Buffy going to do for clothes?  Thinking she might not care for a corset.  Unless that falls under the category of "outfits."  And where is sleepyhead Spike.  Very interesting.

Saving the world in a corset doesn't sound like much fun, does it? Poor Buffy. Hope the next chapter answers your question about sleepyhead Spike.

08/09/2012 03:08 pm
Chapter 9         
Ah. Can't wait for Willow to figure out where (and when) she is. Ew - crispy fried cockroach {shudder}
Looks as if Buffy is looking forward to a little holiday. She's not going to be happy when she meets Future Willow...
I'm told cockroach is a delicacy in some parts, though it might taste better with some salt? Eheh.

magnus374
08/20/2012 08:21 am
Chapter 8         

This was well thought out of William.

Though I think Spike might have infected him with some of his recklessness. *chuckle*

Matinee
08/06/2012 03:06 pm
Chapter 8         
I am loving this story, can't believe I haven't seen it before. Love your characterizations and the unique plot. The interactions between spike and his mother I intrigues me too. Hope you update soon!
Thank you for reading, and thank you for the review! I hope this story will continue to entertain you.

08/02/2012 09:06 am
Chapter 8         
This absolutely rocks. Your eloquence continues to exceed expectations, now there's even Latin purty words, and adding Spike's more earthy approach to the mix is just hysterical!
Yay Latin! I aspire to eloquent and hysterical rocking, LOL. Thank you!

08/01/2012 03:53 pm
Chapter 8         
Wow - great twist.  Who knew William had it in him.    
It's the quiet ones you have to keep an eye on.

08/01/2012 01:13 pm
Chapter 8         
Oh, well done William!
<3

timeofchange
07/31/2012 05:30 pm
Chapter 7         
This is smashing!  Can't wait to read more.
Thank you so much for the encouragement, and more is definitely on the way!

magnus374
07/29/2012 02:13 pm
Chapter 7         

I like this Anne.

Glad to hear it!

Twilightchild
07/28/2012 09:11 am
Chapter 7         
This is the best story that I've seen in a long time. Completely unique. The voices are excellent. The story is imaginative, and I can't wait to see what happens next. I'm looking forward to some potential emotional pangs. Please, please please keep this one coming, and I'll try to review as often as I can.
Oh my, what a lovely review. Thank you so much! I will certainly post as quickly as I can, and I hope you will continue to enjoy this story.

07/27/2012 09:23 pm
Chapter 7         
William's mother is a very astute women, great job.  And Buffy's babbling  was perfect.
Thank you! On both accounts.

07/27/2012 12:05 am
Chapter 7         
Uh oh. Spike/William's mom doesn't like Buffy. Worried that she'll hurt her son(s). How right you are, Anne!
Joyce shouldn't have all the fun of being a protective mother(-in-law), right? XD

07/26/2012 12:38 pm
Chapter 7         
Buffy is totally flummoxed, isn't she? I like Anne, something tells me she's going to be able to extract some truths from someone before too long...
But stepping out of our comfort zone is how we grow, right? XD

07/20/2012 03:20 am
Chapter 6         

Spike getting to see his mum again.  I'm sure it has to be afffecting him.
I am enjoying the interaction between William and Buffy

Thank you for your encouragement, and I hope you continue to enjoy it!

alya
07/19/2012 08:34 pm
Chapter 6         

Can't wait to read on. Your dialogue is excellent.

I think having these characters together makes for naturally amusing dialogue. Thank you for following this story!

07/18/2012 06:55 pm
Chapter 6         
God darnit, Mr. William, you use your tongue prettier than a twenty dollar whore.
Mr. William's mind might be a raging torrent flooded with rivulets of thought, but I wonder if he could beat Spike when it comes to creative alternatives. (Practicality aside...)

