Destroying Entropy by BuffyMeetsSpike
Chapter: Chapter 14

09/21/2016 07:11 pm
Such an outstanding story on this theme - you work with the challenge, again Outstanding. 

04/26/2015 02:39 am
All I can say is WOW.   So insightful of all the hidden pain and getting all the truth out there.  This is a fantastic read!  

06/29/2014 04:59 am
Really good. At points, it seems the changes happen too quickly, but I get that you may not want to let the story get bogged down in ta much slower progression.

03/26/2014 09:15 pm
I just came back and read this again.  Usually don't read 'rape' stories, but this story wasn't that... it was a powerful exploration of the characters and I find myself thinking on the subject because of something I'm writing and I wanted to come back and explore your universe again.  I was not disappointed. 

Thanks again for this.

Peace

Blue

01/16/2014 09:58 am
You sure did a great job of creating a great story from the very difficult challenge -  glad that I decided to read this one again before I went on to other of your stories. 

05/17/2013 08:04 am
  Wow that was dark.  I usually can't read anything with any form of sexual assault in it, I am pretty sure I only got through this because it all happened in the very beginning of your story.

  That being said this was a great,  if harrowing story.
I was never a fan of Xander until the last half of season seven so a good Xander bash is always good by me, but whew, that felt almost too real.  I had actual hate going on for Xander here.  You wrote (It's honestly a litte disturbing recapping here) The incident...I have a good sized knot in my stomach just thinking about it, and the fallout so, god I just...I can't even review this.

  It was a good read despite everything.  That's basically how I feel.
Thanks so much for reading, despite the traumatic beginning. I am a big fan of angst, and Xander really got on my very last nerve toward the end of the series. So when I saw the challenge, it spoke to me. 

Sorry if it gave you the willies, but I do appreciate the review!

04/03/2013 10:44 pm
Your Story was really Great
Thank you so much. I really enjoyed writing it. 

sister cuervo
01/22/2013 08:32 pm
Well done!  Glad to see most everything turns out well.  It was smart using a realistic method like AA's 12 steps for Xander to finally see what he had done wrong. 
Plenty of sweet, a bit of saucy and loads of drama done well.
Thank you so much! I am trying to get back into writing, but I am having serious writer's block. Thanks for the encouragement to keep plugging away. 

Jerzeyanjel
08/11/2012 06:49 am
Wow ... Just wow. I have never hated Xander as much as I do right now. This was an incredible story and I am so glad I read it. Text
Thank you so much. I tend to do a lot of Xander bashing in my stories. He just annoyed me a lot. But I try to make it believable Xander bashing...

alexiarrose
08/10/2012 07:30 am

Just caught up to this story. Very, very well done. Not the first time I've seen Halfrek put to such good ... use, but I love the way you worked it in here. Sadly, there are times I really can buy a Xander like this, and everyone else's reactions are true to form. Sat and read this all in one go, it did such a nice job of sucking me in. Thanks for an excellent tale!

Thank you so much! It was a challenge response that just wouldn't let go once my brain saw it. I am so glad you got drawn in!

Jags
01/21/2012 03:45 am
SQUEEEEE! I'm so glad some one finally wrote this! And you did such a good job too! bravo!!
Thank you! I probably should have dropped you an email when I wrote it, but it totally slipped my mind. But the challenge just grabbed me and wouldn't let go. So thank YOU for such a good challenge!

buffyconvert@yahoo.com
09/29/2011 02:36 pm
Text     Beautiful story!  It in a smooth manner, the dialog was great & the ending smooth. Do you write for a       living? Your grammer is superb. Sorry if I misspelled it! My spell-check seems to have gotten lost.
I liked how you were careful with each charactor - the plot was fantastic. Sorry if not coherent. Got a tooth pulled yes'day
Thank you so much for the kind review. I sort of write for a living, but what I write is boring papers for engineering journals and such. Writing fan fiction keeps me sane and occupies me on the commuter rail.

Sorry about the tooth. I recommend applying many Spuffy stories!

09/06/2011 12:58 am

Another well written fic with great plot line and flow. Read this in one go tonight to catch up with my reading, RL took over for a few months but I find that I can now look for fics to read and of course, I discovered that my favourite author has 2 fics I haven't read. Thanks again for sharing your talent, will start next fic tomorrow night!

Thank you so much, Mazza! Very glad to have you back reviewing again. 

Stupid real life. The nerve.

09/03/2011 10:30 am

First time reading your work - enjoyed your story very much and think you did a very good job of working with challenge -  One thing that I would have like would have been more introduction and set-up for the rape -  for me, something this shocking from such an important character of the series and who played such a huge role in her life needed to bring me more gradually into this rape treatment. 

Look forward to reading more of your work - 

So glad you enjoyed it. 

I do have the tendency toward starting things with a bang, and then working things out from there. Part of my writing style I guess. But the beauty of fan fiction is that there was a whole introduction and set-up - Season six. The whole season just intrigued me - I think I watched the entire season about four times in as many months. There was so much angst, so many frayed relationships, it was rich fodder for tinkering with 'what-if's'. I hope you will forgive me for the suddenness!

08/26/2011 05:05 am
Very nice ending, even with the letter from Xander.  Good work and thanks so much for sharing it.  I can't wait to see what else you've got up your sleeves.
I am working on my sequel to The Ghost in You as we speak. I believe you don't often read WIPs, but if you change your mind, check out Universal and let me know what you think.

Thanks for reading!

charisse
08/25/2011 12:35 am
What a story! I read it all in one big gulp, and I'm glad I did. It stayed tense and compelling all the way through.