07/18/2012 12:02 pm
Chapter 6         
LOL - what a wonderfully convoluted tale - and so obviously a tissue of lies. I like William's mum, she strikes me as being an eminently sensible woman.
Spike hasn't been watching all that daytime telly for nothing! XD And with his and Buffy's ability to suck the sense out of anyone who spends an hour in their company, having somebody sensible around may reduce the number of facepalm moments. Then again...

07/18/2012 11:34 am
Chapter 5         
"You didn't tell me you lived next to a museum,"    That cracked me, so Buffy!
Now she gets to stay in a museum in a park. I'm thinking all the glass cases should take cover.

magnus374
07/16/2012 08:36 am
Chapter 5         

I can't help but like the interaction and flow of this story.

I don't think you can get these people in a room together without shenanigans, snarkiness, and possibly a trashed room.

07/16/2012 06:32 am
Chapter 5         
so was it biting William or the Scorpion sting that is messing with Spike?  .  .  .  just wondering
I can totally picture pre-chip Spike acting and thinking this way - you do a really good job writing Spike.
<i>so was it biting William or the Scorpion sting that is messing with Spike?</i> Hmm...all of the above?

Writing pre-chip Spike is great fun. Thank you for your wonderful compliment!

SeaPea
07/16/2012 06:20 am
Chapter 5         
I'm looking forward to Spike's reaction to seeing his mother.  This is an unusual time travel story and I'm enjoying it very much.
I believe my muse claims all credit for that! Thank you for your comment!

07/15/2012 10:27 pm
Chapter 5         
Love Buffy's reaction to William's home and Spike's protectiveness of his mother. Getting a bit worried about Spike and his scorpion sting now...
Spike might possibly benefit from a more balanced coolness:admittance-to-pain ratio, but I'm guessing he'd give short shrift to that idea.

07/18/2012 11:29 am
Chapter 4         
Too late, Spike, William's mind is already well and truly messed with!  Love it.
And I'd bet Spike would kill anyone dead who dared suggest it!

07/12/2012 06:33 am
Chapter 4         
Just found this story and I will say that even if the infernal heat outside wasn't enough
to keep me up at night the images of cockroaches and scorpions just might do it.

I love the banter between Buffy and Spike, and watching how Spike deals with
William.
Hope the latter makes up at least a little for the former! Thank you for the comment!

07/11/2012 12:21 am
Chapter 4         
Ah, just catching up on this story. (the downside to validating an author - I have to keep track of new chapters myself.) I'm really enjoying it and can't wait to see where you go with it.
I hope it continues to entertain you. Thank you for the comment!

07/10/2012 12:26 pm
Chapter 4         
Wonderful fight scene. Loved the banter.
Thank you! Glad to hear you enjoyed it!

magnus374
07/10/2012 12:14 pm
Chapter 4         

It's so good to read what Spike is saying.

Dissing Angel, pissing off the Slayer...all in a night's work!

alya
07/19/2012 08:17 pm
Chapter 3         

Spike's precis of Buffy's life is genius.

Thank you! It was fun to write.

07/18/2012 11:25 am
Chapter 3         
Spike's potted history was brilliant, so funny,  and now for the giant cockroaches!  Ta-da.
What night is complete without some Slayer-baiting and giant bug squishing? Hee.

07/17/2012 11:44 pm
Chapter 3         
Yuck.  I'm like Anya with those things.  Eeeeww.  Yucky Pew!
Agreed! Hee.

magnus374
07/05/2012 09:06 am
Chapter 3         

Spike should try to think before he speaks, but I like the interaction.

Based on the empirical evidence, I suspect there is some sort of short-circuit in Spike's brain that eliminates the thinking-before-speaking filter. XD

timeofchange
07/04/2012 07:03 pm
Chapter 3         
I'm really enjoying this story.
I'm very happy to hear it; thank you for the comment!

07/04/2012 12:06 am
Chapter 3         
EW not big cockroaches.  I prefer the manage a trot.  
I wonder which Buffy would prefer, at this point, LOL.

07/03/2012 11:00 pm
Chapter 3         

great two chapters - a manage a trot, just the way Buffy would say it!  Great summary by Spike as well, sounded just like him. Really enjoying this, wondering where Willow will fit in so colour me intrigued!

Really enjoying writing this as well--thank you for the continued encouragement!

07/03/2012 01:47 pm
Chapter 3         
I just love the banter! Perfect!

Ew. Giant cockroaches. Now my skin is crawling {has a discreet scratch}.
Thank you for the comment, and sorry about the cockroaches! XD

magnus374
07/05/2012 08:55 am
Chapter 2         

He bit what could be himself. He should be careful he could end his own existence. I liked how William thought.

I'm not sure that "careful" is in Spike's vocabulary, heh.

07/03/2012 11:48 pm
Chapter 2         
"I could hear him thinking his poncy thoughts, the poncy bugger  LOL  Buffy is going to be bouncing her fist off Spike's nose a lot.  
Well, I suppose he could wear a tinfoil hat for protection of his nose... XD

07/03/2012 01:38 pm
Chapter 2         
How wonderful! I just love Spike's naughty suggestion of a menage a trois! Reminds me of Anya when Xander got himself Tothed.
It seemed appropriate...at least to Spike. XD

07/18/2012 11:16 am
Chapter 1         
This is going to be tricky.
But that's what makes it fun!

alya
07/04/2012 12:37 am
Chapter 1         

I can't wait to read on.

I'll do my best to post the next chapter as soon as I can.

07/03/2012 11:37 pm
Chapter 1         
Spike as Giles too too scary
Although now that I think about it, Giles might well have called William 'poncy' at a certain point in his life, hahah.

magnus374
07/02/2012 09:23 am
Chapter 1         

Spike may have liked to see his mother again, but I don't think he will like to see William.

Somehow I think you're right. Hee.

06/29/2012 10:19 pm
Chapter 1         

didn't see that coming - thought we were about to be introduced to Spike's mum! Very intriguing, good writing.

Glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for the comment!

06/29/2012 09:13 pm
Chapter 1         
Delicious! Now Buffy has Spike and William! What fun!
Oh, was it that obvious how I plan to earn my NC-17 rating?

BuffyMeetsSpike
06/29/2012 09:09 pm
Chapter 1         
Oh my, that's intriguing. More please!
Will do!

07/18/2012 09:58 am
Prologue         
Very interesting start.
Thanks for reading!

07/17/2012 11:08 pm
Prologue         
Just up my alley!  This is fantastic.  Dark tinged Buffyverse along the lines of Christoper Golden.   Yep, this rating is for more than smut and it looks like you are going deep with the dark. 
I'm glad my vague warning wasn't so vague as to be impenetrable! Thank you for reading!

alya
07/04/2012 12:34 am
Prologue         

Brilliant writing. I'm intrigued and impressed.

Thank you so much!

06/27/2012 12:10 am
Prologue         

wow great start, terrfic descriptive writing and plenty to make me ponder on till the next chapter. Great stuff!

Thank you for your lovely comment, and thank you for reading!

06/26/2012 02:52 am
Prologue         

Great and scary beginning ash!  Hope you'll be able to post again soon.

I'll do my best to keep it so. Thank you for reading!

magnus374
06/25/2012 11:25 am
Prologue         

Very interesting, A season 4 Spike and Buffy and also a Willow from the future. 

I hope you will continue to enjoy the story. Thank you for reading!

06/23/2012 05:48 pm
Prologue         
Oooh! Intriguing! We have early S4 Buffy & Spike - but which Willow? All going back in time...... can't wait!
The scary one! Thank you for the comment!

BuffyMeetsSpike
06/23/2012 03:45 pm
Prologue         
Oooh! I am highly intrigued. I really liked the whole scene with Spike and Dru - very interesting. More please!
Thank you so much for the comment! There will definitely be more.