I especially appreciate the way you hit the bullseye on several psychological issues. The root cause of Scooby disfunctionality? Check. The double standard? Check. Pointing out that when the bad stuff comes down, if Tara-the-Saint keeps quiet, she is enabling the bad stuff? Check. Not flinching in your description of the horrible aftermath? Check. Making Buffy face her own sins? Check.

By now, I must sound as if I hate everyone, and I really don't (I *do* love Tara, I promise. I even love Xander, when he's behaving himself). On the other hand, it was a real joy to read a fanfic with the kind of complexity in characterization and consequences that you introduced. Birth control and AA hardly ever make it into these hallowed pages . For giving them an airing, and for taking the time to write and post this absorbing piece of fiction, I say, "Thank you, with little Spikey sprinkles on top!"
Thank you so very much for the review!

I do love all the characters as well (although Xander really, really bugs me. I have to struggle mightily to not make him the bad guy all the time), but the reason I love the characters is because they were so multidimensional on the show. The evil vampire had a good side, the good guys did some awful things - it was so many shades of gray all over. When I saw this challenge I just couldn't resist the temptation to explore what would happen if the good guy did something completely unforgiveable.

You are quite welcome, with Spikey sprinkles and all!

08/15/2011 05:10 am

Nice story and good development of the challenge.

Thank you! Thank you very much. 

magnus374
08/07/2011 02:47 pm

A very good story, dark in parts but that makes the good parts that much sweeter.

Thank you so much. The challenge required a bit of darkness, but as you say, there has to be a bit of dark to stick the light in. 

08/02/2011 05:48 am
Really nice ending at least xander and willow finally accepted he had gone too far and wasnt going to be forgiven
Thanks so much for the review!

em
08/01/2011 03:43 pm
Another great story comes to an end *sniffs*. Thank you for all the hard work! And your next story will be posted... when? Not that I'm impatient or anything like that...
I am working on the next story as we speak.Hope to have the first chapter ready to go live in a couple days!

MB
07/31/2011 08:04 pm
 I think Buffy teaching martial arts makes such sense and always wondered why she didn't do that during the series instead of working at the Doublemeat.  I'm always sad to see a good story end but I think you are leaving this one in a very good place.  You took a very difficult topic and wrote a very touching, thoughtful story and I can't begin to thank you or tell you how much I enjoyed it!  I'll be looking forward to your one.
I always wondered that too. I mean, duh, she's a martial arts expert, not a cook!

I am so glad you enjoyed the story. It was a challenge to write, but I really enjoy a good challenge. 

07/31/2011 12:24 pm
And Buffy is healing while Xander takes the first step. Very nicely done and you very cleverly made a most improbable challenge scenario very believable.
Thank you so much. I'm glad you found it believable!

Eyghon
07/31/2011 10:33 am

Who knew Spike was such a pig? I'm glad Xander sent the letter, and that Buffy sort of left the door open "maybe someday".  Oh, and the kickboxing job? Brilliant!
Plus, kudoz to the person who made the challenge, and to you for doing such a great job of it.
Thanks for a great, gripping story, very well written.
 

I admit, Spike's slobby personal habits are sort of modeled after my dear spouse. He was always neat and tidy when he was single and when he was trying to woo me. But the happier we became in each other's company, the less attention he paid to the whole picking up of the personal items business. But guys can still be loveable, even if they do get a little... comfortable in their surroundings. 

Thanks so much for all the encouragement throughout the story. I really appreciate it!

07/31/2011 04:40 am
Thank you for sharing your talent with us.  You managed to create a believable, real world and a believable, frighteningly real Xander, with more demons than usual...  somehow, you managed not to demonize him or turn him into something two dimensional... you made us hate what he did without losing all feeling for him. 

I especially appreciate the AA amends.  AA has transformed people who would otherwise be irredeemable.  Just making amends can change both the alcoholic and the recipient of the amends, even when it cannot undo the damage.

It takes a great deal of restraint, talent and emotional discipline not to take easy potshots.  I feel like you've honored our characters and it was well worth the investment of my time to read this.  I'm a fan of Spuffy, but Xander is probably the character I find most interesting of the three primary characters b/c of his 'lostness' and brokenness -- so I have a soft spot.  I also have trouble with any story I see that bashes and tears down any of the characters (even Kennedy, who I can't stand)  I just hate bashing as a form of entertainment.  Despite the nature of this story and the potential to go straight for the throat, you put a great deal of thought and nuance into this and I respect you and your work a great deal.  If you're not earning money for your writing somewhere, I hope one day you will, if that is your desire.  I believe you have what it takes to craft really good work and to touch people deeply.  I look forward to whatever comes next!

Peace,

Blue
DeepBlueJoy
http://www.tthfanfic.org/authors.php?no=12717&list=profile
Wow. Thank you so much for such a thoughtful review. 

I actually had a friend who went through a similar program to AA for a drug problem. She had summarily dropped me from her life with no reason, but popped up years later with  an email hoping to mend fences and make amends. It was truly such a transformative experience to have her come back into my life, and I never forgot it. 

I do earn money for writing, but alas, what I earn money for writing is engineering conference papers and journal articles, which no one wants to read for fun. But I am so grateful to have discovered this outlet. It keeps me sane, and really stretches my mind in new ways. Thank you again for your encouraging words. 

BMS

07/31/2011 03:55 am
Well, I'm sorry to see this end, but I thoroughly enjoyed every bit. Good on you!
Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it.